Wisconsin Library Heritage Center

The Wisconsin Library Heritage Center is a program of the Wisconsin Library Association Foundation promoting understanding and appreciation of the history of libraries and librarianship in Wisconsin.

WI Library Hall of Fame Inductees for 2013

Posted by Larry Nix
Larry Nix
Larry Nix has not set their biography yet
User is currently offline
on Friday, October 04, 2013 in Hall of Fame

The Steering Committee of the Wisconsin Library Heritage Center, a program of the Wisconsin Library Association Foundation, has selected four individuals to be inducted into the Wisconsin Library Hall of Fame in 2013. They will join thirty-six other individuals who have previously been inducted into the Hall of Fame. The 2013 inductions will take place at the WLA Annual Conference in Green Bay on October 23 at the WLA/WLAF Business Meeting.  The inductees are:  
Leonard B. Archer (1913-2003) Archer served as Director of the Oshkosh Public Library (1958 to 1978) and held a joint appointment as Director of the Winnefox Library System. He was an advocate for intellectual freedom and was named Librarian of the Year by WLA in 1975.

Katharine MacDonald Jones (1866-?) Jones was a national authority on the selection of materials for small public libraries. She joined the staff of the Wisconsin Free Library Commission in 1899, and served as Assistant Secretary of the Commission from 1901 to 1907.

Bernard Schwab (1920-1990) Bernard Schwab served as Director of the Madison Public Library from 1957 to 1981. He was President of the Wisconsin Library Association in 1966-67 and was named Librarian of the Year in 1970.

Miriam Downing Tompkins (1892-1954) Tompkins was a national leader in advancing the role of the public library in adult education. She served as Director of the Training Class (1919-1921) and Chief of Adult Education (1923-1929) for the Milwaukee Public Library. 

More extensive coverage of the accomplishments of these four individuals and previous inductees can be found at the Library Hall of Fame website.


No comments made yet. Be the first to submit a comment

Leave your comment

Guest Wednesday, October 17, 2018


Popular Tags

I Love Libraries Council on Library and Network Development Amer Inform Wisconsin trav Sandra Friedman Dolnick Klaus Linderfelt Buttons Wisconsin Historical Society Library people caly film Lowell W. Wilson library legislation Ruth Ann Montgomery Woman's Congress Library Systems Bookmobiles Marketing-Publicity Nolan I. Neds Cornelia Marving Pierce UW-Madison school of library and information studies Hall of Fame 2016 American Library Association presentations campaign Hall fo Fame 2012 22 Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries American Library Association Library War Service Sarah Janice Kee caly film Cam Hall of Fame 2015 Tower Hill Wisconsin Richard E. Krug Matthew S. Dudgeon books-by-mail 20 Zona Gale COLAND Wisconsin Library Association Association of Library Trustees Advocates and Friends Rusk County Community Library Irene W. Newman Black River Falls Wisconsin Library Bulletin buil anniversaries Governor's Conference on Library and Information Services Marjorie Sornson Malmberg traveling libraries Middleton Public Library T. B. Scott Free Public Library Exhibits WLA 125 National Library Week 27 Wilbur Lyle Eberhart World War I Hall of Fame 2014 Special libraries Superior Carnegie Libraries Charles Bunge Events Bob Bochfer Hall Wisconsin Library Heritage Center National Bookmobile Day Brown Deer Public Library archives Robert Bocher hall of campa Digital Collections Cooperative Children's Book Center Madison Public Library 23 Helen Adams caly film cam WLA 125 Suring Area Public Library Peter G. Hamon Delia Ovitz Hall of Fame 2011 Hall of Fame 2012 Portage Public Library Larry T. Nix 28 Hall of Fame 2015 10 24 UW-Milwaukee Libraries Ruby Roeder Hall of Fame 2008 Hall of Fame 2018 library education Bernard Schwab S. Janice Kee James Duane Doty School libraries Wisconsin Rapids Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries Public libraries School of Library and Information Studies Library Buildings bed and breakfast Lutie Eugenia Stearns Wisconsin Free Library Commission WWI Library War Service Campaing for Wisconsin Libraries Increase A. Lapham Library people Postcards Hall of Fame 2009 Black River Falls Public Library Events & Meetings Ripon Public Library Public library systems Carl Spitzweg People Wayne A. Wiegand Postcards Anniversaries J. D. Witter Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries Wisconsin Library Trustees and Friends Capitol Fire 1904 Dorothea M. Krause background Wisconsin Association of Academic Librarians Centennial John J. Jax Soughton Public Library Events & Meetings Hall of Fame 2010 bookworm Meter mail slogans Postcards Brown County Library Lucy E. Smith Morris 21 Academic Libraries Oshkosh Public Library Lutie Stearns Manitowoc Public Library Publications WLA 125 DeForest Area Public Library membership libraries Public libraries Library Buidlings Edward Asahel Birge William J. Wilson Frank Avery Hutchins Library e ca Katharine MacDonald Jones Campaign Hall of Fame 2017 WHCLIS Clarence Brown Lester John Miller Chancellor Evansville Wisconsin Wisconsin State Normal School-Milwaukee Pinback buttons Wisconsin State Law Library Campaign Milwaukee Art Museum Milwaukee Public Library library exhibit Hall of Fame 2015 Carnegie libraries campaign Wisconsin Free Library Commission Dianne McAfee Hopkins Hall of Fame 2015 Wisconsin Federation of Women's Clubs Beaver Dam Public Library Beloit Public Library 14 Louise S. Robbins Pewaukee Public Library McMillan Memorial Library Kimberly-Little Chute Public Library State Law Library Library History Brown Deer Public Library Clinton Public Library Library People CCBC Milwaukee Public Library Hall of Fame 2012 Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries Elroy Public Library Eager Free Public Library Jerome P. Daniels Campaign Jane K. Billings James Huff Stout Hall of Fame 2018 Library celebrations Academic Librarians UW-Milwaukee School of Information Studies Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries Ice Storm Library Artifacts Historical Register Gerald A. Somers Parcel post Hartford Public Library 11 White House Conference on Library and Information Services WLA 125 Hall of Fame 2013 state historical society campaign Wisconsin Literary Travel Guide Appleton Public Library Gilbert H. Doane Hall of Fame 2015 library memorabilia Anniversaries Uncategorized Gertrude Thurow Orrilla Blackshear Postcards Library Trustees WAAL Eratus Swift Wilcox Hall of Fame 2012

Wisconsin Library Association Foundation Logo