Wisconsin Library Heritage Center

The Wisconsin Library Heritage Center is a program of the Wisconsin Library Association Foundation promoting understanding and appreciation of the history of libraries and librarianship in Wisconsin.

The Wisconsin Historical Society

Posted by Larry T. Nix
Larry T. Nix
Larry T. Nix has not set their biography yet
User is currently offline
on Wednesday, February 24, 2016 in WLA 125
The Wisconsin Historical Society was founded in 1847 and it quickly began to establish one of Wisconsin’s earliest library collections. Led by the vision of Lyman Copeland Draper and succeeding secretaries of the Society, that collection developed into one of the country’s largest and most important North American historical collections. The leaders and staff of the Society played an important role in the creation and development of the Wisconsin Library Association.  In addition to Draper, these individuals included: Daniel Steele Durrie; Reuben Gold Thwaites; Minnie M. Oakley; and Benton H. Wilcox among others. A symbol of the early library history of the Wisconsin Historical Society is a bookcase that housed the original library.  The collection of the Wisconsin Historical Society was housed in several buildings over time including the State Capitol. In 1900 the Wisconsin Historical Society and the University of Wisconsin Library jointly occupied a newly completed building. That building with expansions continues to house the Society. The UW Library moved into its own building in 1953.  The Society completed a major renovation of its impressive reading room in 2010.  In 2015 the Wisconsin Historical Press published The Wisconsin Historical Society: Collecting, Preserving, and Sharing Stories Since 1846 by John Zimm.


No comments made yet. Be the first to submit a comment

Leave your comment

Guest Saturday, August 17, 2019


Popular Tags

Brown Deer Public Library DeForest Area Public Library 27 caly film UW-Madison school of library and information studies Ice Storm 10 Postcards Hall fo Fame 2012 Library Systems Ruth Ann Montgomery Matthew S. Dudgeon trav Cornelia Marving Pierce Peter G. Hamon Library e Public libraries Library people Postcards Library people Hall of Fame 2015 Historical Register Oshkosh Public Library T. B. Scott Free Public Library 22 Wisconsin Library Association bed and breakfast Black River Falls Public Library Wisconsin Library Trustees and Friends White House Conference on Library and Information Services Library People Brown Deer Public Library State Law Library library legislation Clinton Public Library Middleton Public Library Association of Library Trustees Advocates and Friends Wisconsin Association of Academic Librarians Hall of Fame 2017 Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries Ruby Roeder Wisconsin State Law Library Inform Wisconsin Wisconsin Historical Society James Huff Stout James Duane Doty World War I Hall of Fame 2015 anniversaries Katharine MacDonald Jones Dorothea M. Krause Anniversaries UW-Milwaukee School of Information Studies American Library Association Library War Service Milwaukee Public Library Wisconsin State Normal School-Milwaukee Campaing for Wisconsin Libraries Library History cam Robert Bocher WWI Library War Service 28 Carl Spitzweg Academic Librarians Manitowoc Public Library Bookmobiles 14 23 Meter mail slogans 24 Lutie Eugenia Stearns Eager Free Public Library Campaign Campaign Hall of Fame 2008 caly film Carnegie libraries caly film Governor's Conference on Library and Information Services Hartford Public Library presentations WLA 125 Milwaukee Public Library 21 Events & Meetings hall of Gilbert H. Doane Lutie Stearns COLAND campaign Amer S. Janice Kee Sarah Janice Kee Hall of Fame 2016 Hall of Fame 2012 Increase A. Lapham Public libraries Academic Libraries background Appleton Public Library Hall of Fame 2018 Cam National Bookmobile Day Digital Collections McMillan Memorial Library William J. Wilson campaign Sandra Friedman Dolnick 20 Parcel post Hall of Fame 2015 WHCLIS Pewaukee Public Library Pinback buttons John J. Jax Hall of Fame 2015 Hall of Fame 2013 Events & Meetings Woman's Congress library memorabilia campa Lucy E. Smith Morris Richard E. Krug Council on Library and Network Development Clarence Brown Lester Ripon Public Library Jerome P. Daniels Publications Lowell W. Wilson Marjorie Sornson Malmberg Klaus Linderfelt Special libraries Jane K. Billings Public library systems Beaver Dam Public Library WLA 125 Edward Asahel Birge membership libraries I Love Libraries Hall of Fame 2009 Centennial Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries Library celebrations ca traveling libraries Zona Gale Wisconsin Free Library Commission Hall of Fame 2014 WLA 125 Portage Public Library WLA 125 Hall of Fame 2015 Wisconsin Library Bulletin Library Artifacts John Miller Chancellor Eratus Swift Wilcox buil Hall Rusk County Community Library Buttons Brown County Library American Library Association Bob Bochfer Black River Falls People Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries Hall of Fame 2018 Dianne McAfee Hopkins Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries Evansville Wisconsin Library Buildings books-by-mail Orrilla Blackshear National Library Week Capitol Fire 1904 Library Buidlings Wisconsin Literary Travel Guide Marketing-Publicity Library Trustees Cooperative Children's Book Center Delia Ovitz Milwaukee Art Museum UW-Milwaukee Libraries Wisconsin Federation of Women's Clubs Anniversaries J. D. Witter archives library exhibit Soughton Public Library School of Library and Information Studies Wisconsin Free Library Commission Exhibits Elroy Public Library Postcards Nolan I. Neds Louise S. Robbins Events campaign Uncategorized Beloit Public Library Frank Avery Hutchins Kimberly-Little Chute Public Library Gerald A. Somers library education Wayne A. Wiegand Campaign WAAL Tower Hill Wisconsin Helen Adams Superior Carnegie Libraries Suring Area Public Library Irene W. Newman School libraries Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries Hall of Fame 2011 11 Wisconsin Library Heritage Center Hall of Fame 2012 Hall of Fame 2012 Postcards Charles Bunge Hall of Fame 2010 Wisconsin Rapids Gertrude Thurow CCBC bookworm Madison Public Library state historical society Bernard Schwab Wilbur Lyle Eberhart Larry T. Nix

Wisconsin Library Association Foundation Logo