Wisconsin Library Heritage Center

The Wisconsin Library Heritage Center is a program of the Wisconsin Library Association Foundation promoting understanding and appreciation of the history of libraries and librarianship in Wisconsin.

When Thoreau Came to Wisconsin

Posted by Larry Nix
Larry Nix
Larry Nix has not set their biography yet
User is currently offline
on Monday, May 09, 2011 in Events
stamp-us-thoreau-72.jpgThis week is the 150th anniversary of the start of a trip taken by Henry David Thoreau and Horace Mann, Jr. to Minnesota and back to Massachusetts. The trip started on May 11 and ended on July 11, 1861. On the return leg of the trip Thoreau and his companion traveled through Wisconsin.  Corinne H. Smith, a writer and librarian in Massachusetts, has written a book about the journey which will be published this summer. Smith also maintains a website with a great deal of information about the trip including the exact route taken on the trip. On June 26 to June 27, Thoreau and Mann came down the Mississippi River and arrived in Prairie du Chien, WI on the morning of June 27. They departed Prairie du Chien by train at 10:00 a.m. that morning traveling through more than 18 Wisconsin communities before arriving in Milwaukee at 6:00 p.m. that evening.  On Friday, June 28 they departed Milwaukee by steamship stopping at the port of Sheboygan before proceeding on to Mackinac Island, Michigan and the rest of their trip home.  This momentous journey by a famous author provides an opportunity for Wisconsin libraries to plan some special activities to commemorate the occasion.  The Stoughton Public Library will be hosting a program on the journey given by Corinne Smith on June 20.  Smith will also be making presentations at other libraries along the route. Like the theme for Wisconsin's summer library program, "One World, Many Stories", this is just one of many Wisconsin stories.
Comment disabled by author.


Popular Tags

background McMillan Memorial Library library education Meter mail slogans Hall fo Fame 2012 School libraries Matthew S. Dudgeon Wisconsin Literary Travel Guide T. B. Scott Free Public Library Ice Storm Wayne A. Wiegand UW-Madison school of library and information studies Klaus Linderfelt Library celebrations Hall of Fame 2012 Brown Deer Public Library Tower Hill Wisconsin COLAND Dorothea M. Krause Events & Meetings American Library Association Library War Service Soughton Public Library Pinback buttons Digital Collections Postcards 20 Campaing for Wisconsin Libraries Council on Library and Network Development DeForest Area Public Library Appleton Public Library Library e Wisconsin Library Association Milwaukee Public Library Hall of Fame 2014 Katharine MacDonald Jones Special libraries Cornelia Marving Pierce Library Artifacts Beaver Dam Public Library Public library systems Library People Hartford Public Library Anniversaries CCBC Louise S. Robbins Uncategorized Madison Public Library WHCLIS Gilbert H. Doane Suring Area Public Library WWI Library War Service Library Buidlings Postcards Publications Wilbur Lyle Eberhart American Library Association Eager Free Public Library state historical society Hall of Fame 2018 Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries John Miller Chancellor Lowell W. Wilson anniversaries Black River Falls Public Library Historical Register caly film UW-Milwaukee Libraries Bookmobiles National Bookmobile Day Frank Avery Hutchins Clinton Public Library WLA 125 traveling libraries bed and breakfast Anniversaries hall of WLA 125 cam ca Nolan I. Neds Events Hall of Fame 2015 Helen Adams Manitowoc Public Library Middleton Public Library Kimberly-Little Chute Public Library Wisconsin Rapids Hall of Fame 2012 Portage Public Library Hall of Fame 2011 Hall of Fame 2015 Sandra Friedman Dolnick library memorabilia Library Buildings Robert Bocher School of Library and Information Studies John J. Jax Marketing-Publicity Charles Bunge caly film Orrilla Blackshear Capitol Fire 1904 11 Gertrude Thurow Hall of Fame 2008 Dianne McAfee Hopkins Campaign National Library Week Carnegie libraries Library Systems library legislation Academic Libraries archives Larry T. Nix I Love Libraries Wisconsin Free Library Commission Public libraries Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries Brown Deer Public Library Wisconsin Library Bulletin Wisconsin Library Heritage Center Wisconsin Free Library Commission WAAL Cam campa Wisconsin Historical Society Brown County Library Centennial Pewaukee Public Library Wisconsin Library Trustees and Friends Milwaukee Public Library Amer 22 library exhibit J. D. Witter Ripon Public Library Milwaukee Art Museum State Law Library Hall of Fame 2009 James Duane Doty trav Oshkosh Public Library Ruth Ann Montgomery Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries Hall of Fame 2015 UW-Milwaukee School of Information Studies Public libraries 10 Hall of Fame 2013 WLA 125 21 Hall of Fame 2017 Library History Campaign Ruby Roeder Irene W. Newman presentations Hall of Fame 2010 Eratus Swift Wilcox Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries Inform Wisconsin Peter G. Hamon books-by-mail Governor's Conference on Library and Information Services Sarah Janice Kee buil campaign 24 Bob Bochfer Rusk County Community Library Campaign Lucy E. Smith Morris Richard E. Krug World War I Zona Gale Hall of Fame 2015 Edward Asahel Birge campaign Library Trustees Clarence Brown Lester White House Conference on Library and Information Services Jerome P. Daniels Superior Carnegie Libraries Marjorie Sornson Malmberg S. Janice Kee 28 Bernard Schwab Hall Buttons Association of Library Trustees Advocates and Friends Hall of Fame 2012 Delia Ovitz Beloit Public Library Hall of Fame 2018 Wisconsin State Law Library Academic Librarians Gerald A. Somers 27 23 People Cooperative Children's Book Center bookworm Wisconsin State Normal School-Milwaukee Black River Falls 14 Jane K. Billings Lutie Stearns Carl Spitzweg campaign Wisconsin Federation of Women's Clubs membership libraries Events & Meetings Hall of Fame 2015 Lutie Eugenia Stearns Exhibits Woman's Congress Wisconsin Association of Academic Librarians Library people William J. Wilson WLA 125 Postcards caly film Hall of Fame 2016 Library people Postcards Evansville Wisconsin Increase A. Lapham Elroy Public Library James Huff Stout Parcel post

Wisconsin Library Association Foundation Logo