Wisconsin Library Heritage Center

The Wisconsin Library Heritage Center is a program of the Wisconsin Library Association Foundation promoting understanding and appreciation of the history of libraries and librarianship in Wisconsin.

The Bookworm

Posted by Larry Nix
Larry Nix
Larry Nix has not set their biography yet
User is currently offline
on Wednesday, December 10, 2008 in Postcards

pc-wi-bookworm-72.jpgThe original painting of a very popular image showing an elderly gentleman standing on a ladder in a library is owned by the Milwaukee Public Library. The painting is "The Bookworm" by Carl Spitzweg. The collector who donated the painting to the library also gave several Spitzweg paintings to the Milwaukee Art Museum. Shown here is the painting on a postcard. Prints and posters of the image are readily available on the Internet by searching "Spitzweg bookworm".


No comments made yet. Be the first to submit a comment

Leave your comment

Guest Saturday, January 19, 2019


Popular Tags

White House Conference on Library and Information Services American Library Association Library War Service Hall of Fame 2018 Bob Bochfer Manitowoc Public Library Hall of Fame 2015 Cam Dianne McAfee Hopkins Hall of Fame 2015 National Library Week Publications Lutie Stearns Library Trustees Sarah Janice Kee Pinback buttons WLA 125 Events & Meetings Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries 28 Hall fo Fame 2012 Wisconsin Library Association Hall of Fame 2008 Hall of Fame 2010 Library Buildings presentations Black River Falls Carl Spitzweg Hall of Fame 2016 Klaus Linderfelt National Bookmobile Day Marketing-Publicity Uncategorized Campaing for Wisconsin Libraries cam UW-Milwaukee Libraries Lutie Eugenia Stearns Amer Anniversaries caly film Wisconsin Library Trustees and Friends campaign Events Peter G. Hamon Brown Deer Public Library Library History campaign Association of Library Trustees Advocates and Friends Irene W. Newman Wisconsin Federation of Women's Clubs Hall of Fame 2012 Portage Public Library Postcards Wisconsin Historical Society Eratus Swift Wilcox Suring Area Public Library J. D. Witter Historical Register Library Artifacts Council on Library and Network Development Anniversaries Frank Avery Hutchins World War I Public libraries Library e Bookmobiles Wisconsin Literary Travel Guide Hall of Fame 2011 20 Hall of Fame 2014 Nolan I. Neds Delia Ovitz 24 Parcel post UW-Milwaukee School of Information Studies caly film Dorothea M. Krause bed and breakfast School of Library and Information Studies James Duane Doty UW-Madison school of library and information studies CCBC Milwaukee Public Library Eager Free Public Library Public library systems WLA 125 Edward Asahel Birge Gerald A. Somers John Miller Chancellor Hall of Fame 2017 Governor's Conference on Library and Information Services Campaign Cooperative Children's Book Center Digital Collections Kimberly-Little Chute Public Library WLA 125 S. Janice Kee Hall of Fame 2013 Charles Bunge James Huff Stout Wisconsin Library Heritage Center Clinton Public Library library legislation Ruth Ann Montgomery Lucy E. Smith Morris Helen Adams Madison Public Library WAAL Oshkosh Public Library Hall of Fame 2012 library memorabilia Louise S. Robbins Zona Gale Sandra Friedman Dolnick Gertrude Thurow Library Buidlings Tower Hill Wisconsin Beloit Public Library Superior Carnegie Libraries Hall of Fame 2009 State Law Library Soughton Public Library WHCLIS Ripon Public Library ca traveling libraries 22 Hall Jerome P. Daniels Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries T. B. Scott Free Public Library Matthew S. Dudgeon I Love Libraries WWI Library War Service Lowell W. Wilson Meter mail slogans Increase A. Lapham Public libraries People COLAND Larry T. Nix Woman's Congress 14 Wilbur Lyle Eberhart Bernard Schwab Wayne A. Wiegand Hall of Fame 2015 Richard E. Krug Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries Appleton Public Library Events & Meetings 21 Wisconsin State Normal School-Milwaukee Beaver Dam Public Library Academic Librarians Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries bookworm Evansville Wisconsin library exhibit Ice Storm Wisconsin State Law Library campaign Black River Falls Public Library campa books-by-mail Wisconsin Free Library Commission trav Hall of Fame 2015 27 buil Milwaukee Art Museum Library people Hall of Fame 2018 Library celebrations Cornelia Marving Pierce Orrilla Blackshear library education Rusk County Community Library background Wisconsin Association of Academic Librarians state historical society 11 Campaign Brown Deer Public Library Hall of Fame 2012 Postcards John J. Jax 10 Ruby Roeder Academic Libraries anniversaries Carnegie libraries 23 Wisconsin Rapids Wisconsin Free Library Commission Katharine MacDonald Jones Milwaukee Public Library Hartford Public Library Jane K. Billings hall of Library Systems Hall of Fame 2015 archives Inform Wisconsin Capitol Fire 1904 Middleton Public Library Buttons Special libraries School libraries membership libraries Pewaukee Public Library William J. Wilson Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries Library People Postcards Brown County Library American Library Association Gilbert H. Doane Campaign McMillan Memorial Library Robert Bocher Clarence Brown Lester caly film DeForest Area Public Library Centennial Elroy Public Library Library people Postcards Wisconsin Library Bulletin Exhibits WLA 125 Marjorie Sornson Malmberg

Wisconsin Library Association Foundation Logo