Wisconsin Library Heritage Center

The Wisconsin Library Heritage Center is a program of the Wisconsin Library Association Foundation promoting understanding and appreciation of the history of libraries and librarianship in Wisconsin.

Sarah Janice Kee (1908 -1998)

Posted by Larry Nix
Larry Nix
Larry Nix has not set their biography yet
User is currently offline
on Wednesday, September 30, 2009 in Hall of Fame

kee-72.jpgS. Janice Kee was inducted into the Wisconsin Library Hall of Fame at the Wisconsin Library Association Conference in Appleton on October 22, 2009. Kee served as Secretary of the Wisconsin Free Library Commission 1956-1965. She provided the leadership for significant statewide planning during this period and for the implementation of the federal Library Services Act. This planning served as the foundation for Wisconsin’s public library systems. She received WLA's Special Service Award in 1965. Previously she was Executive Director of the Public Library Association of the American Library Association (1952-1956) and held a number of posts at the Missouri State Library including Acting State Librarian and Assistant State Librarian (1947-1950). She was an Army librarian during World War II. After her work in Wisconsin she taught at the Library School Kansas State Teachers College in Emporia and then became a Library Services Program Officer for the U.S. Dept. of Education in Dallas, Texas where she retired. She was included in the National Advocacy Honor Roll by the American Library Association in 2000 for her contribution as an advocate for library services in the 20th century.


No comments made yet. Be the first to submit a comment

Leave your comment

Guest Sunday, June 25, 2017


Popular Tags

Larry T. Nix Council on Library and Network Development 11 Evansville Wisconsin People Brown County Library Beloit Public Library Anniversaries Soughton Public Library Hall fo Fame 2012 Uncategorized Ruth Ann Montgomery bed and breakfast Hall of Fame 2015 Black River Falls Library Buidlings Superior Carnegie Libraries 14 24 WHCLIS WLA 125 Capitol Fire 1904 Cooperative Children's Book Center Tower Hill Wisconsin Association of Library Trustees Advocates and Friends WLA 125 James Huff Stout Wisconsin Library Association Jerome P. Daniels Portage Public Library Carnegie libraries buil Hall of Fame 2016 National Bookmobile Day caly film Wisconsin Free Library Commission WLA 125 Lutie Stearns Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries Wisconsin Historical Society WAAL caly film Library e COLAND Zona Gale Gerald A. Somers Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries Inform Wisconsin Matthew S. Dudgeon Library History I Love Libraries Events background Marjorie Sornson Malmberg 27 Brown Deer Public Library anniversaries cam Lutie Eugenia Stearns bookworm Historical Register Campaign Milwaukee Art Museum Delia Ovitz Ripon Public Library Campaign White House Conference on Library and Information Services Wisconsin Library Trustees and Friends Public library systems Public libraries DeForest Area Public Library campa T. B. Scott Free Public Library 20 Hall of Fame 2013 28 Hall of Fame 2015 Orrilla Blackshear Edward Asahel Birge Wisconsin Literary Travel Guide Eager Free Public Library Kimberly-Little Chute Public Library Campaign Oshkosh Public Library Library People Middleton Public Library Jane K. Billings Irene W. Newman Marketing-Publicity books-by-mail Clinton Public Library Increase A. Lapham Elroy Public Library McMillan Memorial Library 10 caly film Hall of Fame 2012 Hall of Fame 2008 Wisconsin State Normal School-Milwaukee Postcards Milwaukee Public Library library legislation Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries Hall of Fame 2015 Ice Storm Woman's Congress Peter G. Hamon Library people Postcards Postcards archives John Miller Chancellor Wisconsin State Law Library Gilbert H. Doane Library Buildings Wilbur Lyle Eberhart WLA 125 S. Janice Kee library education Wisconsin Rapids state historical society hall of Centennial Katharine MacDonald Jones School of Library and Information Studies Sarah Janice Kee Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries Rusk County Community Library Events & Meetings UW-Milwaukee Libraries Suring Area Public Library Wisconsin Library Bulletin Manitowoc Public Library American Library Association Library War Service campaign 22 Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries Hall of Fame 2009 campaign Hall of Fame 2011 Hall Postcards Library people Library Systems Meter mail slogans UW-Milwaukee School of Information Studies traveling libraries Black River Falls Public Library Hall of Fame 2015 Amer American Library Association Milwaukee Public Library National Library Week Eratus Swift Wilcox Anniversaries Pinback buttons Academic Librarians Governor's Conference on Library and Information Services Bernard Schwab James Duane Doty Hall of Fame 2012 Dorothea M. Krause presentations Exhibits Richard E. Krug Cam Clarence Brown Lester library memorabilia library exhibit William J. Wilson School libraries ca Frank Avery Hutchins WWI Library War Service Events & Meetings Wisconsin Library Heritage Center Library Artifacts Hartford Public Library State Law Library Dianne McAfee Hopkins trav 21 Special libraries Public libraries Gertrude Thurow World War I J. D. Witter Hall of Fame 2010 Beaver Dam Public Library Parcel post Digital Collections Academic Libraries Hall of Fame 2015 Library Trustees Hall of Fame 2012 Carl Spitzweg Pewaukee Public Library Hall of Fame 2014 Wayne A. Wiegand Bookmobiles Wisconsin Association of Academic Librarians 23 Campaing for Wisconsin Libraries campaign Madison Public Library Wisconsin Free Library Commission Publications Buttons membership libraries Appleton Public Library Klaus Linderfelt Library celebrations Brown Deer Public Library Cornelia Marving Pierce UW-Madison school of library and information studies Nolan I. Neds CCBC Charles Bunge

Wisconsin Library Association Foundation Logo