Wisconsin Library Heritage Center

The Wisconsin Library Heritage Center is a program of the Wisconsin Library Association Foundation promoting understanding and appreciation of the history of libraries and librarianship in Wisconsin.

Marjorie Sornson Malmberg (1914-2004) 2015 Hall of Fame Inductee

Posted by Larry T. Nix
Larry T. Nix
Larry T. Nix has not set their biography yet
User is currently offline
on Monday, October 12, 2015 in Hall of Fame

malmbergMarjorie Sornson Malmberg was the first official legislative advocate and paid employee for the Wisconsin Library Association.  Taking a leave of absence from her job as Director of the Appleton Public Library, she served as WLA's executive secretary and legislative representative at a salary of $150 per month.  She played a pivotal role in the legislative battle for a bill to provide state aid for a bookmobile demonstration project during the 1949 Wisconsin legislative session.  According to Benton H. Wilcox in his 1966 history of the Wisconsin Library Association, "... Mrs. Malmberg, without any previous experience, almost by her own efforts ... secured passage of the bill through both houses of the legislature ... ." She later became one of the early directors of the Washington Office of the American Library Association (1950), where she again played a major role in securing funding for libraries. Prior to her work for WLA, she served as director of the Chippewa Falls and Viroqua public libraries.

Malmberg was born in Cushing, WI on October 28, 1914. She attended Superior Teacher’s College (1932-34), received her B.A. from the University of Wisconsin in 1936, and a B.S. (in library science) from the University of Minnesota in 1938. She served as director of the Viroqua Public Library (1938-1942), the Chippewa Public Library (1942-1946), and the Appleton Public Library (1946-1949).  After her service to the Wisconsin Library Association she and her husband moved to Big Island, Virginia. In 1950 she became Director of the Washington Office of the American Library Association. The Malmbergs moved to Toledo, Ohio in 1960 where Margie went to work for the Public Library of Toledo and Lucas County. She retired there in 1976. She is listed in Who’s Who in Library Service 2nd Edition, 1943.

For more on Malmberg and WLA's finest hour Click Here.


No comments made yet. Be the first to submit a comment

Leave your comment

Guest Sunday, August 18, 2019


Popular Tags

Peter G. Hamon Oshkosh Public Library Marketing-Publicity 28 John J. Jax Charles Bunge Kimberly-Little Chute Public Library Ruby Roeder Beloit Public Library 20 Nolan I. Neds Public libraries Superior Carnegie Libraries Events & Meetings Pinback buttons Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries Edward Asahel Birge Anniversaries membership libraries Eratus Swift Wilcox UW-Milwaukee Libraries Black River Falls School libraries Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries 11 Appleton Public Library Milwaukee Public Library S. Janice Kee Milwaukee Public Library Katharine MacDonald Jones WAAL American Library Association Library War Service Louise S. Robbins Hall of Fame 2012 Library Systems People Hall Clarence Brown Lester Capitol Fire 1904 Lowell W. Wilson WLA 125 WLA 125 Pewaukee Public Library World War I White House Conference on Library and Information Services 10 Soughton Public Library Public library systems 23 caly film Hall of Fame 2016 Robert Bocher Bernard Schwab Matthew S. Dudgeon Postcards Jerome P. Daniels Library Buidlings background library memorabilia campaign Campaign Hall of Fame 2014 Wisconsin Federation of Women's Clubs books-by-mail buil Wisconsin State Law Library Council on Library and Network Development campaign McMillan Memorial Library William J. Wilson Ice Storm Wisconsin State Normal School-Milwaukee James Huff Stout library education hall of Hall of Fame 2015 Publications Parcel post Dianne McAfee Hopkins Black River Falls Public Library Meter mail slogans Wisconsin Library Heritage Center Campaing for Wisconsin Libraries Library people Postcards Hall of Fame 2015 Marjorie Sornson Malmberg National Library Week Academic Libraries Hall of Fame 2012 UW-Madison school of library and information studies Hall of Fame 2008 Inform Wisconsin Milwaukee Art Museum Hall of Fame 2009 Gertrude Thurow Wisconsin Free Library Commission Larry T. Nix National Bookmobile Day WWI Library War Service I Love Libraries Gerald A. Somers Library Buildings Hall of Fame 2018 State Law Library Events Gilbert H. Doane Buttons 14 Rusk County Community Library bed and breakfast Library History Wisconsin Library Bulletin Hall of Fame 2012 Special libraries Campaign Dorothea M. Krause presentations UW-Milwaukee School of Information Studies Orrilla Blackshear Elroy Public Library library exhibit Carl Spitzweg 21 Hall of Fame 2011 campa Wisconsin Literary Travel Guide Hall fo Fame 2012 ca School of Library and Information Studies Cornelia Marving Pierce Hall of Fame 2018 John Miller Chancellor Wisconsin Association of Academic Librarians bookworm Wayne A. Wiegand Bob Bochfer Library People Manitowoc Public Library Evansville Wisconsin Anniversaries Hall of Fame 2013 Hall of Fame 2015 DeForest Area Public Library Wisconsin Free Library Commission Postcards Lucy E. Smith Morris Uncategorized Eager Free Public Library traveling libraries James Duane Doty Beaver Dam Public Library Digital Collections Campaign state historical society Ruth Ann Montgomery Events & Meetings campaign Academic Librarians Association of Library Trustees Advocates and Friends Library celebrations Middleton Public Library Delia Ovitz J. D. Witter T. B. Scott Free Public Library Richard E. Krug Bookmobiles Library Artifacts Cam Helen Adams Increase A. Lapham 24 Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries Ripon Public Library Hall of Fame 2010 Woman's Congress Klaus Linderfelt Carnegie libraries Lutie Stearns Centennial WLA 125 Library e Lutie Eugenia Stearns WLA 125 Sarah Janice Kee 22 cam Clinton Public Library 27 Exhibits Brown Deer Public Library Wisconsin Rapids Sandra Friedman Dolnick Wisconsin Historical Society Brown County Library Governor's Conference on Library and Information Services anniversaries Zona Gale Irene W. Newman Historical Register Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries Wisconsin Library Trustees and Friends Cooperative Children's Book Center Library people COLAND Wisconsin Library Association Suring Area Public Library archives caly film Hall of Fame 2015 library legislation caly film Portage Public Library Brown Deer Public Library Postcards Public libraries Amer Madison Public Library Jane K. Billings Tower Hill Wisconsin Hall of Fame 2015 trav Library Trustees CCBC WHCLIS Hall of Fame 2017 Wilbur Lyle Eberhart Hartford Public Library American Library Association Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries Frank Avery Hutchins

Wisconsin Library Association Foundation Logo