Wisconsin Library Heritage Center

The Wisconsin Library Heritage Center is a program of the Wisconsin Library Association Foundation promoting understanding and appreciation of the history of libraries and librarianship in Wisconsin.

Margie Malmberg and WLA's Finest Hour

Posted by Larry Nix
Larry Nix
Larry Nix has not set their biography yet
User is currently offline
on Saturday, February 06, 2010 in Library artifacts
malmberg-72.jpgOn February 16 the Wisconsin Library Association will hold its annual Library Legislative Day. For a little historical inspiration for this event, there is nothing as appropriate as the story of Margie Sornson Malmberg and the legislative battle for a bill to provide state aid for a bookmobile demonstration project during the 1949 Wisconsin legislative session. This story is well told in Benton H. Wilcox's The Wisconsin Library Association 1891-1966 (WLA, 1966).  Malmberg who was director of the Appleton Public Library from 1946 to 1949 took a leave of absence from her Appleton job to serve as WLA's executive secretary and legislative representative at the meager salary of $150 per month. According to Wilcox, "... Mrs. Malmberg, without any previous experience, almost by her own efforts ... secured passage of the bill through both houses of the legislature ... ." The bill, however, was vetoed by the Governor. Wilcox continues, "No one gave even an outside chance to the veto being overridden.  But Mrs. Malmberg would not give up. She worked tirelessly, buttonholing assemblymen and senators. ... When the legislature reconvened in September the day of decision came, the veto was overridden, and the Demonstration Bill became law. That, in the minds of many, was the Wisconsin Library Association's finest hour." The significance of this event was that it was the first time the State had appropriated direct support for community public library service.  The result of the legislation was the Door-Kewaunee Bookmobile Project which has been well documented by Christine Pawley. Prior to her service in Appleton, Malmberg (then Margie Sornson) served as librarian of the Chippewa Falls Public Library and the Viroqua Public Library. After her service to the Wisconsin Library Association she and her husband moved to Big Island, Virginia. In 1950, probably because of her legislative experience in Wisconsin, she was appointed Director of the Washington Office of the American Library Association. The Malmbergs moved to Toledo, Ohio in 1960 where Margie went to work for the Public Library of Toledo and Lucas County. She retired there in 1976. The picture of Margie Malmberg above is from the Toledo library's Images in Time digital collection (Object ID: 22342). Take some inspiration from Margie and attend WLA Library Legislative Day. It's not too late.


No comments made yet. Be the first to submit a comment

Leave your comment

Guest Sunday, May 28, 2017


Popular Tags

Campaign Events background campaign books-by-mail Bookmobiles WLA 125 Centennial WLA 125 Special libraries Library People Library people Postcards Soughton Public Library Library Buildings Frank Avery Hutchins Peter G. Hamon Clinton Public Library Elroy Public Library Exhibits Pinback buttons J. D. Witter Dorothea M. Krause Postcards Wisconsin Library Association Public library systems William J. Wilson Postcards COLAND Anniversaries American Library Association American Library Association Library War Service School of Library and Information Studies Richard E. Krug Hall of Fame 2012 Tower Hill Wisconsin 14 Cam National Library Week Amer 20 Larry T. Nix Jerome P. Daniels Black River Falls Public Library Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries UW-Madison school of library and information studies Rusk County Community Library Ripon Public Library Capitol Fire 1904 cam Inform Wisconsin 21 campa Wayne A. Wiegand WHCLIS Edward Asahel Birge People Hall fo Fame 2012 Hall of Fame 2008 Academic Librarians library legislation Library Buidlings library memorabilia Gerald A. Somers state historical society WLA 125 presentations Publications Portage Public Library Oshkosh Public Library Library History Katharine MacDonald Jones Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries Bernard Schwab WAAL Wisconsin Historical Society 22 Public libraries Orrilla Blackshear Events & Meetings Wisconsin Free Library Commission Governor's Conference on Library and Information Services bookworm Hall of Fame 2015 Sarah Janice Kee Cooperative Children's Book Center Dianne McAfee Hopkins Events & Meetings T. B. Scott Free Public Library UW-Milwaukee School of Information Studies Association of Library Trustees Advocates and Friends caly film National Bookmobile Day Hall of Fame 2015 Hall of Fame 2015 Wisconsin Free Library Commission 27 Milwaukee Public Library Klaus Linderfelt Brown Deer Public Library WWI Library War Service WLA 125 Hall of Fame 2014 James Duane Doty Eratus Swift Wilcox Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries Gilbert H. Doane UW-Milwaukee Libraries Wilbur Lyle Eberhart Gertrude Thurow 28 Wisconsin Library Heritage Center Library people Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries Library celebrations State Law Library Library Trustees 23 anniversaries Appleton Public Library Kimberly-Little Chute Public Library Carl Spitzweg Campaign Madison Public Library DeForest Area Public Library Charles Bunge Library e caly film I Love Libraries World War I Middleton Public Library Delia Ovitz Hall of Fame 2016 Ruth Ann Montgomery Black River Falls Hall of Fame 2013 bed and breakfast Clarence Brown Lester Cornelia Marving Pierce Woman's Congress Ice Storm Wisconsin Rapids Wisconsin Association of Academic Librarians Wisconsin State Law Library Postcards Hall of Fame 2015 10 Uncategorized caly film Library Artifacts 11 24 Public libraries Hartford Public Library Wisconsin Library Bulletin Brown Deer Public Library Suring Area Public Library Nolan I. Neds Lutie Eugenia Stearns traveling libraries library education Hall CCBC Council on Library and Network Development Brown County Library Milwaukee Art Museum Anniversaries Superior Carnegie Libraries Milwaukee Public Library Historical Register Eager Free Public Library Buttons Library Systems ca Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries Beloit Public Library Increase A. Lapham Wisconsin Library Trustees and Friends membership libraries trav Carnegie libraries Meter mail slogans buil Matthew S. Dudgeon Hall of Fame 2011 S. Janice Kee Lutie Stearns Hall of Fame 2009 Parcel post Hall of Fame 2015 Campaing for Wisconsin Libraries Zona Gale Hall of Fame 2012 Campaign White House Conference on Library and Information Services Manitowoc Public Library Irene W. Newman Evansville Wisconsin Marjorie Sornson Malmberg Beaver Dam Public Library Digital Collections campaign Wisconsin State Normal School-Milwaukee McMillan Memorial Library Academic Libraries James Huff Stout Marketing-Publicity archives Hall of Fame 2012 Wisconsin Literary Travel Guide library exhibit Hall of Fame 2010 School libraries Pewaukee Public Library Jane K. Billings hall of campaign John Miller Chancellor

Wisconsin Library Association Foundation Logo