Wisconsin Library Heritage Center

The Wisconsin Library Heritage Center is a program of the Wisconsin Library Association Foundation promoting understanding and appreciation of the history of libraries and librarianship in Wisconsin.

Richard E. Krug (1905 -1983)

Posted by Larry T. Nix
Larry T. Nix
Larry T. Nix has not set their biography yet
User is currently offline
on Friday, October 19, 2012 in Hall of Fame

Richard KrugRichard E. Krug served as city librarian of the Milwaukee Public Library from 1941 to 1974. During his long tenure as city librarian he transformed the library system. His accomplishments included construction of a major addition to the central library and a reorganization of the system’s branch libraries. Under his leadership the library began the use of data processing in 1947. As city librarian he strongly defended intellectual freedom. He was instrumental in developing the Charles Allis Art Library. He served as President of the Wisconsin Library Association in 1946-1947. He received WLA’s Special Service Award in 1974. The Krug Rare Book Room in the Central Library of the Milwaukee Public Library is named in honor of Krug and his wife Lucile. Krug received both his bachelor's degree (1927) and his law degree (1929) from the University of Wisconsin - Madison. He started as the municipal reference librarian at the Milwaukee Public Library in 1930 and became assistant City librarian in 1939. Krug was inducted into the Wisconsin Library Hall of Fame on October 25, 2012.

Further reading: Ring, Daniel F. "Richard Krug: The Bookman as a Librarian" Libraries & Culture, vol. 29, no. 3 (1994: 257-272.


No comments made yet. Be the first to submit a comment

Leave your comment

Guest Thursday, January 23, 2020


Popular Tags

Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries Superior Carnegie Libraries Association of Library Trustees Advocates and Friends Wisconsin Library Association Zona Gale Postcards Klaus Linderfelt presentations Hall of Fame 2012 Madison Public Library Milwaukee Public Library UW-Milwaukee School of Information Studies Meter mail slogans Special libraries Irene W. Newman Richard J. Sorensen Dianne McAfee Hopkins Hall of Fame 2015 Library Trustees Campaign bed and breakfast Wilbur Lyle Eberhart Nolan I. Neds Carl Spitzweg Inform Wisconsin Hall of Fame 2012 Richard E. Krug Hall of Fame 2015 Campaing for Wisconsin Libraries Buttons Peter G. Hamon Hall of Fame 2017 cam Tower Hill Wisconsin Cooperative Children's Book Center Publications library exhibit Matthew S. Dudgeon library education UW-Madison school of library and information studies Wayne A. Wiegand Historical Register World War I buil membership libraries Campaign Woman's Congress Brown County Library Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries Events Marjorie Sornson Malmberg T. B. Scott Free Public Library Wisconsin State Law Library People Hall fo Fame 2012 Portage Public Library 23 Postcards Katharine MacDonald Jones DeForest Area Public Library Carnegie libraries Wisconsin Federation of Women's Clubs Louise S. Robbins School of Library and Information Studies James Duane Doty caly film library legislation Library people Postcards John J. Jax Black River Falls Kimberly-Little Chute Public Library Hall of Fame 2015 Ice Storm ca State Law Library Library e WLA 125 Hall of Fame 2010 Hall of Fame 2013 background American Library Association National Library Week Wisconsin Free Library Commission WHCLIS Eager Free Public Library 11 Digital Collections Dick Sorensen CCBC library memorabilia Wisconsin Historical Society Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries Wisconsin Rapids Library people caly film Ripon Public Library 10 Bookmobiles Lutie Stearns Hall of Fame 2018 campaign Wisconsin Library Heritage Center Orrilla Blackshear Brown Deer Public Library Uncategorized Library Buildings I Love Libraries Eratus Swift Wilcox Frank Avery Hutchins Jerome P. Daniels campaign Pewaukee Public Library Library Systems Wisconsin Literary Travel Guide traveling libraries UW-Milwaukee Libraries WLA 125 Bernard Schwab Library Artifacts trav 22 John Miller Chancellor Hartford Public Library Gerald A. Somers Wisconsin Association of Academic Librarians 27 Hall of Fame 2019 Public libraries archives Clinton Public Library anniversaries Appleton Public Library Robert Bocher McMillan Memorial Library Clarence Brown Lester Hall of Fame 2012 Hall of Fame 2009 Hall Academic Librarians Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries School libraries Amer Suring Area Public Library Lowell W. Wilson Lucy E. Smith Morris Marketing-Publicity WLA 125 Brown Deer Public Library campaign Cam Soughton Public Library Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries White House Conference on Library and Information Services Library People Events & Meetings hall of Middleton Public Library Anniversaries Larry T. Nix COLAND WWI Library War Service 28 Charles Bunge Governor's Conference on Library and Information Services Lutie Eugenia Stearns Hall of Fame 2016 Academic Libraries Wisconsin Library Bulletin James Huff Stout Bob Bochfer Wisconsin Library Trustees and Friends Delia Ovitz National Bookmobile Day S. Janice Kee Manitowoc Public Library Hall of Fame 2015 Library celebrations Elroy Public Library campa Library History Jane K. Billings bookworm Events & Meetings Wisconsin Free Library Commission J. D. Witter Ruth Ann Montgomery Hall of Fame 2014 Sarah Janice Kee WAAL Nancy Marshall Dick Sorensen Rusk County Community Library Oshkosh Public Library 20 Public libraries Dorothea M. Krause Milwaukee Art Museum WLA 125 Campaign Council on Library and Network Development Anniversaries Beaver Dam Public Library Milwaukee Public Library Beloit Public Library Hall of Fame 2015 Gilbert H. Doane 24 Evansville Wisconsin Library Buidlings Capitol Fire 1904 American Library Association Library War Service Hall of Fame 2011 Ruby Roeder Increase A. Lapham Public library systems 21 William J. Wilson Gertrude Thurow caly film Exhibits Wisconsin State Normal School-Milwaukee 14 Sandra Friedman Dolnick Pinback buttons books-by-mail Hall of Fame 2018 Helen Adams Postcards Centennial Parcel post Cornelia Marving Pierce Hall of Fame 2008 Black River Falls Public Library state historical society Edward Asahel Birge

Wisconsin Library Association Foundation Logo