Wisconsin Library Heritage Center

The Wisconsin Library Heritage Center is a program of the Wisconsin Library Association Foundation promoting understanding and appreciation of the history of libraries and librarianship in Wisconsin.

Wisconsin Literary Travel Guide

Posted by Larry Nix
Larry Nix
Larry Nix has not set their biography yet
User is currently offline
on Thursday, August 04, 2016 in WLA 125
The Wisconsin Library Association published the Wisconsin Literary Travel Guide in 1989. The guide highlights Wisconsin’s literary contributions and connections.  It connects Wisconsin writers with the places in Wisconsin where they lived and wrote about. It is arranged alphabetically by community.  The source for much of the material were the Wisconsin Notable Authors list and the Banta Award recipients.  The guide was dedicated to Wisconsin Library Hall of Fame member Orrilla Blackshear.  In 2012 WLA put the contents of the guide on the Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries website.  


No comments made yet. Be the first to submit a comment

Leave your comment

Guest Sunday, June 17, 2018


Popular Tags

hall of campaign Woman's Congress Centennial Meter mail slogans 11 Library History Library people Wisconsin Free Library Commission presentations books-by-mail Wisconsin Library Bulletin CCBC I Love Libraries COLAND Klaus Linderfelt archives Campaign William J. Wilson Hall of Fame 2008 Jane K. Billings 22 Black River Falls Hall of Fame 2013 American Library Association Appleton Public Library Capitol Fire 1904 Campaign Postcards T. B. Scott Free Public Library campa state historical society Anniversaries 23 library exhibit Ice Storm Cooperative Children's Book Center Ruth Ann Montgomery Parcel post Cornelia Marving Pierce Lowell W. Wilson library memorabilia caly film Clinton Public Library cam Council on Library and Network Development Ruby Roeder Hall of Fame 2015 Library people Postcards Wisconsin Library Association Zona Gale Hall of Fame 2009 Tower Hill Wisconsin Postcards Wisconsin Association of Academic Librarians Suring Area Public Library traveling libraries Black River Falls Public Library Charles Bunge Uncategorized School libraries trav Sandra Friedman Dolnick Publications Hall of Fame 2015 Milwaukee Public Library Marjorie Sornson Malmberg membership libraries Hall of Fame 2012 Hall Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries Wisconsin Library Heritage Center 27 Postcards Special libraries Bernard Schwab Governor's Conference on Library and Information Services Soughton Public Library Edward Asahel Birge Increase A. Lapham Evansville Wisconsin Wisconsin Free Library Commission WLA 125 Events & Meetings Library Systems World War I American Library Association Library War Service Hall of Fame 2010 background Hall of Fame 2015 ca library legislation John Miller Chancellor Madison Public Library Hall fo Fame 2012 Richard E. Krug WWI Library War Service Wisconsin Library Trustees and Friends School of Library and Information Studies Wayne A. Wiegand Hall of Fame 2015 Public libraries Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries caly film James Huff Stout bed and breakfast Brown Deer Public Library Oshkosh Public Library 28 24 Peter G. Hamon Digital Collections Library e Library Artifacts Gerald A. Somers Beaver Dam Public Library Eratus Swift Wilcox Beloit Public Library Eager Free Public Library Rusk County Community Library McMillan Memorial Library Carnegie libraries caly film 20 Buttons Hall of Fame 2012 bookworm Delia Ovitz library education Campaign J. D. Witter Marketing-Publicity WAAL Association of Library Trustees Advocates and Friends Katharine MacDonald Jones WLA 125 campaign Lutie Stearns Exhibits Academic Librarians Milwaukee Public Library Brown Deer Public Library Hall of Fame 2016 Clarence Brown Lester Public library systems Gertrude Thurow Campaing for Wisconsin Libraries UW-Madison school of library and information studies Ripon Public Library Carl Spitzweg 21 Dianne McAfee Hopkins Academic Libraries Hall of Fame 2011 anniversaries Lutie Eugenia Stearns Hartford Public Library buil People Middleton Public Library Orrilla Blackshear Hall of Fame 2012 Wisconsin Literary Travel Guide Wisconsin Historical Society Frank Avery Hutchins Hall of Fame 2015 Superior Carnegie Libraries 10 Portage Public Library Historical Register campaign Events & Meetings Inform Wisconsin James Duane Doty Milwaukee Art Museum White House Conference on Library and Information Services UW-Milwaukee Libraries Public libraries Wisconsin Rapids S. Janice Kee Wisconsin State Normal School-Milwaukee Library Buidlings Sarah Janice Kee State Law Library Jerome P. Daniels Pewaukee Public Library National Library Week 14 Library Buildings Cam Kimberly-Little Chute Public Library Manitowoc Public Library Library Trustees John J. Jax Louise S. Robbins Anniversaries National Bookmobile Day Wilbur Lyle Eberhart UW-Milwaukee School of Information Studies Irene W. Newman WLA 125 WLA 125 Library celebrations Wisconsin State Law Library Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries WHCLIS Bookmobiles Matthew S. Dudgeon Larry T. Nix Nolan I. Neds Elroy Public Library Dorothea M. Krause Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries Hall of Fame 2017 Hall of Fame 2014 DeForest Area Public Library Gilbert H. Doane Pinback buttons Library People Amer Brown County Library Events Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries

Wisconsin Library Association Foundation Logo