Wisconsin Library Heritage Center

The Wisconsin Library Heritage Center is a program of the Wisconsin Library Association Foundation promoting understanding and appreciation of the history of libraries and librarianship in Wisconsin.

State Law Library 175 in 2011

Posted by Larry Nix
Larry Nix
Larry Nix has not set their biography yet
User is currently offline
on Friday, January 07, 2011 in Special libraries


The Wisconsin State Law Library is celebrating its 175th anniversary this year.  Although this is a significant milestone in the history of one Wisconsin library in particular, it is also a significant milestone for library service in general in Wisconsin. In a slight modification of the Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries slogan, Wisconsin libraries have been keeping "Us All in a Better State" for 175 years. When the Congress of the United States, in the act establishing the Wisconsin Territory, set aside $5,000 for the purchase of books for the Territorial Legislature in 1836, it represented a commitment of public funds for public knowledge and and public betterment. So as the Wisconsin State Law Library actively celebrates this milestone anniversary, it also represents an opportunity for the entire Wisconsin library community to celebrate 175 years of public support for library service for the common good.  Previous posts about the Wisconsin State Law Library are located Here, Here and Here. The envelope above was used to celebrate the 100th anniversary of the State Law Library which was called the State Library at that time.


No comments made yet. Be the first to submit a comment

Leave your comment

Guest Friday, July 20, 2018


Popular Tags

Matthew S. Dudgeon Cam Wisconsin Association of Academic Librarians Library people 14 Association of Library Trustees Advocates and Friends Hall of Fame 2012 Library e Ice Storm Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries Events & Meetings Campaign Hall of Fame 2015 UW-Madison school of library and information studies Hall of Fame 2013 Amer Wisconsin State Normal School-Milwaukee Frank Avery Hutchins Manitowoc Public Library Events 27 Public libraries books-by-mail Digital Collections bookworm Marjorie Sornson Malmberg Delia Ovitz WHCLIS caly film WLA 125 Governor's Conference on Library and Information Services Wayne A. Wiegand Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries Portage Public Library Library celebrations Pinback buttons J. D. Witter Special libraries Increase A. Lapham Exhibits bed and breakfast WLA 125 24 Richard E. Krug Sandra Friedman Dolnick caly film library education Hall of Fame 2015 Lowell W. Wilson Campaign Events & Meetings Council on Library and Network Development Gerald A. Somers Kimberly-Little Chute Public Library Gilbert H. Doane buil Superior Carnegie Libraries Oshkosh Public Library Soughton Public Library Hall of Fame 2016 Wisconsin Free Library Commission Wisconsin Library Association Clinton Public Library James Huff Stout John J. Jax Library Artifacts National Bookmobile Day Hall of Fame 2014 Gertrude Thurow UW-Milwaukee Libraries School of Library and Information Studies Library Buildings Nolan I. Neds Library Trustees Library Buidlings 11 Capitol Fire 1904 Bernard Schwab WWI Library War Service campaign Campaign Wisconsin Library Bulletin Clarence Brown Lester Louise S. Robbins Library people Postcards Wisconsin Historical Society T. B. Scott Free Public Library Hall of Fame 2017 Wisconsin Library Heritage Center Centennial library exhibit State Law Library Hall DeForest Area Public Library Wisconsin Library Trustees and Friends Brown Deer Public Library ca Cornelia Marving Pierce Hartford Public Library archives Irene W. Newman American Library Association Evansville Wisconsin Hall fo Fame 2012 23 Postcards Orrilla Blackshear Wisconsin Free Library Commission library legislation WLA 125 Brown Deer Public Library Ruby Roeder S. Janice Kee CCBC Wisconsin Literary Travel Guide Hall of Fame 2009 Jane K. Billings Hall of Fame 2012 Campaing for Wisconsin Libraries Dorothea M. Krause cam anniversaries Bookmobiles UW-Milwaukee School of Information Studies Wisconsin State Law Library Hall of Fame 2012 Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries White House Conference on Library and Information Services Postcards Charles Bunge Milwaukee Public Library Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries Ripon Public Library McMillan Memorial Library Anniversaries Eager Free Public Library James Duane Doty Brown County Library Klaus Linderfelt presentations Appleton Public Library 21 School libraries Madison Public Library Ruth Ann Montgomery Suring Area Public Library 20 campaign Woman's Congress Beloit Public Library Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries Library Systems WLA 125 Marketing-Publicity caly film William J. Wilson Academic Libraries Katharine MacDonald Jones Dianne McAfee Hopkins I Love Libraries state historical society Middleton Public Library Uncategorized 22 Hall of Fame 2015 Postcards Inform Wisconsin Publications Cooperative Children's Book Center Hall of Fame 2015 Elroy Public Library campaign Pewaukee Public Library Lutie Stearns Hall of Fame 2011 Public library systems Public libraries 28 Hall of Fame 2010 Academic Librarians Milwaukee Public Library Wisconsin Rapids Anniversaries background Library People Rusk County Community Library John Miller Chancellor COLAND Milwaukee Art Museum Buttons Historical Register National Library Week Carnegie libraries Carl Spitzweg Hall of Fame 2015 WAAL Beaver Dam Public Library Peter G. Hamon Sarah Janice Kee Jerome P. Daniels Library History Lutie Eugenia Stearns hall of Tower Hill Wisconsin Larry T. Nix trav People Parcel post Meter mail slogans Eratus Swift Wilcox World War I American Library Association Library War Service Edward Asahel Birge Zona Gale Black River Falls Hall of Fame 2008 10 campa Wilbur Lyle Eberhart membership libraries library memorabilia traveling libraries Black River Falls Public Library

Wisconsin Library Association Foundation Logo