Wisconsin Library Heritage Center

The Wisconsin Library Heritage Center is a program of the Wisconsin Library Association Foundation promoting understanding and appreciation of the history of libraries and librarianship in Wisconsin.

Walter Mcmynn Smith (1869 – 1938)

Posted by Larry Nix
Larry Nix
Larry Nix has not set their biography yet
User is currently offline
on Tuesday, October 18, 2011 in Hall of Fame

smith-walter-80.jpgWalter Mcmynn Smith is one of seven individuals who will be inducted into the Wisconsin Library Hall of Fame on November 3, 2011 at the Awards and Honors Banquet during the Wisconsin Library Association Conference in Milwaukee. Smith became the first full time Librarian of the University of Wisconsin in Madison in 1891 and served in that capacity until 1937. During his tenure the library grew from a staff of one to a staff of 35 and the library increased its holdings from 18,000 to 475,000 volumes. Smith was one of the founders of the Wisconsin Library Association in 1891, and he was the first academic librarian to serve as President of WLA (1908-1909). Smith oversaw the move of the University library from Library Hall to the new building of the Historical Society of Wisconsin in 1900 where it shared space with the Society’s library. Starting in 1893 Smith gave a series of lectures about the library to students, one of the early examples of library instruction in the nation. Smith was born in Janesville, Wisconsin. He was listed in Who’s Who in America (1936) and is included in the Dictionary of Wisconsin History. Smith was one of 67 American librarians elected to the prestigious American Library Institute when it was organized in 1905. 


No comments made yet. Be the first to submit a comment

Leave your comment

Guest Saturday, April 21, 2018


Popular Tags

Hall Jerome P. Daniels Zona Gale Bookmobiles Library Buildings Library Artifacts Brown Deer Public Library Milwaukee Public Library Hall fo Fame 2012 state historical society Charles Bunge WLA 125 Hall of Fame 2011 Hall of Fame 2012 Lutie Eugenia Stearns Brown County Library Postcards WLA 125 trav cam Appleton Public Library Council on Library and Network Development Madison Public Library American Library Association Katharine MacDonald Jones Public libraries Delia Ovitz Beaver Dam Public Library Wisconsin Library Heritage Center Hall of Fame 2015 Library Systems Orrilla Blackshear Lowell W. Wilson WLA 125 Richard E. Krug Campaign Wisconsin Association of Academic Librarians caly film Carnegie libraries Wisconsin Rapids WHCLIS Irene W. Newman Buttons buil UW-Milwaukee Libraries School libraries library legislation Academic Libraries Ruth Ann Montgomery Peter G. Hamon Centennial 10 21 Events Increase A. Lapham CCBC Public library systems Pewaukee Public Library 24 Clarence Brown Lester Wisconsin Historical Society Louise S. Robbins hall of Nolan I. Neds Association of Library Trustees Advocates and Friends Klaus Linderfelt UW-Madison school of library and information studies Wilbur Lyle Eberhart American Library Association Library War Service Ripon Public Library School of Library and Information Studies Oshkosh Public Library Hall of Fame 2015 Wisconsin Literary Travel Guide archives Rusk County Community Library Superior Carnegie Libraries 22 Eager Free Public Library Ice Storm Campaign Bernard Schwab Publications Academic Librarians Digital Collections 28 Marketing-Publicity Sandra Friedman Dolnick Dianne McAfee Hopkins Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries Inform Wisconsin Postcards Ruby Roeder Cooperative Children's Book Center Wisconsin Library Association Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries 11 Gilbert H. Doane Soughton Public Library Library People Hall of Fame 2015 Hartford Public Library Beloit Public Library Marjorie Sornson Malmberg Hall of Fame 2009 Library Trustees library exhibit James Huff Stout Hall of Fame 2012 Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries Carl Spitzweg Meter mail slogans Elroy Public Library Kimberly-Little Chute Public Library Sarah Janice Kee DeForest Area Public Library Larry T. Nix Uncategorized J. D. Witter Exhibits Gerald A. Somers library education campaign Historical Register William J. Wilson Wisconsin Library Bulletin Library e Eratus Swift Wilcox presentations Wisconsin State Law Library Wisconsin State Normal School-Milwaukee Hall of Fame 2015 Library Buidlings campaign Dorothea M. Krause Hall of Fame 2008 Wisconsin Library Trustees and Friends bookworm John Miller Chancellor S. Janice Kee Middleton Public Library Public libraries Anniversaries Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries Milwaukee Art Museum bed and breakfast Campaign Library people Frank Avery Hutchins Events & Meetings library memorabilia caly film T. B. Scott Free Public Library Milwaukee Public Library UW-Milwaukee School of Information Studies Gertrude Thurow Evansville Wisconsin Postcards WAAL Black River Falls Public Library Campaing for Wisconsin Libraries Events & Meetings WLA 125 Suring Area Public Library Hall of Fame 2010 Hall of Fame 2016 National Library Week campaign Jane K. Billings Parcel post Hall of Fame 2012 Wayne A. Wiegand People Edward Asahel Birge National Bookmobile Day State Law Library John J. Jax caly film 14 ca 20 Library people Postcards Capitol Fire 1904 Matthew S. Dudgeon Brown Deer Public Library Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries Anniversaries Library celebrations Special libraries Governor's Conference on Library and Information Services Library History Wisconsin Free Library Commission Portage Public Library James Duane Doty Cam Amer Black River Falls 23 books-by-mail Lutie Stearns Cornelia Marving Pierce traveling libraries Hall of Fame 2013 campa Clinton Public Library Tower Hill Wisconsin background COLAND Hall of Fame 2017 I Love Libraries Wisconsin Free Library Commission membership libraries 27 Woman's Congress McMillan Memorial Library World War I anniversaries White House Conference on Library and Information Services Hall of Fame 2015 Pinback buttons WWI Library War Service Hall of Fame 2014 Manitowoc Public Library

Wisconsin Library Association Foundation Logo