Wisconsin Library Heritage Center

The Wisconsin Library Heritage Center is a program of the Wisconsin Library Association Foundation promoting understanding and appreciation of the history of libraries and librarianship in Wisconsin.

T. B. Scott Free Library

Posted by Larry Nix
Larry Nix
Larry Nix has not set their biography yet
User is currently offline
on Wednesday, February 04, 2009 in Carnegie libraries


T. B. Scott, for whom the T. B. Scott Free Library in Merrill is named, willed the City of Merrill $10,000 in 1886 to found a free public library.  In a special election in 1889, 120 years ago, residents voted to establish the public library. In 1909, 100 years ago, Merrill received a grant of $17,500 from Andrew Carnegie for a new library building. The building which was designed by the architectural firm of Claude & Starck opened in 1911. An extensive expansion and rennovation of the building was completed in 2001. The library has a detailed outline of its history on its website, something we recommend for every library. If you look at the history, you will note that the library has benefited from the leadership of some outstanding Wisconsin librarians. We especially like the fact that a link to the Wisconsin Library Heritage Center website has been placed on their library history page. We are also grateful that the T. B. Scott Free Library is a Founding Contributor to the Wisconsin Library Heritage Center.


No comments made yet. Be the first to submit a comment

Leave your comment

Guest Friday, May 25, 2018


Popular Tags

Uncategorized Soughton Public Library Postcards Ruby Roeder trav Postcards Brown County Library Postcards T. B. Scott Free Public Library bed and breakfast Events & Meetings caly film Special libraries Gilbert H. Doane Bookmobiles 20 Irene W. Newman 22 Campaign Sarah Janice Kee Nolan I. Neds Public libraries Edward Asahel Birge anniversaries Events & Meetings Wisconsin Association of Academic Librarians Woman's Congress Clarence Brown Lester Gertrude Thurow ca Clinton Public Library S. Janice Kee Wisconsin State Normal School-Milwaukee Wisconsin Library Heritage Center caly film Anniversaries 28 campaign WLA 125 Ruth Ann Montgomery 10 Wisconsin Free Library Commission 24 21 Capitol Fire 1904 Pinback buttons James Huff Stout Digital Collections Public libraries Academic Libraries Jane K. Billings traveling libraries Campaing for Wisconsin Libraries Association of Library Trustees Advocates and Friends membership libraries Gerald A. Somers Sandra Friedman Dolnick Lutie Eugenia Stearns People Richard E. Krug Pewaukee Public Library John J. Jax library legislation Beaver Dam Public Library Suring Area Public Library 14 Middleton Public Library Klaus Linderfelt Milwaukee Public Library Cooperative Children's Book Center Katharine MacDonald Jones WAAL library education buil Black River Falls Public Library Kimberly-Little Chute Public Library Carl Spitzweg Marjorie Sornson Malmberg Larry T. Nix Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries Wayne A. Wiegand Campaign James Duane Doty Zona Gale Wisconsin Literary Travel Guide Black River Falls Hall of Fame 2012 hall of Wisconsin Library Trustees and Friends Buttons Events Frank Avery Hutchins Hall of Fame 2015 Publications School libraries Hall of Fame 2012 Wilbur Lyle Eberhart Public library systems William J. Wilson Inform Wisconsin Hall of Fame 2014 Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries COLAND State Law Library Madison Public Library Cam Governor's Conference on Library and Information Services Wisconsin Library Association Eager Free Public Library Library Buildings state historical society Anniversaries Hall of Fame 2011 27 Hall Library people Centennial Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries presentations Oshkosh Public Library Wisconsin Free Library Commission Hall of Fame 2016 Exhibits Brown Deer Public Library I Love Libraries Elroy Public Library WLA 125 Appleton Public Library bookworm WLA 125 Hall of Fame 2010 Carnegie libraries John Miller Chancellor Milwaukee Public Library White House Conference on Library and Information Services Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries Cornelia Marving Pierce caly film library memorabilia 23 Historical Register Hartford Public Library Hall of Fame 2015 Peter G. Hamon Library History 11 Lowell W. Wilson National Bookmobile Day Superior Carnegie Libraries Wisconsin Historical Society WLA 125 Wisconsin Library Bulletin Milwaukee Art Museum Manitowoc Public Library Library Artifacts Library Trustees Hall of Fame 2015 UW-Milwaukee School of Information Studies School of Library and Information Studies Charles Bunge McMillan Memorial Library Council on Library and Network Development DeForest Area Public Library Meter mail slogans Hall of Fame 2009 Academic Librarians UW-Milwaukee Libraries Ripon Public Library UW-Madison school of library and information studies WWI Library War Service Wisconsin Rapids Library People Portage Public Library Delia Ovitz cam Matthew S. Dudgeon Brown Deer Public Library Dianne McAfee Hopkins CCBC Hall of Fame 2013 Hall of Fame 2008 Campaign campaign Library people Postcards Beloit Public Library books-by-mail Evansville Wisconsin National Library Week Louise S. Robbins American Library Association J. D. Witter WHCLIS archives Increase A. Lapham Hall fo Fame 2012 Library Systems American Library Association Library War Service Library e Library Buidlings Parcel post Dorothea M. Krause Orrilla Blackshear Eratus Swift Wilcox Ice Storm Lutie Stearns Wisconsin State Law Library Hall of Fame 2015 Marketing-Publicity World War I Library celebrations Bernard Schwab library exhibit Hall of Fame 2012 campa Amer background campaign Hall of Fame 2017 Rusk County Community Library Jerome P. Daniels Tower Hill Wisconsin Hall of Fame 2015

Wisconsin Library Association Foundation Logo