Wisconsin Library Heritage Center

The Wisconsin Library Heritage Center is a program of the Wisconsin Library Association Foundation promoting understanding and appreciation of the history of libraries and librarianship in Wisconsin.

Wisconsin's Traveling Libraries

Posted by Larry Nix
Larry Nix
Larry Nix has not set their biography yet
User is currently offline
on Thursday, June 23, 2016 in WLA 125

traveling-libraries-wi-1897-72Under the leadership of Melvil Dewey, the State of New York initiated a state funded traveling library system in 1892.  Traveling libraries were small rotating collections that provided a method for extending library service to rural areas.  These small libraries usually from 30 to a hundred books were located in a post office or store with a volunteer acting as the caretaker of the collection.  In New York the collections stayed in one location for six months before they were rotated.  Michigan initiated a similar system in 1895 and Iowa in 1896.   

Traveling libraries began in Wisconsin in 1896, when Senator James Huff Stout of Menomonie, Wisconsin privately funded a system of these libraries for Dunn County.  He provided 500 books divided into collections of 30 volumes each.  He was assisted in the selection of titles to be included by the Wisconsin Free Library Commission which began in 1895.  Senator Stout along with Lutie Stearns and Frank Hutchins had been instrumental in starting the Commission.  More about Wisconsin's traveling libraries can be found HERE.  The image below shows a Stout Traveling Library bookcase at the Dunn County Historical Society



No comments made yet. Be the first to submit a comment

Leave your comment

Guest Wednesday, November 21, 2018


Popular Tags

Amer Governor's Conference on Library and Information Services books-by-mail Ruby Roeder WLA 125 Campaing for Wisconsin Libraries traveling libraries Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries archives Hall of Fame 2015 Hall of Fame 2018 caly film Wisconsin Free Library Commission James Huff Stout WHCLIS Lutie Stearns Clinton Public Library Bob Bochfer National Library Week membership libraries anniversaries 11 library legislation Carnegie libraries Academic Librarians Wisconsin Library Association Peter G. Hamon Library Artifacts National Bookmobile Day Gertrude Thurow Portage Public Library Wisconsin Association of Academic Librarians caly film Wisconsin State Normal School-Milwaukee Inform Wisconsin cam hall of Wisconsin Literary Travel Guide I Love Libraries Richard E. Krug Bernard Schwab Events & Meetings Manitowoc Public Library Exhibits background Lucy E. Smith Morris WAAL Appleton Public Library Library History Kimberly-Little Chute Public Library Hall of Fame 2011 Library Trustees William J. Wilson John J. Jax Library e Public libraries Rusk County Community Library Irene W. Newman 24 COLAND Pinback buttons Pewaukee Public Library Increase A. Lapham Evansville Wisconsin Wisconsin Federation of Women's Clubs Charles Bunge Nolan I. Neds Uncategorized 28 Ice Storm bookworm Milwaukee Public Library Hall of Fame 2014 Special libraries Hall of Fame 2013 campaign Cooperative Children's Book Center Beloit Public Library Hall of Fame 2018 14 Association of Library Trustees Advocates and Friends Louise S. Robbins CCBC Marjorie Sornson Malmberg T. B. Scott Free Public Library Historical Register Delia Ovitz Klaus Linderfelt 20 Middleton Public Library Hall of Fame 2015 Publications campa S. Janice Kee Eratus Swift Wilcox Black River Falls WLA 125 Hall of Fame 2010 American Library Association Library War Service Public library systems Campaign Oshkosh Public Library Wisconsin Library Heritage Center Robert Bocher Hall of Fame 2009 Hall of Fame 2012 Black River Falls Public Library Dorothea M. Krause Madison Public Library Digital Collections campaign Brown County Library Parcel post Gilbert H. Doane Tower Hill Wisconsin Cornelia Marving Pierce library exhibit Ripon Public Library Katharine MacDonald Jones Capitol Fire 1904 WLA 125 state historical society 21 DeForest Area Public Library Clarence Brown Lester ca Superior Carnegie Libraries Woman's Congress Edward Asahel Birge Public libraries Elroy Public Library Hall of Fame 2017 library education Campaign Sandra Friedman Dolnick library memorabilia caly film Jane K. Billings Library Systems Wisconsin Historical Society Matthew S. Dudgeon buil Buttons Orrilla Blackshear 27 White House Conference on Library and Information Services Hall of Fame 2016 Meter mail slogans campaign Events & Meetings bed and breakfast Cam Frank Avery Hutchins Hall fo Fame 2012 UW-Milwaukee Libraries School of Library and Information Studies 22 Wayne A. Wiegand Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries Wisconsin Rapids State Law Library Anniversaries Council on Library and Network Development Library People Wisconsin Free Library Commission Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries Lowell W. Wilson Soughton Public Library Milwaukee Art Museum Library celebrations Zona Gale American Library Association Campaign UW-Madison school of library and information studies Hall of Fame 2012 Library Buildings World War I Jerome P. Daniels Sarah Janice Kee Wisconsin State Law Library People Beaver Dam Public Library WLA 125 Carl Spitzweg Hall Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries Gerald A. Somers Hall of Fame 2008 Milwaukee Public Library Hartford Public Library McMillan Memorial Library Library people Postcards Hall of Fame 2015 Dianne McAfee Hopkins Helen Adams Hall of Fame 2012 Brown Deer Public Library Eager Free Public Library John Miller Chancellor Ruth Ann Montgomery Marketing-Publicity Events 23 Postcards Wilbur Lyle Eberhart Bookmobiles Academic Libraries Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries Postcards UW-Milwaukee School of Information Studies Larry T. Nix James Duane Doty Suring Area Public Library WWI Library War Service J. D. Witter Postcards 10 Library Buidlings Library people Wisconsin Library Trustees and Friends Hall of Fame 2015 presentations Anniversaries Centennial Hall of Fame 2015 trav Brown Deer Public Library School libraries Lutie Eugenia Stearns Wisconsin Library Bulletin

Wisconsin Library Association Foundation Logo