Wisconsin Library Heritage Center

The Wisconsin Library Heritage Center is a program of the Wisconsin Library Association Foundation promoting understanding and appreciation of the history of libraries and librarianship in Wisconsin.

Milwaukee-Downer College

Posted by Larry T. Nix
Larry T. Nix
Larry T. Nix has not set their biography yet
User is currently offline
on Monday, February 02, 2009 in Academic libraries


Milwaukee-Downer College, one of Wisconsin's historic colleges, ceased to exist as a separate institution in 1964 when it became part of Lawrence University. Milwaukee-Downer College was created in 1895 when Milwaukee Female College (founded in 1851) merged with Downer College (founded as Wisconsin Female College in 1855). The former campus of Milwaukee-Downer College along with the Chapman Memorial Library building was sold to the University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee in 1964.  The Lawrence University webpage for Milwaukee-Downer College is located here.

The former Chapman Memorial Library building of Milwaukee-Downer College is now Chapman Hall on the UW-Milwaukee campus and houses administrative offices. The library was built in 1937 from the bequest of Alice Greenwood Chapman,a graduate of Milwaukee Female College. The Teakwood Room in the library was moved to the Lawrence University campus along with library's rare book collection which is now housed in the Milwaukee-Downer Room of the Seeley G. Mudd Library.

Digital images of Milwaukee-Downer College including the Chapman Memorial Library are included in the Lawrence University Archives which are located here. The postcard image of the Reference Room of Chapman Memorial Library at the top of this page is part of Larry T. Nix's postcard collection. 

pc-wi-downer2-72.jpgThis postcard was mailed in 1907 and shows an interior view of the library building which preceded the Chapman Memorial Library. 


No comments made yet. Be the first to submit a comment

Leave your comment

Guest Sunday, December 08, 2019


Popular Tags

Dick Sorensen Amer ca Wisconsin Association of Academic Librarians Cam Brown Deer Public Library Uncategorized Hall of Fame 2018 caly film White House Conference on Library and Information Services Campaign Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries 10 Matthew S. Dudgeon Clinton Public Library anniversaries James Duane Doty bookworm Carl Spitzweg School of Library and Information Studies Hall of Fame 2009 Wisconsin Library Bulletin Lowell W. Wilson hall of Hall of Fame 2015 Ice Storm 27 Jerome P. Daniels campaign Louise S. Robbins Ripon Public Library Hall of Fame 2012 Hall of Fame 2011 library exhibit campa Hall of Fame 2015 Ruth Ann Montgomery Katharine MacDonald Jones WLA 125 Tower Hill Wisconsin Zona Gale Academic Librarians Milwaukee Art Museum Meter mail slogans American Library Association Library War Service Inform Wisconsin Portage Public Library Dorothea M. Krause Events & Meetings Wisconsin Library Association Black River Falls School libraries Cornelia Marving Pierce Wisconsin State Law Library Academic Libraries Hall of Fame 2012 Wisconsin Rapids Wisconsin Free Library Commission Hall of Fame 2015 caly film Pewaukee Public Library Capitol Fire 1904 Hall of Fame 2015 22 cam Hall of Fame 2008 Hall fo Fame 2012 COLAND Wilbur Lyle Eberhart Milwaukee Public Library Centennial Soughton Public Library Irene W. Newman Charles Bunge Events Public library systems archives Dick Sorensen Library Trustees State Law Library Library e Campaing for Wisconsin Libraries Brown Deer Public Library Marketing-Publicity Brown County Library library memorabilia presentations Oshkosh Public Library Postcards Sandra Friedman Dolnick Gertrude Thurow Eager Free Public Library Peter G. Hamon Library Artifacts UW-Milwaukee School of Information Studies Hall of Fame 2010 Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries World War I Suring Area Public Library WHCLIS UW-Milwaukee Libraries Edward Asahel Birge Richard E. Krug Increase A. Lapham Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries Hall of Fame 2015 Manitowoc Public Library Library Buidlings WLA 125 WLA 125 American Library Association Sarah Janice Kee Buttons Clarence Brown Lester Elroy Public Library 24 Campaign state historical society Parcel post Wisconsin Historical Society Wisconsin Federation of Women's Clubs WAAL Dianne McAfee Hopkins Library History National Bookmobile Day campaign library legislation Postcards Carnegie libraries Cooperative Children's Book Center John J. Jax Jane K. Billings Public libraries 14 Hall of Fame 2013 J. D. Witter Hall of Fame 2014 Orrilla Blackshear Digital Collections library education John Miller Chancellor Wisconsin State Normal School-Milwaukee Wayne A. Wiegand 28 Larry T. Nix I Love Libraries Anniversaries Hall of Fame 2018 Hall of Fame 2019 Hartford Public Library Bernard Schwab Lucy E. Smith Morris Publications Library people National Library Week Ruby Roeder caly film Rusk County Community Library Madison Public Library traveling libraries 20 DeForest Area Public Library Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries Nancy Marshall Gerald A. Somers Anniversaries Delia Ovitz Special libraries Library Buildings 21 UW-Madison school of library and information studies Superior Carnegie Libraries Hall of Fame 2017 Black River Falls Public Library Middleton Public Library Bookmobiles William J. Wilson Governor's Conference on Library and Information Services buil Wisconsin Free Library Commission WWI Library War Service Bob Bochfer Appleton Public Library Wisconsin Library Heritage Center bed and breakfast Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries S. Janice Kee 11 Robert Bocher Historical Register Beloit Public Library People Lutie Eugenia Stearns books-by-mail WLA 125 Hall Woman's Congress CCBC Gilbert H. Doane Exhibits Association of Library Trustees Advocates and Friends Postcards membership libraries Library celebrations Richard J. Sorensen Beaver Dam Public Library Evansville Wisconsin Hall of Fame 2016 Eratus Swift Wilcox Marjorie Sornson Malmberg Council on Library and Network Development Klaus Linderfelt Public libraries trav McMillan Memorial Library campaign Events & Meetings Campaign Hall of Fame 2012 Library Systems James Huff Stout Helen Adams Nolan I. Neds Milwaukee Public Library Library people Postcards Pinback buttons Library People Wisconsin Library Trustees and Friends background Wisconsin Literary Travel Guide Kimberly-Little Chute Public Library Frank Avery Hutchins Lutie Stearns 23 T. B. Scott Free Public Library

Wisconsin Library Association Foundation Logo