Wisconsin Library Heritage Center

The Wisconsin Library Heritage Center is a program of the Wisconsin Library Association Foundation promoting understanding and appreciation of the history of libraries and librarianship in Wisconsin.

Nolan I. Neds (1921-2006), 2014 WI Library Hall of Fame Inductee

Posted by Larry Nix
Larry Nix
Larry Nix has not set their biography yet
User is currently offline
on Tuesday, October 07, 2014 in Hall of Fame
Nolan NedsNolan I. Neds was inducted into the Wisconsin Library Hall of Fame on November 6, 2014 at the Wisconsin Library Association Conference in Wisconsin Dells. Neds served as Supervisor of Neighborhood Libraries and Extension and as Deputy City Librarian of the Milwaukee Public Library (1965-1982).  He was a champion of library service to the underserved in Milwaukee County, the state, and the nation. He was active in the Wisconsin Library Association and served as President (1970-1971) during a critical period for state library legislation and funding. He implemented an innovative Community Librarian Program at the Milwaukee Public Library.
A native of Columbus, Ohio, Neds graduated from Ohio State University and received a Master’s degree in library science from Western Reserve University in Cleveland, OH. During World War II he served in the Army in India and Burma. He joined the Milwaukee Public Library in 1951. He served as a State Chairman of National Library Week. He received the Librarian of the Year award in 1971 from the Bookfellows, Friends of the Milwaukee Public Library. His WLA activities included service on the WLA Scholarship Committee and serving as Local Arrangements Chairperson for WLA Conferences. In an article in the Wisconsin Library Bulletin for Winter 1984 Neds reviewed the extensive outreach activities of the Milwaukee Public Library.


No comments made yet. Be the first to submit a comment

Leave your comment

Guest Tuesday, July 25, 2017


Popular Tags

Milwaukee Art Museum trav Wisconsin Historical Society Delia Ovitz 10 Black River Falls Hall of Fame 2012 Zona Gale National Bookmobile Day Library Artifacts Jerome P. Daniels WLA 125 Kimberly-Little Chute Public Library Campaign 22 Increase A. Lapham Hartford Public Library campa buil caly film membership libraries Library Trustees John Miller Chancellor Milwaukee Public Library Jane K. Billings Campaing for Wisconsin Libraries Centennial Library Buidlings Hall of Fame 2009 WAAL Brown County Library Campaign library memorabilia Buttons Wilbur Lyle Eberhart Gerald A. Somers Cooperative Children's Book Center Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries Dorothea M. Krause Capitol Fire 1904 Hall of Fame 2015 Black River Falls Public Library Portage Public Library campaign Irene W. Newman state historical society American Library Association Library War Service UW-Madison school of library and information studies White House Conference on Library and Information Services National Library Week ca WWI Library War Service Brown Deer Public Library Ice Storm James Huff Stout Orrilla Blackshear Hall of Fame 2013 Hall of Fame 2012 Marjorie Sornson Malmberg McMillan Memorial Library Soughton Public Library caly film Wisconsin State Law Library 21 S. Janice Kee books-by-mail Sarah Janice Kee Hall of Fame 2015 cam Pewaukee Public Library Wisconsin State Normal School-Milwaukee Wisconsin Library Bulletin Events & Meetings Publications Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries Dianne McAfee Hopkins Hall of Fame 2012 Postcards Wisconsin Free Library Commission School of Library and Information Studies Hall of Fame 2016 Library Systems Uncategorized Edward Asahel Birge Bernard Schwab Library e Manitowoc Public Library Exhibits Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries Academic Libraries Library People Marketing-Publicity James Duane Doty Superior Carnegie Libraries Public libraries Wisconsin Free Library Commission Public library systems T. B. Scott Free Public Library Lutie Eugenia Stearns campaign library education traveling libraries 14 Hall of Fame 2008 Campaign Hall of Fame 2014 State Law Library William J. Wilson Meter mail slogans library legislation bookworm Middleton Public Library Beloit Public Library Charles Bunge Eratus Swift Wilcox UW-Milwaukee Libraries Gilbert H. Doane Katharine MacDonald Jones WLA 125 Wayne A. Wiegand Carnegie libraries American Library Association Rusk County Community Library Ripon Public Library DeForest Area Public Library Elroy Public Library J. D. Witter UW-Milwaukee School of Information Studies Historical Register campaign Appleton Public Library 23 Anniversaries Matthew S. Dudgeon WLA 125 Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries 24 Evansville Wisconsin Library Buildings Suring Area Public Library Hall of Fame 2015 Amer CCBC School libraries Peter G. Hamon Tower Hill Wisconsin People Events & Meetings Events hall of Carl Spitzweg Milwaukee Public Library Klaus Linderfelt Anniversaries 28 11 library exhibit anniversaries Nolan I. Neds Public libraries Richard E. Krug Hall of Fame 2015 Association of Library Trustees Advocates and Friends Clinton Public Library Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries presentations Oshkosh Public Library Wisconsin Rapids Academic Librarians Woman's Congress caly film 27 Wisconsin Association of Academic Librarians 20 Hall of Fame 2015 Wisconsin Library Heritage Center Digital Collections COLAND I Love Libraries Special libraries Beaver Dam Public Library Gertrude Thurow Lutie Stearns Council on Library and Network Development Hall of Fame 2010 Hall World War I Madison Public Library Ruth Ann Montgomery Library people Postcards Brown Deer Public Library Larry T. Nix background Pinback buttons Library History Hall of Fame 2011 Clarence Brown Lester Inform Wisconsin Hall fo Fame 2012 WLA 125 Wisconsin Literary Travel Guide Bookmobiles archives Governor's Conference on Library and Information Services Postcards bed and breakfast Cornelia Marving Pierce Wisconsin Library Association Library celebrations Parcel post Wisconsin Library Trustees and Friends Postcards Frank Avery Hutchins Cam Eager Free Public Library Library people WHCLIS

Wisconsin Library Association Foundation Logo