Wisconsin Library Heritage Center

The Wisconsin Library Heritage Center is a program of the Wisconsin Library Association Foundation promoting understanding and appreciation of the history of libraries and librarianship in Wisconsin.

Plymouth's Carnegie

Posted by Larry Nix
Larry Nix
Larry Nix has not set their biography yet
User is currently offline
on Wednesday, October 28, 2009 in Carnegie libraries






plymouth-portrait-72.jpgTwo communities in Sheboygan County received grants from Andrew Carnegie for public library buildings. Unlike the City of Sheboygan, the City of Plymouth chose to preserve and incorporate its Carnegie building into a new expanded
Plymouth Public Library. The Carnegie building is preserved in its entirety with a major 1988 addition at the rear of the building. The City of Plymouth received its $10,000 Carnegie grant in 1908, but the building was not completed until 1915. The addition was added to the building in 1988. The main entrance to the expanded building is located at 130 Division Street but the Carnegie building faces E. North Main Street. The Wisconsin Historical Society has determined that the building is eligible to be added to the National Register of Historic Places. There is a Wisconsin Architecture and History Inventory (AHI) record for the building. Search under Sheboygan County for Plymouth Public Library. The building is listed on the Wisconsin Library Heritage Trail.


No comments made yet. Be the first to submit a comment

Leave your comment

Guest Tuesday, November 21, 2017


Popular Tags

White House Conference on Library and Information Services Sandra Friedman Dolnick library exhibit Jane K. Billings John J. Jax Gilbert H. Doane Irene W. Newman Zona Gale Anniversaries Hall of Fame 2015 American Library Association archives Association of Library Trustees Advocates and Friends COLAND background Wisconsin State Normal School-Milwaukee McMillan Memorial Library Evansville Wisconsin Klaus Linderfelt Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries Gertrude Thurow Academic Libraries CCBC buil Jerome P. Daniels Clarence Brown Lester Peter G. Hamon Katharine MacDonald Jones Marketing-Publicity Lutie Eugenia Stearns hall of Hall of Fame 2015 Richard E. Krug 22 Superior Carnegie Libraries World War I Black River Falls Parcel post Hall of Fame 2013 Soughton Public Library Library Artifacts WLA 125 library education Cam campaign Wisconsin Library Heritage Center membership libraries Hall of Fame 2012 campa T. B. Scott Free Public Library Kimberly-Little Chute Public Library Library Systems 20 Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries WHCLIS library memorabilia Hall of Fame 2015 caly film Hall of Fame 2012 23 James Huff Stout Amer Brown Deer Public Library Buttons Wilbur Lyle Eberhart Larry T. Nix Digital Collections Madison Public Library 24 Wisconsin Free Library Commission Hall of Fame 2009 Ruby Roeder Eager Free Public Library Milwaukee Art Museum Historical Register Appleton Public Library Hall of Fame 2016 Governor's Conference on Library and Information Services Wisconsin State Law Library Hall of Fame 2017 Hall of Fame 2014 state historical society Public libraries Centennial 11 Gerald A. Somers Ripon Public Library Exhibits 14 traveling libraries 27 campaign library legislation Hall of Fame 2012 Campaign Postcards Public library systems UW-Milwaukee Libraries Uncategorized WAAL Library History Beaver Dam Public Library Inform Wisconsin Library Trustees Cornelia Marving Pierce School of Library and Information Studies 21 Beloit Public Library Hall fo Fame 2012 Eratus Swift Wilcox Library e I Love Libraries School libraries Matthew S. Dudgeon Woman's Congress Elroy Public Library Anniversaries Orrilla Blackshear Wisconsin Library Bulletin Lowell W. Wilson Wisconsin Free Library Commission Wisconsin Library Association Wisconsin Historical Society Charles Bunge Academic Librarians Library people Postcards Capitol Fire 1904 Oshkosh Public Library Special libraries Sarah Janice Kee Meter mail slogans Postcards presentations Frank Avery Hutchins Ruth Ann Montgomery Lutie Stearns Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries Brown Deer Public Library Events WLA 125 Pewaukee Public Library James Duane Doty Wisconsin Library Trustees and Friends William J. Wilson Pinback buttons Black River Falls Public Library Public libraries Middleton Public Library Publications Edward Asahel Birge 10 Ice Storm DeForest Area Public Library Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries trav Louise S. Robbins American Library Association Library War Service campaign Delia Ovitz State Law Library Portage Public Library Library Buildings Milwaukee Public Library Wayne A. Wiegand National Bookmobile Day Council on Library and Network Development UW-Milwaukee School of Information Studies J. D. Witter Hall of Fame 2015 Brown County Library anniversaries Campaign Wisconsin Rapids Milwaukee Public Library WLA 125 Nolan I. Neds Marjorie Sornson Malmberg Library Buidlings Cooperative Children's Book Center 28 Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries S. Janice Kee WWI Library War Service Rusk County Community Library UW-Madison school of library and information studies caly film Wisconsin Literary Travel Guide books-by-mail caly film bookworm bed and breakfast Tower Hill Wisconsin Carl Spitzweg Postcards cam WLA 125 Library People Bernard Schwab Hall of Fame 2011 Campaing for Wisconsin Libraries Manitowoc Public Library Library celebrations Events & Meetings Hall of Fame 2015 Wisconsin Association of Academic Librarians Hall of Fame 2010 ca Events & Meetings Increase A. Lapham Hall of Fame 2008 Bookmobiles National Library Week Dianne McAfee Hopkins Hall Dorothea M. Krause Campaign Suring Area Public Library John Miller Chancellor Carnegie libraries People Library people Hartford Public Library Clinton Public Library

Wisconsin Library Association Foundation Logo