Wisconsin Library Heritage Center

The Wisconsin Library Heritage Center is a program of the Wisconsin Library Association Foundation promoting understanding and appreciation of the history of libraries and librarianship in Wisconsin.

  • JUser: :_load: Unable to load user with id: 52

Mary Emogene Hazeltine (1868-1949)

Posted by
has not set their biography yet
User is currently offline
on Thursday, March 12, 2009 in Hall of Fame


Mary Emogene Hazeltine was inducted into the Wisconsin Library Hall of Fame in 2008. Hazeltine was the first head of the Wisconsin Library School established under the auspices of the Wisconsin Free Library Commission in 1906.  She served in this capacity until 1938. The school was the ninth library school established in the United States and one of six charter members of the Association of American Library Schools.  During her tenure as head of the library school she helped train over a thousand librarians. Prior to coming to Wisconsin in 1906, Hazeltine had directed the public library in Jamestown, New York and the summer library school in Chautauqua, New York.  She served as President of the New York Library Association in 1902.  After her retirement she returned to Jamestown, NY and volunteered as a reference librarian at the public library. She is the author of One Hundred Years of Wisconsin Authorship which was published in 1937. She was elected to the American Library Institute, a select organization of library leaders. In 1951 she was one of 40 of America’s most significant library leaders selected by the Library Journal for inclusion in a “ Library Hall of Fame". She is listed in the Dictionary of American Library Biography and the Dictionary of Wisconsin History.  The image is used with permission of the University of Wisconsin-Madison School of Library and Information Studies.


Aurélia Saturday, January 12, 2013

I have a postcard that was sent from Rio de Janeiro (Brazil) to Mrs. M. E. Hazeltine in 1923. The postcard was sent to the Wisconsin Library School. The signature on the postcard is M.E. D.

Leave your comment

Guest Wednesday, June 19, 2019


Popular Tags

Capitol Fire 1904 Sarah Janice Kee archives caly film Zona Gale Wisconsin State Law Library 24 Hall of Fame 2011 Digital Collections Portage Public Library 10 Hall of Fame 2018 CCBC Public library systems Hall of Fame 2012 Pinback buttons Library Artifacts Wisconsin Library Heritage Center Hall of Fame 2015 White House Conference on Library and Information Services Increase A. Lapham Nolan I. Neds Jane K. Billings Jerome P. Daniels Hall of Fame 2008 Anniversaries Wisconsin Library Association hall of Matthew S. Dudgeon Hall of Fame 2013 campaign Postcards Meter mail slogans Public libraries Wisconsin Historical Society Anniversaries library exhibit Milwaukee Public Library 11 14 Library people Postcards 23 Elroy Public Library National Bookmobile Day American Library Association Library War Service Campaign anniversaries Madison Public Library 28 Oshkosh Public Library Marjorie Sornson Malmberg Charles Bunge Wisconsin State Normal School-Milwaukee Wisconsin Rapids traveling libraries Library celebrations Parcel post Library Buidlings Beloit Public Library Library Systems Library People American Library Association William J. Wilson Campaign Milwaukee Public Library bookworm Inform Wisconsin background campaign Kimberly-Little Chute Public Library Hall of Fame 2015 cam Louise S. Robbins Library History UW-Madison school of library and information studies Evansville Wisconsin Appleton Public Library Frank Avery Hutchins WLA 125 Events & Meetings James Duane Doty membership libraries Lutie Stearns School of Library and Information Studies Council on Library and Network Development Sandra Friedman Dolnick Katharine MacDonald Jones Orrilla Blackshear Cam DeForest Area Public Library Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries Clinton Public Library Academic Libraries Brown Deer Public Library S. Janice Kee Centennial James Huff Stout UW-Milwaukee School of Information Studies Uncategorized Black River Falls Public libraries WWI Library War Service Hall of Fame 2018 Hall of Fame 2015 Hartford Public Library Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries library legislation Hall of Fame 2009 Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries books-by-mail Delia Ovitz Rusk County Community Library Lucy E. Smith Morris Library e World War I COLAND WHCLIS Amer Governor's Conference on Library and Information Services Ruth Ann Montgomery Bob Bochfer Special libraries Pewaukee Public Library Suring Area Public Library 21 Events Peter G. Hamon Brown Deer Public Library Dorothea M. Krause WLA 125 Cornelia Marving Pierce Academic Librarians Campaign Library Buildings Buttons T. B. Scott Free Public Library Lutie Eugenia Stearns Library Trustees 27 Hall of Fame 2012 Postcards Brown County Library Campaing for Wisconsin Libraries Soughton Public Library Woman's Congress Wisconsin Library Trustees and Friends Historical Register Hall of Fame 2017 National Library Week Milwaukee Art Museum People Eager Free Public Library Larry T. Nix Marketing-Publicity trav Gilbert H. Doane John J. Jax Gerald A. Somers Robert Bocher I Love Libraries 20 WLA 125 Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries Wisconsin Federation of Women's Clubs Ruby Roeder Superior Carnegie Libraries Library people Bernard Schwab presentations Exhibits Ripon Public Library Edward Asahel Birge Hall of Fame 2015 School libraries buil Richard E. Krug Gertrude Thurow Clarence Brown Lester Black River Falls Public Library Klaus Linderfelt Postcards caly film bed and breakfast Eratus Swift Wilcox Irene W. Newman Hall Wisconsin Library Bulletin Events & Meetings Wayne A. Wiegand Carl Spitzweg Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries Cooperative Children's Book Center Tower Hill Wisconsin Hall of Fame 2016 Ice Storm Wisconsin Association of Academic Librarians WLA 125 Bookmobiles campaign Wisconsin Free Library Commission library memorabilia state historical society Wisconsin Literary Travel Guide Publications Dianne McAfee Hopkins campa Carnegie libraries Hall of Fame 2015 Lowell W. Wilson Hall of Fame 2014 ca Association of Library Trustees Advocates and Friends library education Beaver Dam Public Library Manitowoc Public Library caly film Wilbur Lyle Eberhart State Law Library 22 McMillan Memorial Library J. D. Witter Hall fo Fame 2012 UW-Milwaukee Libraries Helen Adams Hall of Fame 2010 John Miller Chancellor Middleton Public Library Wisconsin Free Library Commission WAAL Hall of Fame 2012

Wisconsin Library Association Foundation Logo