Wisconsin Library Heritage Center

The Wisconsin Library Heritage Center is a program of the Wisconsin Library Association Foundation promoting understanding and appreciation of the history of libraries and librarianship in Wisconsin.

Matthew Simpson Dudgeon (1871-1949)

Posted by Larry Nix
Larry Nix
Larry Nix has not set their biography yet
User is currently offline
on Thursday, October 01, 2009 in Hall of Fame

dudgeon.jpgMatthew S. Dudgeon was inducted into the Wisconsin Library Hall of Fame at the Wisconsin Library Association Conference in Appleton on October 22, 2009. Dudgeon served as Secretary of the Wisconsin Free Library Commission (WFLC) from 1909 until 1920. He implemented an innovative books by mail program in 1914 under new parcel post regulations of the Post Office Department. Dudgeon played an active role in the Library War Service of the American Library Association in World War I. He took a leave of absence from the WFLC to serve as director of domestic camp libraries for the Library War Service. In 1920 he was appointed director of the Milwaukee Public Library, a position he held for 21 years. Dudgeon served as President of the Wisconsin Library Association in 1921-1922. Prior to his library career he was an attorney and was elected to the office of district attorney for Dane County in 1898 and re-elected in 1900. He was elected to the Wisconsin Assembly in 1902. Dudgeon was born on June 15, 1871 in Madison, Wisconsin. He is included in the Dictionary of American Library Biography and the Wisconsin Dictionary of History.


No comments made yet. Be the first to submit a comment

Leave your comment

Guest Tuesday, January 16, 2018


Popular Tags

Cornelia Marving Pierce Beaver Dam Public Library James Huff Stout White House Conference on Library and Information Services Irene W. Newman Hall of Fame 2015 Historical Register Wisconsin Library Heritage Center cam Sandra Friedman Dolnick Wisconsin State Normal School-Milwaukee Frank Avery Hutchins Hall of Fame 2015 Sarah Janice Kee anniversaries Carl Spitzweg Milwaukee Public Library Increase A. Lapham Madison Public Library Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries Capitol Fire 1904 caly film Council on Library and Network Development Library people WWI Library War Service Library e library education Bookmobiles Centennial Clarence Brown Lester Library People Rusk County Community Library Wisconsin Rapids Hall of Fame 2010 Jerome P. Daniels Hall Academic Librarians campaign Wisconsin Library Trustees and Friends John Miller Chancellor Library Buildings campa presentations Orrilla Blackshear Library Trustees Postcards Soughton Public Library Gerald A. Somers 28 Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries Campaign Hall of Fame 2012 Buttons McMillan Memorial Library Ruby Roeder Matthew S. Dudgeon Brown Deer Public Library Association of Library Trustees Advocates and Friends Peter G. Hamon Marjorie Sornson Malmberg Bernard Schwab Pinback buttons COLAND Cooperative Children's Book Center Carnegie libraries Hall of Fame 2009 James Duane Doty Hall of Fame 2012 Amer Larry T. Nix Katharine MacDonald Jones T. B. Scott Free Public Library trav Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries Library History J. D. Witter traveling libraries Marketing-Publicity Wisconsin Association of Academic Librarians Uncategorized Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries Oshkosh Public Library Clinton Public Library Digital Collections Lutie Eugenia Stearns Ruth Ann Montgomery library exhibit Governor's Conference on Library and Information Services School libraries Hall of Fame 2011 20 American Library Association Hall of Fame 2013 John J. Jax UW-Milwaukee Libraries Gertrude Thurow Library Buidlings National Bookmobile Day Exhibits WLA 125 UW-Milwaukee School of Information Studies Library celebrations American Library Association Library War Service Klaus Linderfelt Anniversaries Kimberly-Little Chute Public Library Edward Asahel Birge Public library systems Wisconsin State Law Library Hall of Fame 2008 Black River Falls 27 library memorabilia People Tower Hill Wisconsin Library Systems Evansville Wisconsin 11 Eager Free Public Library Eratus Swift Wilcox Middleton Public Library WLA 125 caly film Elroy Public Library Anniversaries Inform Wisconsin WAAL Wisconsin Historical Society Milwaukee Public Library William J. Wilson books-by-mail Wisconsin Library Bulletin Dianne McAfee Hopkins library legislation Lutie Stearns campaign School of Library and Information Studies Manitowoc Public Library Events Woman's Congress Hall of Fame 2012 hall of Hall of Fame 2015 Public libraries Library Artifacts Pewaukee Public Library Cam Brown County Library Hall fo Fame 2012 Dorothea M. Krause bookworm 22 archives WHCLIS Brown Deer Public Library 14 Meter mail slogans WLA 125 Public libraries Campaign State Law Library Superior Carnegie Libraries 23 Appleton Public Library 24 Special libraries Suring Area Public Library Wisconsin Library Association Hall of Fame 2015 Wilbur Lyle Eberhart Postcards Hall of Fame 2016 state historical society campaign Charles Bunge Wisconsin Free Library Commission DeForest Area Public Library Campaing for Wisconsin Libraries Ripon Public Library Black River Falls Public Library CCBC Wisconsin Free Library Commission I Love Libraries WLA 125 membership libraries Nolan I. Neds background Hall of Fame 2014 World War I S. Janice Kee buil Milwaukee Art Museum Richard E. Krug Gilbert H. Doane Louise S. Robbins Library people Postcards Delia Ovitz Wisconsin Literary Travel Guide 10 Events & Meetings 21 Lowell W. Wilson caly film Events & Meetings Hall of Fame 2017 Portage Public Library Jane K. Billings Wayne A. Wiegand Zona Gale Ice Storm Publications Parcel post Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries Postcards UW-Madison school of library and information studies Beloit Public Library Hall of Fame 2015 Campaign Hartford Public Library National Library Week bed and breakfast Academic Libraries ca

Wisconsin Library Association Foundation Logo