Wisconsin Library Heritage Center

The Wisconsin Library Heritage Center is a program of the Wisconsin Library Association Foundation promoting understanding and appreciation of the history of libraries and librarianship in Wisconsin.

Railroad car library

Posted by Larry T. Nix
Larry T. Nix
Larry T. Nix has not set their biography yet
User is currently offline
on Saturday, March 28, 2009 in Library buildings


The Wisconsin Historical Society has many physical and digital resources of interest and value to the library history buff.  A fellow library history buff made me aware of an image (Image ID 4293) in the Historical Society's digital collection that pictured a railroad car library.  The location of the railroad car library was given as "probably in the Madison area".  However, in searching another digital collection of the Historical Society (Wisconsin Local History & Biography Articles), I came across an article in the October 30, 1938 issue of the Milwaukee Journal that told the story behind the railroad car library.  According to the article, the library was located in Adams, Wisconsin, and the car was donated by the North Western Railroad at the request of the Adams Library Association (a membership library) in 1929. By 1937, the library had 2,088 books that were supplemented with 2,000 more from the state library commission.  The city of Adams was only providing $314 a year to support the library. Today, Adams is home to the Adams County Public Library, a much more substantial library. Dan Calef, Director of the Adams County Public Library, is a Founding Contributor of the Wisconsin Library Heritage Center. Thanks Dan. 


No comments made yet. Be the first to submit a comment

Leave your comment

Guest Thursday, November 21, 2019


Popular Tags

Hall of Fame 2008 Hall of Fame 2019 Helen Adams Library Trustees Historical Register Academic Librarians Beaver Dam Public Library state historical society Special libraries caly film Milwaukee Art Museum Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries Sandra Friedman Dolnick Soughton Public Library Events & Meetings buil Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries Bernard Schwab Academic Libraries People Middleton Public Library Edward Asahel Birge Postcards Hall Library People Nancy Marshall Brown County Library Wisconsin Rapids WLA 125 Wayne A. Wiegand campaign Marjorie Sornson Malmberg 28 Association of Library Trustees Advocates and Friends Campaign Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries UW-Madison school of library and information studies State Law Library Oshkosh Public Library 24 American Library Association Library War Service Appleton Public Library Capitol Fire 1904 Bob Bochfer Matthew S. Dudgeon Ruth Ann Montgomery 23 Madison Public Library WWI Library War Service Council on Library and Network Development WHCLIS ca John Miller Chancellor Library people White House Conference on Library and Information Services Library History Wisconsin Association of Academic Librarians books-by-mail Public library systems School libraries Evansville Wisconsin DeForest Area Public Library Hall of Fame 2012 Irene W. Newman Library celebrations Meter mail slogans Campaing for Wisconsin Libraries Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries John J. Jax cam Lowell W. Wilson library legislation COLAND Frank Avery Hutchins Library Buidlings Nolan I. Neds Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries Hall of Fame 2012 Hall of Fame 2013 Elroy Public Library Cooperative Children's Book Center Hall of Fame 2009 library exhibit 21 Peter G. Hamon Hall of Fame 2014 World War I Wisconsin Library Trustees and Friends Digital Collections Campaign Kimberly-Little Chute Public Library Gilbert H. Doane National Bookmobile Day Orrilla Blackshear 27 Events & Meetings American Library Association Superior Carnegie Libraries Buttons Pewaukee Public Library J. D. Witter Postcards Library e Beloit Public Library Carnegie libraries Dianne McAfee Hopkins Dick Sorensen Woman's Congress Robert Bocher Bookmobiles Wisconsin Historical Society WLA 125 Events traveling libraries Klaus Linderfelt Eratus Swift Wilcox Lucy E. Smith Morris Postcards campa WAAL Milwaukee Public Library Black River Falls Public Library Lutie Stearns Governor's Conference on Library and Information Services James Huff Stout Marketing-Publicity Clarence Brown Lester Milwaukee Public Library S. Janice Kee Rusk County Community Library Jerome P. Daniels Publications Exhibits Richard J. Sorensen Cam Tower Hill Wisconsin bookworm Hall fo Fame 2012 Centennial WLA 125 Jane K. Billings 22 Hall of Fame 2012 William J. Wilson Delia Ovitz Ripon Public Library Katharine MacDonald Jones Brown Deer Public Library T. B. Scott Free Public Library James Duane Doty Richard E. Krug Suring Area Public Library Gerald A. Somers Sarah Janice Kee Louise S. Robbins membership libraries Manitowoc Public Library 11 Hartford Public Library Hall of Fame 2010 Ice Storm Lutie Eugenia Stearns Pinback buttons Hall of Fame 2018 library memorabilia Carl Spitzweg Library Buildings Wisconsin Free Library Commission library education Hall of Fame 2015 Charles Bunge background Anniversaries UW-Milwaukee Libraries presentations WLA 125 Clinton Public Library Brown Deer Public Library Wisconsin Library Heritage Center Portage Public Library archives Wisconsin Free Library Commission caly film trav Cornelia Marving Pierce Campaign Library Artifacts Gertrude Thurow 20 Wisconsin State Law Library Uncategorized Library people Postcards Public libraries Inform Wisconsin caly film Zona Gale School of Library and Information Studies Hall of Fame 2016 Wisconsin State Normal School-Milwaukee Library Systems Black River Falls 10 National Library Week Wilbur Lyle Eberhart bed and breakfast Dick Sorensen Ruby Roeder Hall of Fame 2015 Hall of Fame 2018 Wisconsin Literary Travel Guide Dorothea M. Krause Hall of Fame 2017 Eager Free Public Library UW-Milwaukee School of Information Studies Wisconsin Library Bulletin campaign Increase A. Lapham Hall of Fame 2015 anniversaries I Love Libraries Hall of Fame 2015 Hall of Fame 2015 Anniversaries Parcel post Amer campaign McMillan Memorial Library 14 Wisconsin Federation of Women's Clubs Hall of Fame 2011 Larry T. Nix hall of Public libraries CCBC Wisconsin Library Association

Wisconsin Library Association Foundation Logo