Wisconsin Library Heritage Center

The Wisconsin Library Heritage Center is a program of the Wisconsin Library Association Foundation promoting understanding and appreciation of the history of libraries and librarianship in Wisconsin.

WI State Law Library 175th Anniversary Celebration

Posted by Larry T. Nix
Larry T. Nix
Larry T. Nix has not set their biography yet
User is currently offline
on Friday, September 16, 2011 in Special libraries




wsll-bookmark-metal-72.jpgEarlier in the week I was privileged to participate in the culminating event of a year long celebration of the 175th anniversary of the founding of what is now the Wisconsin State Law Library (WSLL). As I indicated in my presentation at the event, it doesn't get any better than that for a library history buff. The WSLL's approach to its 175th anniversary could be used as a model by other libraries approaching a significant anniversary.  The WSLL's 175th anniversary activities are recorder on its website.  The library, originally designated as the State Library, was established as part of the Congressional act which established the Territory of Wisconsin.  A $5,000 appropriation was made to purchase books for use by the Territorial Legislature.  This set a precedent for later territorial legislation that followed.  The library narrowly escaped a disastrous fire in the Capitol where it was located in 1904. The WSLL's long serving librarian Gilson Glasier will be inducted into the Wisconsin Library Hall of Fame in November. The WSLL staff has put together a very nice timeline of the library's history. At the reception this week the staff had assimilated a number on neat artifacts from their history that were displayed for the guests. I'm the proud owner of five sections of iron shelving that were in the library when it was located in the Capitol (it moved out in 1999). Before most of the iron shelving was discarded, the library managed to salvage some very nice label holders that were reused on the attractive shelving the library has now.  Their 175th anniversary logo is based on these label holders.

This article is being jointly posted on the Library History Buff Blog and the Wisconsin Library Heritage Center blog.

Comment disabled by author.


Popular Tags

Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries Bookmobiles Frank Avery Hutchins Library people Postcards Robert Bocher Hall of Fame 2018 membership libraries trav Public libraries 10 Gilbert H. Doane John J. Jax Cornelia Marving Pierce library memorabilia books-by-mail Middleton Public Library Orrilla Blackshear Parcel post National Bookmobile Day Wisconsin Literary Travel Guide Carnegie libraries Wisconsin Library Heritage Center Zona Gale Anniversaries Events Clinton Public Library Superior Carnegie Libraries Hall of Fame 2016 caly film Hall of Fame 2009 Brown Deer Public Library Milwaukee Public Library state historical society Governor's Conference on Library and Information Services Capitol Fire 1904 T. B. Scott Free Public Library William J. Wilson Hall of Fame 2011 bookworm Marketing-Publicity Meter mail slogans McMillan Memorial Library Library celebrations Postcards Hall of Fame 2015 UW-Milwaukee School of Information Studies Events & Meetings Amer WLA 125 Milwaukee Public Library Wisconsin Historical Society Hall of Fame 2014 Brown Deer Public Library Wisconsin State Normal School-Milwaukee Black River Falls Public Library library exhibit Lutie Stearns Digital Collections James Duane Doty Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries S. Janice Kee Hall Hall of Fame 2015 campaign Oshkosh Public Library John Miller Chancellor Tower Hill Wisconsin Portage Public Library Library e Woman's Congress Irene W. Newman Eratus Swift Wilcox Campaing for Wisconsin Libraries background White House Conference on Library and Information Services Wayne A. Wiegand Lucy E. Smith Morris caly film Dorothea M. Krause Hall of Fame 2017 Ripon Public Library Wisconsin Library Association Louise S. Robbins Hall of Fame 2010 Publications Cam WWI Library War Service 23 Inform Wisconsin Hall of Fame 2015 WAAL Delia Ovitz anniversaries Wisconsin Rapids Hall of Fame 2012 WLA 125 Library Buildings COLAND Matthew S. Dudgeon School libraries Public libraries WLA 125 Council on Library and Network Development DeForest Area Public Library Public library systems cam Wisconsin Free Library Commission WHCLIS UW-Madison school of library and information studies Campaign Library Artifacts Hall of Fame 2018 Evansville Wisconsin Ruth Ann Montgomery Historical Register Wisconsin Free Library Commission Campaign buil Larry T. Nix I Love Libraries Exhibits 27 Hall fo Fame 2012 American Library Association Library War Service Bernard Schwab Pinback buttons bed and breakfast Jane K. Billings Ice Storm 22 Library Trustees WLA 125 Wisconsin Association of Academic Librarians campaign 28 Special libraries 24 Uncategorized People Centennial Hall of Fame 2015 21 Beloit Public Library Postcards caly film Campaign Pewaukee Public Library hall of 20 J. D. Witter UW-Milwaukee Libraries Sarah Janice Kee Helen Adams library legislation Lutie Eugenia Stearns Increase A. Lapham Carl Spitzweg World War I Brown County Library Charles Bunge Library Systems Manitowoc Public Library Hall of Fame 2008 campaign Wisconsin Library Trustees and Friends Milwaukee Art Museum Hall of Fame 2013 Kimberly-Little Chute Public Library Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries Library History National Library Week 14 Hall of Fame 2012 Beaver Dam Public Library James Huff Stout Katharine MacDonald Jones 11 Soughton Public Library Ruby Roeder Madison Public Library presentations Bob Bochfer Wisconsin Library Bulletin Eager Free Public Library Lowell W. Wilson Library people archives Events & Meetings ca Wisconsin Federation of Women's Clubs Buttons Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries Academic Librarians School of Library and Information Studies Klaus Linderfelt Jerome P. Daniels Sandra Friedman Dolnick Wisconsin State Law Library campa State Law Library Hartford Public Library Peter G. Hamon Edward Asahel Birge Hall of Fame 2012 Gerald A. Somers Academic Libraries Cooperative Children's Book Center Wilbur Lyle Eberhart Postcards Suring Area Public Library Clarence Brown Lester Marjorie Sornson Malmberg Nolan I. Neds Elroy Public Library Black River Falls Hall of Fame 2015 Appleton Public Library CCBC Library Buidlings library education Library People Association of Library Trustees Advocates and Friends Anniversaries Dianne McAfee Hopkins Gertrude Thurow Rusk County Community Library traveling libraries Richard E. Krug American Library Association

Wisconsin Library Association Foundation Logo