Wisconsin Library Heritage Center

The Wisconsin Library Heritage Center is a program of the Wisconsin Library Association Foundation promoting understanding and appreciation of the history of libraries and librarianship in Wisconsin.

  • JUser: :_load: Unable to load user with id: 52

Wisconsin's Early Seminary Libraries

Posted by
has not set their biography yet
User is currently offline
on Monday, March 15, 2010 in Postcards



Two of Wisconsin's oldest libraries are connected to seminaries that date back to the 1840s. The Nashotah House Library is part of the  Nashotah House Episcopal Seminary that was founded in 1842. It is pictured in the first postcard shown above. It is located in Nashotah, Wisconsin which is off of I-94 25 miles west of Milwaukee. The Salzmann Library is affiliated with the St. Francis de Sales Seminary, a Catholic seminary, located in St. Francis, Wisconsin which was founded in 1845. The Salzmann Library, shown in the second postcard, serves a larger community which include anyone who works or volunteers at the parishes, schools, and ministries in the Archdiocese of Milwaukee.


No comments made yet. Be the first to submit a comment

Leave your comment

Guest Thursday, June 27, 2019


Popular Tags

Lowell W. Wilson White House Conference on Library and Information Services Buttons Wisconsin Literary Travel Guide Ruby Roeder McMillan Memorial Library State Law Library Centennial UW-Milwaukee Libraries 14 DeForest Area Public Library library exhibit WHCLIS Events & Meetings Wisconsin Library Bulletin Historical Register Ice Storm Marketing-Publicity anniversaries Wisconsin State Law Library Lucy E. Smith Morris Academic Libraries Parcel post Capitol Fire 1904 Hall of Fame 2015 Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries James Huff Stout Pewaukee Public Library Exhibits S. Janice Kee Hall of Fame 2012 Library Trustees Black River Falls Klaus Linderfelt Louise S. Robbins Postcards Publications Jerome P. Daniels Suring Area Public Library Library celebrations Hall of Fame 2008 Library Artifacts campaign Library e Hall of Fame 2014 Brown County Library Tower Hill Wisconsin Library Systems Postcards cam Hall of Fame 2011 Events & Meetings Sarah Janice Kee Events Lutie Stearns Governor's Conference on Library and Information Services Meter mail slogans buil state historical society Eratus Swift Wilcox caly film American Library Association Library War Service Superior Carnegie Libraries Wilbur Lyle Eberhart background Wisconsin State Normal School-Milwaukee 10 Sandra Friedman Dolnick Campaign Oshkosh Public Library Hall of Fame 2012 27 Ruth Ann Montgomery WLA 125 Hall of Fame 2010 Black River Falls Public Library John J. Jax 11 Wisconsin Free Library Commission ca Hall of Fame 2017 WWI Library War Service Association of Library Trustees Advocates and Friends Wisconsin Rapids Wisconsin Library Heritage Center Public library systems Rusk County Community Library Library People Beloit Public Library Amer Milwaukee Art Museum Carnegie libraries Digital Collections Appleton Public Library Bookmobiles Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries Edward Asahel Birge campa Pinback buttons Cornelia Marving Pierce Hall of Fame 2015 hall of Portage Public Library Matthew S. Dudgeon 24 Robert Bocher Cooperative Children's Book Center UW-Madison school of library and information studies Hall fo Fame 2012 Clarence Brown Lester Wisconsin Association of Academic Librarians Madison Public Library Gertrude Thurow bed and breakfast 21 Wisconsin Library Trustees and Friends WAAL Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries Council on Library and Network Development archives Hall of Fame 2015 Peter G. Hamon Wayne A. Wiegand presentations William J. Wilson School libraries Milwaukee Public Library Library Buildings Eager Free Public Library People Wisconsin Federation of Women's Clubs Increase A. Lapham Wisconsin Library Association caly film CCBC Hall of Fame 2015 Hall James Duane Doty Hall of Fame 2018 Postcards Wisconsin Free Library Commission caly film Campaign Katharine MacDonald Jones Elroy Public Library T. B. Scott Free Public Library Hall of Fame 2016 Ripon Public Library Dorothea M. Krause 23 Carl Spitzweg Campaing for Wisconsin Libraries Soughton Public Library Anniversaries Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries Kimberly-Little Chute Public Library Manitowoc Public Library Beaver Dam Public Library American Library Association Academic Librarians Library Buidlings COLAND Bob Bochfer WLA 125 Wisconsin Historical Society bookworm Uncategorized campaign Nolan I. Neds library legislation 20 Hartford Public Library 22 trav 28 Library History World War I Campaign WLA 125 books-by-mail membership libraries Hall of Fame 2009 Orrilla Blackshear traveling libraries Delia Ovitz Irene W. Newman Charles Bunge Gilbert H. Doane Inform Wisconsin John Miller Chancellor Hall of Fame 2013 Clinton Public Library Jane K. Billings National Library Week Middleton Public Library Marjorie Sornson Malmberg I Love Libraries Dianne McAfee Hopkins Cam campaign Brown Deer Public Library Library people Postcards Special libraries School of Library and Information Studies library education Larry T. Nix J. D. Witter Anniversaries Hall of Fame 2015 Hall of Fame 2012 WLA 125 Lutie Eugenia Stearns National Bookmobile Day Richard E. Krug Public libraries Brown Deer Public Library Bernard Schwab Helen Adams library memorabilia Woman's Congress Frank Avery Hutchins Library people Milwaukee Public Library Public libraries Hall of Fame 2018 Evansville Wisconsin UW-Milwaukee School of Information Studies Zona Gale Gerald A. Somers

Wisconsin Library Association Foundation Logo