Wisconsin Library Heritage Center

The Wisconsin Library Heritage Center is a program of the Wisconsin Library Association Foundation promoting understanding and appreciation of the history of libraries and librarianship in Wisconsin.

The First Books-By-Mail Program in Wisconsin

Posted by Larry Nix
Larry Nix
Larry Nix has not set their biography yet
User is currently offline
on Thursday, September 01, 2016 in WLA 125
stamp-us-parcel-72Parcel post, the delivery of packages through the mail, began in the United States on January 1, 1913.  Libraries had long lobbied for a special rate for library materials sent through the mail, and in 1914 the postmaster general authorized the shipment of books at the parcel post rate. This decision opened up significant possibilities for library service to geographically remote populations.  One of the first librarians to realize the potential of parcel post and library service was Matthew S. Dudgeon, the Secretary of the Wisconsin Free Library Commission (WFLC). Under Dudgeon's leadership the WFLC began implementing a system in which any resident of the state could request a book from the major libraries in Madison including the University of Wisconsin Library and the State Historical Society Library. There was little red tape involved. All that was required was a letter requesting a book along with the postage. Under the new postal rates a book could be sent anywhere within a 150 mile radius of Madison for an average of six cents and for greater distances for eight cents. Implementation of this system was facilitated by the fact that the President of the University of Wisconsin and the Secretary of the Wisconsin Historical Society served on the WFLC board. An article about Dudgeon's parcel post system appeared in the December, 1915 issue of American Review of Reviews.


No comments made yet. Be the first to submit a comment

Leave your comment

Guest Wednesday, July 18, 2018


Popular Tags

Soughton Public Library Ice Storm Milwaukee Public Library Hall of Fame 2012 Hall of Fame 2012 Zona Gale Milwaukee Art Museum Wisconsin Library Bulletin Ruby Roeder Campaign Beaver Dam Public Library John Miller Chancellor Hall of Fame 2014 Hall Wisconsin State Normal School-Milwaukee Middleton Public Library UW-Milwaukee School of Information Studies Hall of Fame 2008 Library Systems Parcel post Wisconsin Library Trustees and Friends campaign Library Buidlings Orrilla Blackshear Beloit Public Library Sandra Friedman Dolnick Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries I Love Libraries ca Digital Collections Nolan I. Neds Hall of Fame 2011 Cam Hall of Fame 2015 James Huff Stout McMillan Memorial Library Publications Increase A. Lapham Wisconsin Rapids caly film 10 Edward Asahel Birge Hartford Public Library Manitowoc Public Library Inform Wisconsin Exhibits caly film Campaign Wayne A. Wiegand Campaing for Wisconsin Libraries Events & Meetings Library Buildings National Library Week Postcards campaign Irene W. Newman Louise S. Robbins Library people Postcards Clinton Public Library World War I Library History Hall of Fame 2012 School of Library and Information Studies Brown Deer Public Library James Duane Doty Appleton Public Library Frank Avery Hutchins Cornelia Marving Pierce Library celebrations 20 John J. Jax Hall of Fame 2010 Madison Public Library Wilbur Lyle Eberhart T. B. Scott Free Public Library Carnegie libraries Portage Public Library Library Artifacts books-by-mail Jane K. Billings Wisconsin Association of Academic Librarians Cooperative Children's Book Center Events DeForest Area Public Library Library Trustees 14 22 Marketing-Publicity American Library Association Library War Service Delia Ovitz Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries COLAND bookworm Lowell W. Wilson Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries National Bookmobile Day 27 American Library Association Academic Librarians Suring Area Public Library Brown Deer Public Library Hall of Fame 2016 Ripon Public Library 21 Postcards Anniversaries Gilbert H. Doane Milwaukee Public Library CCBC Special libraries Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries People Ruth Ann Montgomery Hall fo Fame 2012 Woman's Congress Rusk County Community Library Wisconsin Library Association library education Tower Hill Wisconsin Sarah Janice Kee Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries library exhibit White House Conference on Library and Information Services Gertrude Thurow Historical Register bed and breakfast J. D. Witter hall of Eager Free Public Library Marjorie Sornson Malmberg campa Klaus Linderfelt 23 anniversaries Campaign Library People UW-Madison school of library and information studies S. Janice Kee Lutie Stearns library memorabilia Council on Library and Network Development Lutie Eugenia Stearns Bookmobiles WLA 125 Carl Spitzweg WLA 125 Kimberly-Little Chute Public Library Governor's Conference on Library and Information Services Charles Bunge Bernard Schwab Wisconsin Free Library Commission Wisconsin Free Library Commission campaign William J. Wilson Dorothea M. Krause presentations Dianne McAfee Hopkins UW-Milwaukee Libraries Library people caly film Evansville Wisconsin cam Amer Clarence Brown Lester Postcards WAAL Hall of Fame 2015 Wisconsin State Law Library Pinback buttons library legislation Uncategorized Public library systems Capitol Fire 1904 Superior Carnegie Libraries Public libraries Richard E. Krug Elroy Public Library 24 Wisconsin Historical Society Black River Falls Public Library Centennial Oshkosh Public Library WLA 125 Gerald A. Somers Library e Peter G. Hamon Hall of Fame 2017 Meter mail slogans Larry T. Nix School libraries state historical society archives Events & Meetings Brown County Library Wisconsin Literary Travel Guide trav Hall of Fame 2015 Hall of Fame 2015 Association of Library Trustees Advocates and Friends Wisconsin Library Heritage Center Hall of Fame 2015 WHCLIS Pewaukee Public Library Black River Falls Anniversaries WWI Library War Service WLA 125 Matthew S. Dudgeon Hall of Fame 2013 Public libraries traveling libraries Jerome P. Daniels Eratus Swift Wilcox background Buttons 28 membership libraries State Law Library Hall of Fame 2009 Academic Libraries 11 buil Katharine MacDonald Jones

Wisconsin Library Association Foundation Logo