Wisconsin Library Heritage Center

The Wisconsin Library Heritage Center is a program of the Wisconsin Library Association Foundation promoting understanding and appreciation of the history of libraries and librarianship in Wisconsin.

Margaret Ellen Monroe (1914-2004)

Posted by Larry Nix
Larry Nix
Larry Nix has not set their biography yet
User is currently offline
on Friday, October 02, 2009 in Hall of Fame

monroe2.jpgMargaret E. Monroe was inducted into the Wisconsin Library Hall of Fame at the Wisconsin Library Association Conference in Appleton on October 22, 2009. Monroe served as Professor and Director of the Library School (now the School of Library and Information Studies) at the University of Wisconsin – Madison from 1963 until 1970. In 1970 she returned to full time teaching at the library school. She retired as Professor Emeritus in 1981. Monroe was a national leader in adult services in libraries and in 1985 the American Library Association (ALA) created the Margaret E. Monroe Library Adult Services Award to honor individuals who have made significant contributions to library adult services. While Monroe was Director of the UW Library School, it initiated the Ph. D degree and an Advanced Studies Certificate. Major outside funding was received by the Library School for research on library services to adults. She was active in the Wisconsin Library Association and served as chair of the Wisconsin Public Library Association and the Intellectual Freedom Committee. She served on the Council of ALA and was a president of the Adult Services Division of ALA. She served as president of the Association of American Library Schools and was chair of the Committee on Accreditation of ALA. In 1972 she received the Award for Distinguished Service to Education for Librarianship.
Monroe was born in New York City. She received a bachelor’s degree in English and a bachelor’s degree in librarianship from New York State College in Albany. She received a master’s degree in English and a doctorate from Columbia University. She served in various capacities at the New York Public Library for thirteen years. She was on the faculty of the Graduate School of Library Science at Rutgers University before coming to Madison, Wisconsin. She died in Madison on May 21, 2004.


No comments made yet. Be the first to submit a comment

Leave your comment

Guest Friday, May 24, 2019


Popular Tags

Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries S. Janice Kee trav Cam hall of Woman's Congress Helen Adams COLAND Wisconsin Free Library Commission library education Kimberly-Little Chute Public Library Bob Bochfer Wisconsin Federation of Women's Clubs Hall of Fame 2011 Capitol Fire 1904 James Duane Doty Hartford Public Library Academic Librarians T. B. Scott Free Public Library 24 Charles Bunge Campaign background Jerome P. Daniels Library Systems Brown Deer Public Library American Library Association Amer 23 Exhibits Hall of Fame 2018 Nolan I. Neds Manitowoc Public Library Hall of Fame 2014 Eager Free Public Library library memorabilia Public library systems Hall I Love Libraries World War I Campaign Ice Storm Library people Postcards McMillan Memorial Library traveling libraries Robert Bocher Wisconsin Library Trustees and Friends campa Academic Libraries bookworm DeForest Area Public Library Cornelia Marving Pierce Hall of Fame 2009 UW-Madison school of library and information studies Hall fo Fame 2012 Wisconsin Historical Society Wisconsin State Normal School-Milwaukee White House Conference on Library and Information Services 20 Council on Library and Network Development Oshkosh Public Library People Eratus Swift Wilcox Sarah Janice Kee Lutie Stearns Public libraries Library e Pewaukee Public Library Bookmobiles bed and breakfast James Huff Stout 22 Historical Register Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries Library Buidlings Portage Public Library archives Uncategorized Carl Spitzweg Hall of Fame 2017 28 Middleton Public Library Orrilla Blackshear campaign School libraries Evansville Wisconsin Madison Public Library Hall of Fame 2012 14 American Library Association Library War Service Wisconsin Rapids Hall of Fame 2012 Peter G. Hamon Public libraries Bernard Schwab Library History Beloit Public Library John J. Jax Wisconsin Library Bulletin Hall of Fame 2010 Hall of Fame 2015 Larry T. Nix caly film Frank Avery Hutchins Wayne A. Wiegand Association of Library Trustees Advocates and Friends ca WHCLIS Tower Hill Wisconsin Gilbert H. Doane Katharine MacDonald Jones 11 Library Buildings Digital Collections John Miller Chancellor membership libraries Gertrude Thurow Rusk County Community Library Lowell W. Wilson Postcards J. D. Witter Black River Falls Public Library WLA 125 Campaign Events & Meetings Anniversaries books-by-mail Beaver Dam Public Library buil Hall of Fame 2015 Irene W. Newman Events & Meetings caly film Delia Ovitz 27 Governor's Conference on Library and Information Services WLA 125 Marjorie Sornson Malmberg Klaus Linderfelt Matthew S. Dudgeon Superior Carnegie Libraries Library Artifacts Brown County Library Inform Wisconsin Clinton Public Library campaign Pinback buttons Meter mail slogans UW-Milwaukee School of Information Studies Ruby Roeder Wisconsin Library Association Events Milwaukee Art Museum Zona Gale Hall of Fame 2015 Hall of Fame 2008 School of Library and Information Studies library legislation Library people Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries Publications Brown Deer Public Library Special libraries anniversaries UW-Milwaukee Libraries Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries Library Trustees Hall of Fame 2013 Sandra Friedman Dolnick Elroy Public Library State Law Library Soughton Public Library Wilbur Lyle Eberhart Milwaukee Public Library WLA 125 Campaing for Wisconsin Libraries Lutie Eugenia Stearns Hall of Fame 2018 Suring Area Public Library CCBC Jane K. Billings state historical society Wisconsin Association of Academic Librarians Hall of Fame 2015 WAAL Centennial Richard E. Krug Parcel post Carnegie libraries 10 21 presentations Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries cam Edward Asahel Birge Louise S. Robbins WWI Library War Service Dianne McAfee Hopkins library exhibit Milwaukee Public Library Marketing-Publicity National Library Week National Bookmobile Day Buttons Hall of Fame 2015 Anniversaries Hall of Fame 2012 William J. Wilson Clarence Brown Lester Postcards Gerald A. Somers caly film Wisconsin Literary Travel Guide Wisconsin Library Heritage Center Library People WLA 125 Cooperative Children's Book Center Lucy E. Smith Morris Increase A. Lapham Dorothea M. Krause campaign Black River Falls Wisconsin Free Library Commission Appleton Public Library Wisconsin State Law Library Hall of Fame 2016 Ripon Public Library Library celebrations Ruth Ann Montgomery Postcards

Wisconsin Library Association Foundation Logo