Wisconsin Library Heritage Center

The Wisconsin Library Heritage Center is a program of the Wisconsin Library Association Foundation promoting understanding and appreciation of the history of libraries and librarianship in Wisconsin.

One of Seven Sisters in Merrill, WI

Posted by Larry Nix
Larry Nix
Larry Nix has not set their biography yet
User is currently offline
on Wednesday, November 02, 2011 in Postcards


merrill-frieze-detail-72.JPGMy wife and I installed the exhibit "Andrew Carnegie's Wisconsin Library Legacy" early this week at the T. B. Scott Free Library in Merrill, Wisconsin. The exhibit is sponsored by the Wisconsin Library Heritage Center. This year is the 100th anniversary of the opening of the Carnegie library building in Merrill. A major addition to the building was completed in 2001. The integration of the older building with the new addition has been done remarkably well. The original Carnegie building was designed by the
architectural firm of Claude & Starck in the Prairie School style pioneered by Louis Sullivan and Frank Lloyd Wright. The Claude & Starck firm which designed over 40 libraries employed the Prairies School style in a number of them. Seven of those library buildings have been referred to as the "seven sisters" because they share as a design element an ornamental frieze designed (or based on a design) by Sullivan. Wisconsin is the location of four of the seven sisters (Barron, Evansville, Merrill, and Tomah). The others are located in Rochelle, IL, Detroit Lakes, MN, and Hoquiam, WA. The T. B. Scott Free Library has conducted a number of activities to celebrate the centennial of its building during 2011. On Nov. 6, Ellsworth Brown, Director of the Wisconsin Historical Society will make a presentation at the library titled "Andrew Carnegie: The Great Library Benefactor's Life & Mission". It's really great to have the Carnegie exhibit in a Carnegie library building. The exhibit will continue through the end of the year. (This post is also being published on the Library History Buff Blog)

Comment disabled by author.


Popular Tags

Postcards Wisconsin Free Library Commission Parcel post Special libraries Suring Area Public Library Richard E. Krug Public libraries Library people American Library Association Hall of Fame 2012 Jane K. Billings Brown Deer Public Library Hall of Fame 2016 Eager Free Public Library 23 World War I Library People Beaver Dam Public Library background T. B. Scott Free Public Library Hall of Fame 2015 WHCLIS White House Conference on Library and Information Services Pewaukee Public Library 11 Library History Rusk County Community Library Anniversaries School libraries library legislation Governor's Conference on Library and Information Services Hall of Fame 2014 Brown County Library McMillan Memorial Library Digital Collections Gerald A. Somers 22 Library Buidlings Events & Meetings Events & Meetings presentations Meter mail slogans S. Janice Kee Hall of Fame 2012 Frank Avery Hutchins Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries archives Association of Library Trustees Advocates and Friends Wisconsin Association of Academic Librarians Library Buildings bookworm Peter G. Hamon Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries Wisconsin Library Association Delia Ovitz Clinton Public Library Matthew S. Dudgeon Katharine MacDonald Jones Library Trustees WLA 125 library education Wisconsin Library Trustees and Friends Increase A. Lapham membership libraries Wisconsin Library Heritage Center 21 CCBC Black River Falls Public Library cam Clarence Brown Lester Kimberly-Little Chute Public Library Uncategorized Postcards Larry T. Nix Carnegie libraries anniversaries Amer Wisconsin State Law Library Madison Public Library Anniversaries Brown Deer Public Library Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries Hall J. D. Witter Appleton Public Library Gertrude Thurow Oshkosh Public Library WLA 125 National Library Week Hall of Fame 2015 Eratus Swift Wilcox Wilbur Lyle Eberhart WLA 125 Hartford Public Library Zona Gale UW-Milwaukee School of Information Studies Library e Manitowoc Public Library WWI Library War Service Hall of Fame 2009 Sarah Janice Kee Ice Storm Library Systems Exhibits Soughton Public Library WLA 125 caly film campaign Historical Register Bernard Schwab James Duane Doty Public library systems Gilbert H. Doane Superior Carnegie Libraries Tower Hill Wisconsin Library people Postcards Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries Campaign Publications WAAL library exhibit DeForest Area Public Library Portage Public Library Academic Libraries Campaing for Wisconsin Libraries Pinback buttons Dianne McAfee Hopkins caly film School of Library and Information Studies William J. Wilson Postcards Ruth Ann Montgomery American Library Association Library War Service Dorothea M. Krause ca Academic Librarians Carl Spitzweg Library Artifacts Wisconsin Rapids Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries Orrilla Blackshear 28 Middleton Public Library Capitol Fire 1904 COLAND Nolan I. Neds Lutie Eugenia Stearns Evansville Wisconsin State Law Library 24 hall of Charles Bunge Wayne A. Wiegand I Love Libraries Cam Beloit Public Library Council on Library and Network Development Hall of Fame 2012 bed and breakfast 27 campa People buil Inform Wisconsin Hall of Fame 2015 20 Events traveling libraries Marketing-Publicity Hall of Fame 2013 James Huff Stout Public libraries Wisconsin Literary Travel Guide John Miller Chancellor Klaus Linderfelt Hall of Fame 2010 Milwaukee Public Library Milwaukee Art Museum Hall of Fame 2015 Hall of Fame 2015 Ripon Public Library National Bookmobile Day UW-Milwaukee Libraries Woman's Congress Wisconsin State Normal School-Milwaukee 10 library memorabilia Marjorie Sornson Malmberg Wisconsin Free Library Commission Edward Asahel Birge Jerome P. Daniels books-by-mail Wisconsin Library Bulletin Elroy Public Library trav Lutie Stearns Campaign Hall of Fame 2011 UW-Madison school of library and information studies Irene W. Newman Centennial Bookmobiles Hall fo Fame 2012 Hall of Fame 2008 Library celebrations campaign Milwaukee Public Library caly film 14 Black River Falls campaign Wisconsin Historical Society Campaign Cooperative Children's Book Center Buttons Cornelia Marving Pierce state historical society

Wisconsin Library Association Foundation Logo