Wisconsin Library Heritage Center

The Wisconsin Library Heritage Center is a program of the Wisconsin Library Association Foundation promoting understanding and appreciation of the history of libraries and librarianship in Wisconsin.

Williams Free Library - Beaver Dam

Posted by Larry Nix
Larry Nix
Larry Nix has not set their biography yet
User is currently offline
on Thursday, February 26, 2009 in Exhibits


The City of Beaver Dam is home to the historic Williams Free Library building which was built in 1890-91. It housed the Beaver Dam Public Library until its move into its current facility.  The building is an outstanding example of the Richardsonian Romanesque Revival style which was inspired by architect Henry Hobson Richardson. The building has been depicted on several of the souvenir items in the Wisconsin Library Memorabilia Exhibit which are pictured above. The Williams Free Library is named for John J. Williams who donated $25,000 for the construction of the building.

Before moving to Madison, Wisconsin Library Hall of Fame inductee Frank Avery Hutchins was a resident of Beaver Dam and served on the library board. Hutchins was an early advocate for open shelves in libraries and the Beaver Dam library was one of the first public libraries in the nation to implement this concept.

The Dodge County Historical Society has been located in the former library building since 1985. The Williams Free Library is on the Wisconsin Library Heritage Trail and is well worth a visit.




No comments made yet. Be the first to submit a comment

Leave your comment

Guest Friday, November 24, 2017


Popular Tags

Hall of Fame 2012 Hall of Fame 2016 Irene W. Newman Pinback buttons Exhibits Milwaukee Art Museum National Bookmobile Day Cornelia Marving Pierce Wisconsin Historical Society Hall American Library Association Hartford Public Library Wisconsin Free Library Commission Publications campaign Frank Avery Hutchins Woman's Congress National Library Week Library e Digital Collections Rusk County Community Library COLAND WLA 125 bookworm Larry T. Nix Inform Wisconsin archives Increase A. Lapham Jane K. Billings Evansville Wisconsin Soughton Public Library William J. Wilson bed and breakfast Hall fo Fame 2012 Matthew S. Dudgeon DeForest Area Public Library Nolan I. Neds J. D. Witter Suring Area Public Library library education Library Buildings American Library Association Library War Service Kimberly-Little Chute Public Library Events & Meetings People Hall of Fame 2015 Marjorie Sornson Malmberg Wisconsin Library Trustees and Friends Hall of Fame 2015 Wisconsin State Normal School-Milwaukee John Miller Chancellor Hall of Fame 2013 20 Academic Libraries ca Wisconsin Association of Academic Librarians Jerome P. Daniels Wisconsin Library Association anniversaries Hall of Fame 2015 Hall of Fame 2017 Dorothea M. Krause Library Artifacts background trav 11 caly film campaign library legislation Bookmobiles state historical society James Huff Stout Hall of Fame 2012 Buttons Library Trustees Hall of Fame 2009 Library People Wayne A. Wiegand Lutie Eugenia Stearns Hall of Fame 2011 Postcards S. Janice Kee Wisconsin Library Heritage Center School libraries presentations Meter mail slogans Appleton Public Library Oshkosh Public Library Wisconsin Library Bulletin membership libraries Events & Meetings 14 CCBC Madison Public Library Peter G. Hamon WLA 125 Orrilla Blackshear Clarence Brown Lester traveling libraries World War I Ice Storm Beloit Public Library caly film Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries Wisconsin State Law Library Manitowoc Public Library Centennial White House Conference on Library and Information Services Dianne McAfee Hopkins Clinton Public Library 27 Bernard Schwab Postcards Public libraries buil Gertrude Thurow campa UW-Madison school of library and information studies Campaign Wisconsin Literary Travel Guide Carl Spitzweg 21 Brown County Library Hall of Fame 2012 Milwaukee Public Library campaign Library people cam 22 WHCLIS library exhibit Parcel post I Love Libraries Louise S. Robbins Cooperative Children's Book Center Library History Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries Richard E. Krug Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries 10 caly film Events Sarah Janice Kee Brown Deer Public Library Uncategorized Lutie Stearns Council on Library and Network Development School of Library and Information Studies Black River Falls Sandra Friedman Dolnick hall of Hall of Fame 2014 Cam Hall of Fame 2008 Wilbur Lyle Eberhart books-by-mail Superior Carnegie Libraries Special libraries Public library systems Ruby Roeder Library people Postcards Black River Falls Public Library Ruth Ann Montgomery library memorabilia WAAL Carnegie libraries Hall of Fame 2015 Marketing-Publicity Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries Hall of Fame 2010 Lowell W. Wilson James Duane Doty Campaing for Wisconsin Libraries McMillan Memorial Library State Law Library Gerald A. Somers Campaign Pewaukee Public Library WLA 125 Portage Public Library Delia Ovitz Library Buidlings WLA 125 Association of Library Trustees Advocates and Friends Governor's Conference on Library and Information Services Postcards UW-Milwaukee Libraries John J. Jax Capitol Fire 1904 Historical Register Edward Asahel Birge Eratus Swift Wilcox Ripon Public Library 24 Anniversaries Zona Gale WWI Library War Service Hall of Fame 2015 Gilbert H. Doane Anniversaries Amer Beaver Dam Public Library Elroy Public Library Brown Deer Public Library Charles Bunge Library Systems Klaus Linderfelt Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries 23 T. B. Scott Free Public Library Wisconsin Free Library Commission UW-Milwaukee School of Information Studies Eager Free Public Library Public libraries Campaign Academic Librarians Katharine MacDonald Jones 28 Tower Hill Wisconsin Wisconsin Rapids Milwaukee Public Library Library celebrations Middleton Public Library

Wisconsin Library Association Foundation Logo