Wisconsin Library Heritage Center

The Wisconsin Library Heritage Center is a program of the Wisconsin Library Association Foundation promoting understanding and appreciation of the history of libraries and librarianship in Wisconsin.

Orrilla Thompson Blackshear (1904- 1994)

Posted by Larry Nix
Larry Nix
Larry Nix has not set their biography yet
User is currently offline
on Wednesday, October 12, 2011 in Hall of Fame

blackshear-72.jpgOrrilla T. Blackshear is one of seven individuals who will be inducted into the Wisconsin Library Hall of Fame on November 3, 2011 at the Awards and Honors Banquet during the Wisconsin Library Association Conference in Milwaukee. Blackshear was a public library leader and a major promoter of Wisconsin’s literary heritage. She held important administrative positions at the Wisconsin Free Library Commission and the Madison Public Library. She was the compiler of Wisconsin Authors and Their Books 1836-1975, a landmark publication about Wisconsin’s literary heritage. Blackshear served as President of the Wisconsin Library Association in 1960-61 and was designated as WLA Librarian of the Year in 1962. Blackshear was a high school teacher and librarian in Ripon, Wisconsin (1937-40), Librarian of the Ripon Public Library (1940-45), and Librarian of the Beaver Dam Public Library (1945-47). From 1947 to 1957 she was a public library consultant and later head of the Traveling Library for the Wisconsin Free Library Commission. Simultaneous with those jobs at the WFLC she was editor of the Wisconsin Library Bulletin. In 1957 she became Assistant Director of the Madison Public Library, a position she held until 1967. She was then hired by the University of Wisconsin Library School to work on a special grant project. Blackshear was born in Otsego, WI in 1904. She received her BS in Library Science from the University of Illinois in 1943.


No comments made yet. Be the first to submit a comment

Leave your comment

Guest Tuesday, September 26, 2017


Popular Tags

WHCLIS Wisconsin Free Library Commission Library people Postcards 20 Portage Public Library 14 Campaign Zona Gale library exhibit Superior Carnegie Libraries Library People Hall of Fame 2013 Library e books-by-mail Uncategorized COLAND Oshkosh Public Library World War I Gertrude Thurow caly film Wisconsin Association of Academic Librarians WLA 125 Delia Ovitz library memorabilia Postcards Amer Council on Library and Network Development Governor's Conference on Library and Information Services School libraries Hall of Fame 2015 Wisconsin Library Association caly film Lutie Eugenia Stearns Digital Collections Wisconsin Library Heritage Center anniversaries bed and breakfast CCBC Hall of Fame 2012 American Library Association Library War Service Hall of Fame 2015 Hall of Fame 2010 Events Hall of Fame 2011 Nolan I. Neds background Parcel post Hall of Fame 2014 buil Academic Libraries Ice Storm 28 Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries Beloit Public Library Jerome P. Daniels Peter G. Hamon Hall of Fame 2015 Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries Clarence Brown Lester National Bookmobile Day S. Janice Kee Woman's Congress Marjorie Sornson Malmberg campaign Frank Avery Hutchins Sarah Janice Kee Wilbur Lyle Eberhart Soughton Public Library Wisconsin Rapids Tower Hill Wisconsin Dianne McAfee Hopkins Manitowoc Public Library Hall of Fame 2009 Hall of Fame 2012 Brown Deer Public Library Wayne A. Wiegand Gerald A. Somers campaign Publications Association of Library Trustees Advocates and Friends Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries Postcards WLA 125 Special libraries Madison Public Library campaign Library people Matthew S. Dudgeon caly film WLA 125 Edward Asahel Birge campa Library Trustees 21 Anniversaries Public library systems Katharine MacDonald Jones trav DeForest Area Public Library Anniversaries Brown County Library Irene W. Newman Carnegie libraries library legislation Cooperative Children's Book Center UW-Milwaukee School of Information Studies Klaus Linderfelt John Miller Chancellor Suring Area Public Library Black River Falls Milwaukee Public Library McMillan Memorial Library library education Public libraries J. D. Witter hall of Campaign Events & Meetings Wisconsin State Normal School-Milwaukee membership libraries Wisconsin State Law Library Marketing-Publicity Academic Librarians traveling libraries Exhibits Ruth Ann Montgomery Cam bookworm Library Artifacts Bookmobiles Orrilla Blackshear 22 Charles Bunge Campaign Cornelia Marving Pierce Larry T. Nix Brown Deer Public Library Hall 27 Wisconsin Free Library Commission 10 Appleton Public Library T. B. Scott Free Public Library Library Buildings WAAL UW-Milwaukee Libraries William J. Wilson Dorothea M. Krause State Law Library Jane K. Billings UW-Madison school of library and information studies Wisconsin Historical Society WLA 125 National Library Week Evansville Wisconsin Hall fo Fame 2012 Wisconsin Library Bulletin Rusk County Community Library James Duane Doty Hartford Public Library Pinback buttons Postcards Library History state historical society WWI Library War Service American Library Association Public libraries Eratus Swift Wilcox ca Events & Meetings presentations Pewaukee Public Library Milwaukee Art Museum Wisconsin Library Trustees and Friends archives 24 School of Library and Information Studies Hall of Fame 2012 Increase A. Lapham Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries Hall of Fame 2008 White House Conference on Library and Information Services Inform Wisconsin Buttons Historical Register Campaing for Wisconsin Libraries Meter mail slogans Clinton Public Library Kimberly-Little Chute Public Library 11 Hall of Fame 2015 Richard E. Krug James Huff Stout Lutie Stearns Carl Spitzweg Capitol Fire 1904 Library Systems Gilbert H. Doane Elroy Public Library Hall of Fame 2015 Wisconsin Literary Travel Guide Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries Centennial Library Buidlings Milwaukee Public Library I Love Libraries Ripon Public Library Middleton Public Library Bernard Schwab Beaver Dam Public Library Library celebrations Hall of Fame 2016 Eager Free Public Library Black River Falls Public Library cam 23 People

Wisconsin Library Association Foundation Logo