Wisconsin Library Heritage Center

The Wisconsin Library Heritage Center is a program of the Wisconsin Library Association Foundation promoting understanding and appreciation of the history of libraries and librarianship in Wisconsin.

Norman D. Bassett (1891-1980)

Posted by Larry Nix
Larry Nix
Larry Nix has not set their biography yet
User is currently offline
on Tuesday, October 11, 2011 in Hall of Fame

bassett-small-96.JPGNorman D. "Smiley" Bassett is one of seven individuals who will be inducted into the Wisconsin Library Hall of Fame on November 3, 2011 at the Awards and Honors Banquet during the Wisconsin Library Association Conference in Milwaukee. Bassett became the owner and first president of Demco Library Supplies, Inc. (now DEMCO) in 1931 after the former Library Supplies Department separated from the Democrat Printing Company in Madison, Wisconsin. Bassett had been in charge of the Library Supplies Department at the Democrat Printing Company starting in 1925. A hallmark of Bassett’s leadership of one of the nation’s premier library supply companies was his close relationship with the library community and his commitment to helping libraries carry out their mission more effectively. Bassett was an active member of both the Wisconsin Library Association and the American Library Association. He was Chair of WLA’s Scholarship Committee. In that capacity he instituted an auction of books autographed by prominent authors to raise funds for WLA’s Scholarship Fund. At Demco, Bassett started a free magazine for librarians named Demcourier which existed from 1931 to 1943. Bassett stepped down from the presidency of Demco in 1959 but continued to play an important role in the company until 1968. He launched the Bassett Foundation in 1954 and left $4.5 million to charities when he died in 1980.

Reference: Olderman, Raymond M. Honoring A Century of Service: The Story of Librarians & DEMCO 1905-2005 (DEMCO, 2005).


No comments made yet. Be the first to submit a comment

Leave your comment

Guest Tuesday, May 23, 2017


Popular Tags

Matthew S. Dudgeon Events & Meetings 27 James Duane Doty library legislation Peter G. Hamon 20 bookworm Wisconsin Free Library Commission Eager Free Public Library UW-Milwaukee School of Information Studies Larry T. Nix American Library Association Wisconsin Rapids Pewaukee Public Library J. D. Witter Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries 11 state historical society Middleton Public Library Rusk County Community Library Public libraries Dianne McAfee Hopkins Tower Hill Wisconsin Superior Carnegie Libraries Wayne A. Wiegand Black River Falls Public Library John Miller Chancellor School libraries Hall of Fame 2013 Manitowoc Public Library Hartford Public Library Hall of Fame 2009 Milwaukee Public Library Woman's Congress School of Library and Information Studies Uncategorized caly film Evansville Wisconsin Cam Edward Asahel Birge Wisconsin Library Bulletin White House Conference on Library and Information Services Eratus Swift Wilcox Bookmobiles Lutie Eugenia Stearns presentations background Brown Deer Public Library Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries Cooperative Children's Book Center Library people membership libraries Hall of Fame 2011 Campaign Postcards Hall of Fame 2016 Campaign library memorabilia campaign Hall of Fame 2012 Hall of Fame 2008 Publications Campaing for Wisconsin Libraries Library Buildings campa Anniversaries Library Trustees Nolan I. Neds campaign Wisconsin Association of Academic Librarians Kimberly-Little Chute Public Library Increase A. Lapham Academic Libraries Pinback buttons Ripon Public Library traveling libraries Gerald A. Somers Brown Deer Public Library 28 Cornelia Marving Pierce Library e anniversaries library exhibit Academic Librarians Clarence Brown Lester books-by-mail Digital Collections Wisconsin Library Trustees and Friends Hall of Fame 2015 library education National Bookmobile Day Meter mail slogans Lutie Stearns 10 Hall of Fame 2012 Milwaukee Art Museum National Library Week Zona Gale American Library Association Library War Service WLA 125 Campaign S. Janice Kee WLA 125 UW-Madison school of library and information studies Katharine MacDonald Jones Marjorie Sornson Malmberg Brown County Library Public library systems Postcards Ruth Ann Montgomery World War I DeForest Area Public Library Library people Postcards Orrilla Blackshear James Huff Stout 22 Special libraries Suring Area Public Library Capitol Fire 1904 Carnegie libraries Inform Wisconsin Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries Ice Storm Carl Spitzweg Wilbur Lyle Eberhart trav Hall of Fame 2015 Wisconsin Literary Travel Guide Richard E. Krug Hall of Fame 2015 People Dorothea M. Krause Hall fo Fame 2012 Historical Register Library History William J. Wilson Beaver Dam Public Library Elroy Public Library 14 caly film Soughton Public Library 24 Hall of Fame 2015 Beloit Public Library Wisconsin Free Library Commission Marketing-Publicity Anniversaries Public libraries Parcel post Events Hall UW-Milwaukee Libraries Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries Hall of Fame 2010 WAAL Library Artifacts Hall of Fame 2015 COLAND Hall of Fame 2012 Jerome P. Daniels Exhibits Wisconsin Historical Society Sarah Janice Kee Library Buidlings WLA 125 Library People Association of Library Trustees Advocates and Friends ca Gertrude Thurow Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries Milwaukee Public Library McMillan Memorial Library Oshkosh Public Library Charles Bunge Irene W. Newman I Love Libraries Black River Falls CCBC Wisconsin State Normal School-Milwaukee campaign Library celebrations Delia Ovitz WLA 125 cam Wisconsin State Law Library Gilbert H. Doane hall of bed and breakfast 23 Centennial Events & Meetings archives Appleton Public Library Bernard Schwab Buttons Frank Avery Hutchins Madison Public Library Governor's Conference on Library and Information Services State Law Library WWI Library War Service Council on Library and Network Development WHCLIS Klaus Linderfelt Clinton Public Library Jane K. Billings Hall of Fame 2014 Library Systems T. B. Scott Free Public Library Amer caly film 21 Postcards Portage Public Library buil Wisconsin Library Association Wisconsin Library Heritage Center

Wisconsin Library Association Foundation Logo