Wisconsin Library Heritage Center

The Wisconsin Library Heritage Center is a program of the Wisconsin Library Association Foundation promoting understanding and appreciation of the history of libraries and librarianship in Wisconsin.

Reuben Gold Thwaites (1853-1913)

Posted by Larry Nix
Larry Nix
Larry Nix has not set their biography yet
User is currently offline
on Friday, February 13, 2009 in Hall of Fame


Reuben Gold Thwaites was inducted into the Wisconsin Library Hall of Fame in 2008. Thwaites was one of the founders of the Wisconsin Library Association in 1891. He served as President of WLA 1892-1894. Thwaites served as assistant to Lyman C. Draper, Secretary State Historical Society of Wisconsin from 1885 to 1887.  He became Secretary of the Historical Society after Draper's retirement in 1887, and served in that capacity until his death in 1913.  He served on the Wisconsin Free Library Commission from its inception in 1895 until 1913 in his capacity as Secretary of the Historical Society. He was elected President of the American Library Association in 1900. In 1951 he was one of 40 of America’s most significant library leaders selected by the Library Journal for inclusion in a “ Library Hall of Fame". He is listed in the Dictionary of American Library Biography and the Dictionary of Wisconsin History . The image of Thwaites is from the Wisconsin Historical Society’s Historical Image Collection  Image ID: 4158.


No comments made yet. Be the first to submit a comment

Leave your comment

Guest Tuesday, April 23, 2019


Popular Tags

Wisconsin Federation of Women's Clubs 23 Hall of Fame 2016 Uncategorized Jane K. Billings Hall of Fame 2015 Library People Exhibits 24 Rusk County Community Library Sandra Friedman Dolnick WAAL Inform Wisconsin Wisconsin Historical Society presentations J. D. Witter Parcel post James Huff Stout Hall fo Fame 2012 Postcards Suring Area Public Library caly film Zona Gale Hall of Fame 2013 caly film Marketing-Publicity Richard E. Krug Beaver Dam Public Library Oshkosh Public Library Elroy Public Library James Duane Doty membership libraries 10 Wisconsin State Normal School-Milwaukee Hall of Fame 2018 Frank Avery Hutchins National Library Week Carnegie libraries Hall Buttons Pinback buttons Portage Public Library Larry T. Nix Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries Ripon Public Library Wisconsin State Law Library Hall of Fame 2012 Events World War I White House Conference on Library and Information Services Milwaukee Public Library Hall of Fame 2008 American Library Association Library War Service Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries Postcards Hall of Fame 2015 21 McMillan Memorial Library WLA 125 Evansville Wisconsin Edward Asahel Birge Capitol Fire 1904 Centennial campa Wisconsin Library Association Governor's Conference on Library and Information Services Events & Meetings Wilbur Lyle Eberhart Ice Storm Academic Librarians Brown Deer Public Library T. B. Scott Free Public Library Public libraries Beloit Public Library Wisconsin Association of Academic Librarians Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries People archives ca Clarence Brown Lester Ruby Roeder Cooperative Children's Book Center Soughton Public Library Library e library education bed and breakfast Library Trustees Milwaukee Art Museum WLA 125 Louise S. Robbins Library Systems Amer anniversaries Cornelia Marving Pierce CCBC Lucy E. Smith Morris campaign Eratus Swift Wilcox Events & Meetings Public library systems Hall of Fame 2012 Dianne McAfee Hopkins Hall of Fame 2010 Hall of Fame 2011 Public libraries Jerome P. Daniels Sarah Janice Kee Library celebrations Woman's Congress Hall of Fame 2017 Campaing for Wisconsin Libraries Gertrude Thurow Superior Carnegie Libraries Orrilla Blackshear Association of Library Trustees Advocates and Friends S. Janice Kee Marjorie Sornson Malmberg Library people Postcards UW-Milwaukee Libraries WWI Library War Service Gerald A. Somers Hall of Fame 2018 Irene W. Newman John J. Jax Council on Library and Network Development Wayne A. Wiegand Cam Lowell W. Wilson cam UW-Madison school of library and information studies Nolan I. Neds Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries state historical society Increase A. Lapham Lutie Eugenia Stearns Helen Adams books-by-mail Black River Falls Public Library 11 Special libraries Hartford Public Library School libraries Wisconsin Free Library Commission Middleton Public Library Meter mail slogans library exhibit State Law Library American Library Association Campaign Postcards Ruth Ann Montgomery Bob Bochfer Wisconsin Library Heritage Center I Love Libraries Madison Public Library Wisconsin Free Library Commission Bookmobiles Charles Bunge Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries 14 library legislation Wisconsin Literary Travel Guide Milwaukee Public Library Brown Deer Public Library William J. Wilson Pewaukee Public Library Hall of Fame 2015 Robert Bocher campaign hall of library memorabilia Gilbert H. Doane trav Campaign Library people bookworm Library Buidlings Carl Spitzweg Matthew S. Dudgeon Digital Collections WLA 125 traveling libraries Hall of Fame 2012 Anniversaries 20 Academic Libraries Eager Free Public Library Hall of Fame 2015 Library Artifacts Hall of Fame 2014 UW-Milwaukee School of Information Studies Kimberly-Little Chute Public Library 28 Historical Register Dorothea M. Krause Lutie Stearns Appleton Public Library Hall of Fame 2015 Campaign John Miller Chancellor Peter G. Hamon Hall of Fame 2009 COLAND Clinton Public Library Manitowoc Public Library 22 campaign Publications Klaus Linderfelt Wisconsin Rapids DeForest Area Public Library background caly film School of Library and Information Studies Anniversaries Wisconsin Library Trustees and Friends Library Buildings National Bookmobile Day Bernard Schwab Black River Falls Delia Ovitz Brown County Library WLA 125 Library History WHCLIS Tower Hill Wisconsin Katharine MacDonald Jones buil Wisconsin Library Bulletin 27

Wisconsin Library Association Foundation Logo