Wisconsin Library Heritage Center

The Wisconsin Library Heritage Center is a program of the Wisconsin Library Association Foundation promoting understanding and appreciation of the history of libraries and librarianship in Wisconsin.

Wayne Bassett (1915-1988)

Posted by Larry Nix
Larry Nix
Larry Nix has not set their biography yet
User is currently offline
on Thursday, September 23, 2010 in Hall of Fame


Wayne Bassett was inducted into the Wisconsin Library Hall of Fame on November 4, 2010 at the Wisconsin Library Association Conference in Wisconsin Dells. He served as Director of the Wausau Public Library from 1965 to 1974.  When the Wausau Public Library merged with the Marathon County Library in 1974 to become the Marathon County Public Library, he served as Director of the merged library until his retirement in 1983. Concurrently (1965-1983), he served as the Director of what is now the Wisconsin Valley Library Service. Serving as the Wisconsin Library Association’s first Legislative Advocate from 1971 to 1979 he played an important role in the enactment of Wisconsin’s public library system law. Bassett received WLA’s Special Service Award in 1971 and served as President of WLA in 1976. He was named WLA’s Librarian of the Year in 1979.  His life and service to the Wisconsin library community were recognized with a WLA Special Memorial Citation in 1988.

Under his leadership, the Wausau Public Library was named as WLA’s Library of the year in 1965. Bassett was instrumental in the establishment of the System and Resource Library Administrators’ Association of Wisconsin. He served as leader and/or member of numerous WLA and other statewide committees including the Library Development and Legislation Committee; the Library Services and Construction Act Review Committee; and the Legislative Council’s Special Committee on Library Laws.  He was a member of the American Library Association.

Prior to coming to Wausau, Bassett graduated from the University of Minnesota (UM) with degrees in Political Science and Public Administration. He served in the U.S. Army in France during WWII.  Returning home, he earned a library science degree from UM. After beginning his library career at the Fond du Lac (WI) Public Library, he served as the Director of the Worthington (MN) City Library, later the Nobles County Library, from 1949 to 1965. From 1954 to 1962 Bassett served in the Minnesota House of Representatives.  


No comments made yet. Be the first to submit a comment

Leave your comment

Guest Tuesday, May 23, 2017


Popular Tags

trav Library Buildings Wayne A. Wiegand 24 27 Hall of Fame 2012 caly film campaign archives Hall of Fame 2015 campa Hall of Fame 2008 Clarence Brown Lester Jane K. Billings Black River Falls Dorothea M. Krause Hall Hall of Fame 2009 WLA 125 14 Wisconsin Rapids WLA 125 I Love Libraries Cornelia Marving Pierce Hall of Fame 2015 Superior Carnegie Libraries Library Artifacts caly film Hall of Fame 2015 Public libraries Campaign Hall of Fame 2016 Postcards Eratus Swift Wilcox Centennial Frank Avery Hutchins Pinback buttons 20 Wisconsin State Normal School-Milwaukee Governor's Conference on Library and Information Services John Miller Chancellor School of Library and Information Studies Beloit Public Library Milwaukee Public Library 11 Hall of Fame 2010 Lutie Stearns Klaus Linderfelt Events & Meetings Wisconsin Free Library Commission Sarah Janice Kee Publications Gertrude Thurow Hall of Fame 2014 Gilbert H. Doane James Duane Doty bed and breakfast Gerald A. Somers UW-Milwaukee Libraries Appleton Public Library Bernard Schwab Library people Library e School libraries presentations Dianne McAfee Hopkins Library History ca Hall of Fame 2013 Digital Collections Wisconsin Library Heritage Center 21 Wisconsin Library Bulletin Exhibits Meter mail slogans library education UW-Milwaukee School of Information Studies Wisconsin Association of Academic Librarians Hartford Public Library Association of Library Trustees Advocates and Friends Public libraries bookworm Academic Librarians Zona Gale Increase A. Lapham campaign Marketing-Publicity Library People Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries Campaign Carnegie libraries National Library Week membership libraries COLAND Bookmobiles William J. Wilson Ruth Ann Montgomery Wisconsin Library Trustees and Friends Library Trustees Charles Bunge Rusk County Community Library Wilbur Lyle Eberhart Library Buidlings state historical society Matthew S. Dudgeon Cam Library celebrations Wisconsin Library Association Manitowoc Public Library CCBC Tower Hill Wisconsin Pewaukee Public Library library legislation Kimberly-Little Chute Public Library Oshkosh Public Library Milwaukee Art Museum Academic Libraries Buttons Katharine MacDonald Jones Elroy Public Library library exhibit Wisconsin State Law Library caly film anniversaries library memorabilia WHCLIS Milwaukee Public Library Amer Cooperative Children's Book Center Wisconsin Free Library Commission Hall fo Fame 2012 WLA 125 Events & Meetings UW-Madison school of library and information studies WAAL traveling libraries Hall of Fame 2015 Portage Public Library buil Eager Free Public Library Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries campaign James Huff Stout T. B. Scott Free Public Library Capitol Fire 1904 Peter G. Hamon Ripon Public Library Irene W. Newman Anniversaries Campaign WWI Library War Service Madison Public Library Brown Deer Public Library WLA 125 Wisconsin Historical Society Wisconsin Literary Travel Guide Edward Asahel Birge Council on Library and Network Development Hall of Fame 2012 Larry T. Nix Nolan I. Neds Brown Deer Public Library Library people Postcards Special libraries S. Janice Kee Lutie Eugenia Stearns Middleton Public Library Carl Spitzweg Evansville Wisconsin Library Systems Campaing for Wisconsin Libraries 22 Postcards Woman's Congress Historical Register 28 Events Parcel post Suring Area Public Library Anniversaries Beaver Dam Public Library White House Conference on Library and Information Services 10 Delia Ovitz Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries Orrilla Blackshear Brown County Library Uncategorized State Law Library People Hall of Fame 2012 Jerome P. Daniels Ice Storm Soughton Public Library Clinton Public Library Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries 23 American Library Association Hall of Fame 2015 Richard E. Krug DeForest Area Public Library McMillan Memorial Library Black River Falls Public Library National Bookmobile Day Inform Wisconsin Hall of Fame 2011 Postcards background hall of World War I cam books-by-mail American Library Association Library War Service J. D. Witter Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries Marjorie Sornson Malmberg Public library systems

Wisconsin Library Association Foundation Logo