Wisconsin Library Heritage Center

The Wisconsin Library Heritage Center is a program of the Wisconsin Library Association Foundation promoting understanding and appreciation of the history of libraries and librarianship in Wisconsin.

Sandra (Sandy) Friedman Dolnick, 2017 Library Hall of Fame Inductee

Posted by Larry Nix
Larry Nix
Larry Nix has not set their biography yet
User is currently offline
on Tuesday, October 17, 2017 in Hall of Fame
Sandy Dolnick will be inducted into the Wisconsin Library Hall of Fame at the Wisconsin Library Association annual meeting in Wisconsin Dells on October 19, 2017.  
dolnick-blog-72Sandra (Sandy) Friedman Dolnick (1936-2016), a Milwaukee native, became an extraordinarily effective advocate for libraries during the last quarter of the 20th century.  Her efforts started out unassumingly as a member of the Friends of the Whitefish Bay Public Library. She was actively involved in the Friends of Wisconsin Libraries (FOWL) which was founded on April 21, 1963. FOWL was dedicated to promoting the formation of local chapters in support of local libraries and to working on the state level to improve statewide library services.  FOWL later merged with the Wisconsin Library Association Trustees Division to form the Library Trustees & Friends Division.  Building on the friends of libraries experience in Wisconsin Dolnick proposed in 1975 the idea of uniting library friends groups throughout the United States with the publication of a newsletter to share best practices. At that time, she served on a Friends Committee within the Library Leadership and Management Association of the American Library Association (ALA).  With the assistance of ALA, she subsequently surveyed all known library friends groups in the U.S.  Her newsletter became so successful that it led to the founding of Friends of Libraries USA (FOLUSA) in 1979. Dolnick served as the executive director of FOLUSA for 23 years, during which time she established strong partnerships with publishers and corporate sponsors.  She retired as executive director in 2002.  In 2009 FOLUSA merged with the American Library Association and became United for Libraries: Association of Trustees, Advocates, Friends and Foundations. Dolnick was also a member of the Milwaukee Booksellers, now the Friends of the Milwaukee Public Library, and served as its president.  
Sandra Friedman Dolnick was born Nov. 26, 1936 in Milwaukee. A first generation American, she was brought up with a strong work ethic and sense of community service. She attended Campus School, Riverside High School and the University of Wisconsin. In 1957 she married Lee Dolnick, a young media executive, and raised four daughters while volunteering for school and local library functions. She later remarried and relocated to Philadelphia, PA. She died on Dec. 11, 2016 at the age of 80.
This Hall of Fame entry has been adapted from an article in “The Wisconsin Jewish Chronicle” dated Dec. 23, 2016.


No comments made yet. Be the first to submit a comment

Leave your comment

Guest Tuesday, January 16, 2018


Popular Tags

WLA 125 Black River Falls Cam Wisconsin Literary Travel Guide Cornelia Marving Pierce Kimberly-Little Chute Public Library Public libraries Gilbert H. Doane Pewaukee Public Library S. Janice Kee Black River Falls Public Library archives Marketing-Publicity books-by-mail Events & Meetings Hall of Fame 2011 Library e UW-Madison school of library and information studies Edward Asahel Birge Bookmobiles Sarah Janice Kee Hall of Fame 2016 Louise S. Robbins 21 Peter G. Hamon 14 campaign Marjorie Sornson Malmberg Jerome P. Daniels UW-Milwaukee Libraries Hall of Fame 2015 Hall of Fame 2017 anniversaries Eratus Swift Wilcox library education Public libraries Beaver Dam Public Library Wayne A. Wiegand Carnegie libraries Campaign Digital Collections Hall of Fame 2013 background Wisconsin Historical Society Woman's Congress Milwaukee Public Library Katharine MacDonald Jones Hall of Fame 2008 Anniversaries Library People Matthew S. Dudgeon 10 Buttons Hall of Fame 2014 WWI Library War Service Larry T. Nix Ruth Ann Montgomery Brown Deer Public Library 23 Publications James Huff Stout Lutie Eugenia Stearns trav UW-Milwaukee School of Information Studies 24 ca 20 CCBC Nolan I. Neds World War I traveling libraries State Law Library state historical society Orrilla Blackshear Hall of Fame 2010 Brown County Library Zona Gale buil Special libraries James Duane Doty Milwaukee Public Library Wisconsin Rapids Campaign Suring Area Public Library caly film Library people Postcards Hall of Fame 2009 Postcards Anniversaries Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries Centennial Ripon Public Library Wisconsin State Law Library Lowell W. Wilson Library celebrations WLA 125 Wisconsin Free Library Commission Gertrude Thurow Oshkosh Public Library Rusk County Community Library membership libraries Hall of Fame 2012 Library people Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries bed and breakfast Ruby Roeder Pinback buttons 11 hall of Wisconsin Library Trustees and Friends DeForest Area Public Library Elroy Public Library John Miller Chancellor 28 Frank Avery Hutchins Middleton Public Library Postcards Library Trustees Amer Wilbur Lyle Eberhart Clinton Public Library Milwaukee Art Museum Hartford Public Library Jane K. Billings Library History Parcel post Klaus Linderfelt Events Wisconsin State Normal School-Milwaukee Charles Bunge Ice Storm WHCLIS Wisconsin Library Bulletin Wisconsin Library Heritage Center Lutie Stearns WAAL cam Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries I Love Libraries Wisconsin Free Library Commission library memorabilia Clarence Brown Lester T. B. Scott Free Public Library Richard E. Krug Manitowoc Public Library Hall of Fame 2015 White House Conference on Library and Information Services Meter mail slogans Library Buildings Eager Free Public Library William J. Wilson Tower Hill Wisconsin Historical Register Bernard Schwab Sandra Friedman Dolnick Library Systems WLA 125 Inform Wisconsin Gerald A. Somers Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries Public library systems campa Hall John J. Jax Dianne McAfee Hopkins Academic Librarians Hall of Fame 2015 Superior Carnegie Libraries Madison Public Library Brown Deer Public Library Hall of Fame 2012 Exhibits Irene W. Newman Postcards Council on Library and Network Development Wisconsin Library Association Evansville Wisconsin Carl Spitzweg J. D. Witter National Bookmobile Day Dorothea M. Krause Appleton Public Library Cooperative Children's Book Center library legislation Soughton Public Library WLA 125 Capitol Fire 1904 McMillan Memorial Library campaign caly film Delia Ovitz 22 COLAND Library Artifacts School of Library and Information Studies Academic Libraries Campaing for Wisconsin Libraries Hall fo Fame 2012 Events & Meetings library exhibit School libraries Hall of Fame 2015 People National Library Week 27 Uncategorized Wisconsin Association of Academic Librarians Portage Public Library Library Buidlings Governor's Conference on Library and Information Services presentations Hall of Fame 2015 campaign Campaign bookworm American Library Association Library War Service Hall of Fame 2012 caly film American Library Association Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries Association of Library Trustees Advocates and Friends Increase A. Lapham Beloit Public Library

Wisconsin Library Association Foundation Logo