Wisconsin Library Heritage Center

The Wisconsin Library Heritage Center is a program of the Wisconsin Library Association Foundation promoting understanding and appreciation of the history of libraries and librarianship in Wisconsin.

WI Library Hall of Fame Inductees for 2014

Posted by Larry T. Nix
Larry T. Nix
Larry T. Nix has not set their biography yet
User is currently offline
on Friday, October 03, 2014 in Hall of Fame
The Steering Committee of the Wisconsin Library Heritage Center, a program of the Wisconsin Library Association Foundation, has selected five individuals to be inducted into the Wisconsin Library Hall of Fame in 2014. They will join forty other individuals who have previously been inducted into the Hall of Fame. The 2014 inductions will take place at the WLA Annual Conference in Wisconsin Dells on November 6 at the Awards & Honors Reception .  The inductees are:

Gilbert Harry Doane (1897-1980) Doane served as Director of the University of Wisconsin – Madison General Library (1937-1943 & 1945-1956) and as Director of the UW-Madison Library School (1938-1941). He was head of the UW-Madison Archives program (1956-1962). He served in the U.S. Army’s World War II Monuments, Fine Arts, and Archives (“Monuments Men”) Project (1943-1945).

Wilbur Lyle Eberhart (1922-2010) Eberhart was the first administrator of the Division for Library Services in the Wisconsin Department of Public Instruction after the Wisconsin Free Library Commission was abolished. He served in this capacity from 1965 to 1981 which included the period when Wisconsin’s public library system legislation was passed and implemented.

Peter G. Hamon (1945- ) Hamon served as Director of the South Central Library System (1981-2005). He was active in promoting statewide library legislation and funding, and served as President (1991) and as Legislative Advocate for the Wisconsin Library Association. He was honored as WLA/DEMCO Librarian of the Year in 2004.

Nolan I. Neds (1921-2006) Neds served as Supervisor of Neighborhood Libraries and Extension and as Deputy City Librarian of the Milwaukee Public Library (1965-1982).  He was a champion of  library service to the underserved in Milwaukee County, the State, and the nation. He was active in the Wisconsin Library Association and served as President (1970-1971).

Gertrude Thurow (1906-1993) Thurow served as Director of the La Crosse Public Library (1953-1975) and was instrumental in establishing the predecessors of the Winding Rivers Library System (1965-1975). She served as President of the Wisconsin Library (1955-56). Thurow was honored as WLA Librarian of the Year in 1959, and received WLA’s Special Service Award in1975.
More information about the contributions of these individuals will be forthcoming on the Wisconsin Library Heritage Center Blog.



No comments made yet. Be the first to submit a comment

Leave your comment

Guest Monday, July 15, 2019


Popular Tags

books-by-mail Larry T. Nix Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries Hall of Fame 2010 Library people Postcards Academic Librarians presentations Association of Library Trustees Advocates and Friends Soughton Public Library Lutie Stearns 24 28 Charles Bunge Cornelia Marving Pierce Edward Asahel Birge Hall of Fame 2015 Wisconsin Library Trustees and Friends Beloit Public Library Wisconsin Association of Academic Librarians library memorabilia Irene W. Newman Lutie Eugenia Stearns campaign WLA 125 Hartford Public Library Wayne A. Wiegand Campaign McMillan Memorial Library Academic Libraries Lucy E. Smith Morris I Love Libraries Marketing-Publicity Library celebrations caly film campaign Capitol Fire 1904 Wisconsin Library Heritage Center Ruby Roeder Richard E. Krug Hall Ripon Public Library Library Systems Special libraries White House Conference on Library and Information Services WLA 125 Black River Falls Hall of Fame 2016 Frank Avery Hutchins Parcel post library education Amer WAAL Hall of Fame 2012 Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries Hall of Fame 2009 Anniversaries S. Janice Kee Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries Wisconsin Library Association Tower Hill Wisconsin 23 Library Trustees Uncategorized 20 Hall of Fame 2012 Clinton Public Library School libraries Hall of Fame 2011 Peter G. Hamon hall of Events & Meetings Library Buidlings Beaver Dam Public Library COLAND Wisconsin Library Bulletin Governor's Conference on Library and Information Services Brown Deer Public Library state historical society Appleton Public Library Bernard Schwab Hall of Fame 2018 People Klaus Linderfelt cam Library History Brown Deer Public Library Pewaukee Public Library Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries caly film Dorothea M. Krause Wisconsin Federation of Women's Clubs Public libraries Jerome P. Daniels Oshkosh Public Library 10 Clarence Brown Lester Katharine MacDonald Jones Postcards Hall of Fame 2015 bookworm anniversaries Manitowoc Public Library UW-Madison school of library and information studies Cam membership libraries campa Wisconsin Free Library Commission William J. Wilson Wisconsin State Normal School-Milwaukee School of Library and Information Studies Events & Meetings Hall of Fame 2015 James Huff Stout Postcards T. B. Scott Free Public Library Elroy Public Library Gerald A. Somers Postcards Publications library exhibit Nolan I. Neds Ruth Ann Montgomery library legislation Wisconsin State Law Library Events 11 UW-Milwaukee Libraries Helen Adams Black River Falls Public Library Campaign CCBC buil Milwaukee Art Museum Council on Library and Network Development Milwaukee Public Library bed and breakfast Hall of Fame 2015 trav Madison Public Library WLA 125 Jane K. Billings Woman's Congress caly film Robert Bocher National Bookmobile Day Kimberly-Little Chute Public Library Sandra Friedman Dolnick 14 J. D. Witter Carnegie libraries Hall of Fame 2017 National Library Week Hall of Fame 2008 Evansville Wisconsin traveling libraries archives Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries Hall fo Fame 2012 Buttons Hall of Fame 2014 American Library Association Library War Service Brown County Library Public libraries Bookmobiles Bob Bochfer Louise S. Robbins WWI Library War Service UW-Milwaukee School of Information Studies Carl Spitzweg Library people DeForest Area Public Library Library e Library People Hall of Fame 2015 Portage Public Library Lowell W. Wilson Anniversaries Centennial Superior Carnegie Libraries James Duane Doty campaign Milwaukee Public Library Library Buildings Gertrude Thurow Eager Free Public Library Rusk County Community Library John Miller Chancellor Hall of Fame 2018 Public library systems Dianne McAfee Hopkins Library Artifacts Digital Collections Matthew S. Dudgeon Pinback buttons WHCLIS ca Hall of Fame 2013 Ice Storm Meter mail slogans Exhibits 22 Middleton Public Library Wilbur Lyle Eberhart Wisconsin Historical Society 21 Campaign Orrilla Blackshear Cooperative Children's Book Center Increase A. Lapham 27 World War I Zona Gale John J. Jax Eratus Swift Wilcox Wisconsin Literary Travel Guide WLA 125 Wisconsin Rapids Delia Ovitz background Gilbert H. Doane Inform Wisconsin Sarah Janice Kee Suring Area Public Library American Library Association Historical Register Marjorie Sornson Malmberg State Law Library Wisconsin Free Library Commission Campaing for Wisconsin Libraries Hall of Fame 2012

Wisconsin Library Association Foundation Logo