Wisconsin Library Heritage Center

The Wisconsin Library Heritage Center is a program of the Wisconsin Library Association Foundation promoting understanding and appreciation of the history of libraries and librarianship in Wisconsin.

Charles R. McCarthy (1873-1921)

Posted by Larry Nix
Larry Nix
Larry Nix has not set their biography yet
User is currently offline
on Wednesday, November 19, 2008 in Hall of Fame

mccarthy1-72.jpgCharles R. McCarthy was inducted into the Wisconsin Library Hall of Fame at the Wisconsin Library Association Conference in Appleton on October 22, 2009. McCarthy was the first head of the Wisconsin Legislative Reference Library which began as the Documents Department of the Wisconsin Free Library Commission and eventually became the independent Legislative Reference Bureau. The Legislative Reference Library was the first of its kind in the nation and served as the model for the Congressional Reference Service of the Library of Congress. McCarthy was a leader in the Progressive Movement and wrote The Wisconsin Idea. McCarthy's leadership of the Legislative Reference Library was so well thought of by the State Legislature that a memorial plaque of  McCarthy was placed in the Assembly Chambers of the State Capitol. When McCarthy died in 1921 his body lay in state in the State Capitol where thousands of people passed his bier.  









No comments made yet. Be the first to submit a comment

Leave your comment

Guest Sunday, July 15, 2018


Popular Tags

traveling libraries Rusk County Community Library Jerome P. Daniels bed and breakfast James Huff Stout Hall of Fame 2015 Orrilla Blackshear Sandra Friedman Dolnick Bookmobiles Centennial 24 I Love Libraries Tower Hill Wisconsin Wisconsin Association of Academic Librarians Wisconsin State Law Library Campaing for Wisconsin Libraries Postcards Wisconsin Historical Society Soughton Public Library Hall of Fame 2008 Exhibits Wisconsin Rapids Louise S. Robbins Increase A. Lapham Events & Meetings WWI Library War Service S. Janice Kee campaign UW-Milwaukee Libraries trav Woman's Congress state historical society Milwaukee Public Library Evansville Wisconsin Pinback buttons Oshkosh Public Library Elroy Public Library Library e Kimberly-Little Chute Public Library Ruth Ann Montgomery WLA 125 Council on Library and Network Development 10 Library celebrations Events & Meetings UW-Milwaukee School of Information Studies Manitowoc Public Library 22 WHCLIS Hall of Fame 2015 Black River Falls Public Library Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries Events Wilbur Lyle Eberhart Richard E. Krug bookworm White House Conference on Library and Information Services campaign Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries Meter mail slogans WLA 125 Anniversaries American Library Association Library War Service books-by-mail Public libraries World War I Governor's Conference on Library and Information Services Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries Hall of Fame 2015 21 WLA 125 Buttons Hall of Fame 2014 Klaus Linderfelt Matthew S. Dudgeon James Duane Doty Ice Storm Wayne A. Wiegand Capitol Fire 1904 T. B. Scott Free Public Library Larry T. Nix Edward Asahel Birge Uncategorized 20 Charles Bunge Wisconsin Library Bulletin National Bookmobile Day presentations Postcards 27 Academic Libraries WAAL Wisconsin Literary Travel Guide Library people School libraries Hall of Fame 2013 Delia Ovitz Library Buidlings Digital Collections William J. Wilson Portage Public Library Wisconsin Library Association Library Systems J. D. Witter Lowell W. Wilson Association of Library Trustees Advocates and Friends 28 Hall of Fame 2017 State Law Library Special libraries Dianne McAfee Hopkins Dorothea M. Krause COLAND Library People UW-Madison school of library and information studies Milwaukee Art Museum Campaign Middleton Public Library Cornelia Marving Pierce Wisconsin Free Library Commission Brown Deer Public Library archives Public library systems Clarence Brown Lester library exhibit Gerald A. Somers Library Buildings 14 Anniversaries Library Artifacts Hall of Fame 2016 Carnegie libraries anniversaries 23 Hall of Fame 2012 library memorabilia Appleton Public Library Hall Ripon Public Library Hall of Fame 2012 WLA 125 caly film Frank Avery Hutchins Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries ca caly film Hall of Fame 2009 Campaign Public libraries Katharine MacDonald Jones library education DeForest Area Public Library Marjorie Sornson Malmberg campaign Beaver Dam Public Library Bernard Schwab Peter G. Hamon Jane K. Billings Postcards Wisconsin Library Heritage Center Publications Milwaukee Public Library McMillan Memorial Library Lutie Eugenia Stearns hall of Cam Cooperative Children's Book Center Wisconsin Free Library Commission Amer library legislation Superior Carnegie Libraries Wisconsin State Normal School-Milwaukee Gertrude Thurow People Hall of Fame 2012 Parcel post buil campa caly film Suring Area Public Library Brown Deer Public Library Madison Public Library background Hall of Fame 2010 Zona Gale Hall of Fame 2015 membership libraries Pewaukee Public Library Inform Wisconsin Gilbert H. Doane cam National Library Week CCBC Clinton Public Library John J. Jax Marketing-Publicity Black River Falls American Library Association Beloit Public Library Eager Free Public Library Hall fo Fame 2012 Historical Register Nolan I. Neds Library Trustees Hall of Fame 2011 Ruby Roeder 11 Irene W. Newman Carl Spitzweg Brown County Library Wisconsin Library Trustees and Friends Library people Postcards Lutie Stearns Eratus Swift Wilcox Hall of Fame 2015 Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries Academic Librarians Campaign School of Library and Information Studies Sarah Janice Kee John Miller Chancellor Hartford Public Library Library History

Wisconsin Library Association Foundation Logo