Wisconsin Library Heritage Center

The Wisconsin Library Heritage Center is a program of the Wisconsin Library Association Foundation promoting understanding and appreciation of the history of libraries and librarianship in Wisconsin.

Theresa West Elmendorf (1855-1932)

Posted by Larry Nix
Larry Nix
Larry Nix has not set their biography yet
User is currently offline
on Friday, December 12, 2008 in Hall of Fame

elmendorf1.jpgTheresa West Elmendorf was inducted into the Wisconsin Library Hall of Fame on November 6, 2008. Theresa West became Deputy Librarian of the Milwaukee Public Library in 1880 when she was just 25 years old.  In 1882 she became the first member of the American Library Association from Wisconsin. After attending the 1890 American Library Association conference and learning of the creation of state library associations in some Eastern states, she came back and promoted a Wisconsin state library association. This idea came to fruition on February 11, 1891. West became Librarian of the Milwaukee Public Library in 1892 when the previous librarian, Klas Linderfelt, resigned.  She was the first woman to direct the public library of a large city in the United States. She held this post until 1896 when she married Henry Elmendorf, also a librarian.  After a brief time in London, England, they moved to Buffalo, New York where Henry Elmendorf became director of the Buffalo Public Library.  After the death of her husband in 1906, Theresa Elmendorf became Vice-Librarian of the Buffalo Public Library.  Active in the American Library Association, she became the first woman president of ALA in 1911-12. In the June 1911 issue of the Public Libraries magazine there was a report on the 1911 conference of the American Library Association where Elmendorf was elected President of ALA. The report said this about Elmendorf: "Mrs. Thresa West Elmendorf, the first woman to be honored by the association with its presidency, comes into the office by right of achievement greater than that of any other woman in the library field and of an equal grade with that of any man.  Her wholesome, sympathetic attitude toward library work and workers has been a distinct contribution to the craft and her freedom from personal ambition has made her a valuable aid in developing the power of the A. L. A. Her election to the presidency is a well-earned, a well-deserved honor, marking an epoch in which the A. L. A. honored itself in honoring her." In 1951 she was one of 40 of America’s most significant library leaders selected by the Library Journal for inclusion in a “ Library Hall of Fame". She is listed in the Dictionary of Wisconsin History. The photo of Elemendorf is reprinted with permission from the article "Pioneers of the Library Profession", by Joseph Adams Rathbone, The Wilson Library Bulletin, June 1949.


No comments made yet. Be the first to submit a comment

Leave your comment

Guest Friday, August 18, 2017


Popular Tags

Zona Gale Hall of Fame 2014 American Library Association Library War Service Eratus Swift Wilcox Charles Bunge Hall of Fame 2010 Irene W. Newman 28 Pewaukee Public Library Black River Falls Public Library Hall of Fame 2016 Events & Meetings Hall of Fame 2008 Marketing-Publicity Jerome P. Daniels Campaing for Wisconsin Libraries John Miller Chancellor 22 14 National Bookmobile Day Appleton Public Library Meter mail slogans Parcel post hall of S. Janice Kee Hall Campaign state historical society campaign Brown Deer Public Library presentations Middleton Public Library Nolan I. Neds Cooperative Children's Book Center Superior Carnegie Libraries ca McMillan Memorial Library Library People 24 Increase A. Lapham Exhibits archives Governor's Conference on Library and Information Services Capitol Fire 1904 Katharine MacDonald Jones library memorabilia Wilbur Lyle Eberhart Library e Historical Register Carl Spitzweg Ripon Public Library Brown County Library Carnegie libraries Wisconsin Free Library Commission Wayne A. Wiegand Hall of Fame 2015 Lutie Stearns library legislation Hall of Fame 2009 Campaign WAAL Gertrude Thurow Bookmobiles 20 Milwaukee Public Library Suring Area Public Library Special libraries WLA 125 UW-Milwaukee Libraries Campaign William J. Wilson Postcards Library Systems Beloit Public Library Wisconsin Library Bulletin Portage Public Library Wisconsin Literary Travel Guide Library people Postcards Library Buildings Events Soughton Public Library buil CCBC Milwaukee Art Museum Wisconsin Rapids traveling libraries Wisconsin Library Association Lutie Eugenia Stearns Postcards J. D. Witter Buttons Cam UW-Milwaukee School of Information Studies Elroy Public Library Library Trustees Wisconsin Library Heritage Center Library people 27 caly film Dianne McAfee Hopkins National Library Week 11 Public libraries Library History campaign Wisconsin State Law Library James Huff Stout Public libraries Hall of Fame 2012 Hall of Fame 2015 bed and breakfast Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries Ice Storm Bernard Schwab Clarence Brown Lester caly film Wisconsin Association of Academic Librarians library exhibit Public library systems Gilbert H. Doane Anniversaries Brown Deer Public Library Amer caly film WHCLIS Klaus Linderfelt Larry T. Nix I Love Libraries Cornelia Marving Pierce Beaver Dam Public Library White House Conference on Library and Information Services UW-Madison school of library and information studies Hartford Public Library campa Digital Collections American Library Association Academic Librarians Events & Meetings campaign Hall of Fame 2012 Orrilla Blackshear bookworm Inform Wisconsin Library Buidlings Rusk County Community Library Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries WLA 125 State Law Library Milwaukee Public Library Tower Hill Wisconsin Manitowoc Public Library Frank Avery Hutchins anniversaries 23 Woman's Congress Hall of Fame 2015 Eager Free Public Library Edward Asahel Birge COLAND Academic Libraries library education School libraries Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries Matthew S. Dudgeon Wisconsin State Normal School-Milwaukee 21 Marjorie Sornson Malmberg Peter G. Hamon Black River Falls Ruth Ann Montgomery Oshkosh Public Library James Duane Doty Postcards Richard E. Krug cam membership libraries Association of Library Trustees Advocates and Friends Library celebrations Madison Public Library Council on Library and Network Development Hall of Fame 2012 Gerald A. Somers Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries Dorothea M. Krause Wisconsin Free Library Commission World War I Hall of Fame 2015 Centennial trav WLA 125 10 Hall of Fame 2013 T. B. Scott Free Public Library Sarah Janice Kee Pinback buttons Wisconsin Library Trustees and Friends Hall of Fame 2015 Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries books-by-mail Wisconsin Historical Society Uncategorized WLA 125 DeForest Area Public Library Anniversaries Library Artifacts background Hall fo Fame 2012 Clinton Public Library Publications Kimberly-Little Chute Public Library WWI Library War Service Hall of Fame 2011 Delia Ovitz People Jane K. Billings School of Library and Information Studies Evansville Wisconsin

Wisconsin Library Association Foundation Logo