Wisconsin Library Heritage Center

The Wisconsin Library Heritage Center is a program of the Wisconsin Library Association Foundation promoting understanding and appreciation of the history of libraries and librarianship in Wisconsin.

Lyman Copeland Draper (1815-1891)

Posted by Larry Nix
Larry Nix
Larry Nix has not set their biography yet
User is currently offline
on Sunday, January 18, 2009 in Hall of Fame

draper-72.jpgLyman Copeland Draper was inducted into the Wisconsin Library Hall of Fame in 2008. Draper became corresponding secretary of the State Historical Society of Wisconsin in 1854, an office he held until 1886. In that capacity he was responsible for significantly increasing the size of the Society's library. He was elected State Superintendent of Public Instruction for the period 1858-1859. In that capacity he was instrumental in promoting the beginnings of the University of Wisconsin Library. He is listed in the Dictionary of American Library Biography and the Dictionary of Wisconsin History . An biographical article by William B. Hezzeltine appeared in the Spring 1952 issue of the Wisconsin Magazine of History. The image of Draper is from the Wisconsin Historical Society’s Historical Image Collection  Image ID: 2628.



No comments made yet. Be the first to submit a comment

Leave your comment

Guest Friday, November 24, 2017


Popular Tags

T. B. Scott Free Public Library Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries Clarence Brown Lester Eager Free Public Library Kimberly-Little Chute Public Library Sarah Janice Kee John Miller Chancellor Delia Ovitz Library History CCBC Gilbert H. Doane Campaign membership libraries Hall of Fame 2016 Postcards John J. Jax background 10 Hall of Fame 2014 Meter mail slogans Irene W. Newman Amer School of Library and Information Studies Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries hall of Bookmobiles Jane K. Billings American Library Association Library People anniversaries Campaign Hall of Fame 2015 Katharine MacDonald Jones Postcards Public libraries Soughton Public Library Public libraries Digital Collections Ruth Ann Montgomery Inform Wisconsin Bernard Schwab library legislation Edward Asahel Birge William J. Wilson Milwaukee Public Library Peter G. Hamon presentations Brown Deer Public Library Ruby Roeder 22 Hall of Fame 2011 Madison Public Library Campaign Superior Carnegie Libraries Evansville Wisconsin Cornelia Marving Pierce Hall of Fame 2015 Beaver Dam Public Library Appleton Public Library Nolan I. Neds Milwaukee Art Museum 23 Milwaukee Public Library Black River Falls Public Library COLAND Wisconsin Library Association Ice Storm caly film Eratus Swift Wilcox Rusk County Community Library Hall of Fame 2013 Hall of Fame 2010 Elroy Public Library Hall of Fame 2017 Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries archives 11 campaign Hall of Fame 2012 Library people Postcards 21 Hall fo Fame 2012 library education Marketing-Publicity Centennial cam Wisconsin State Normal School-Milwaukee 24 Marjorie Sornson Malmberg state historical society Hall of Fame 2015 Wisconsin State Law Library Anniversaries Wisconsin Library Heritage Center Manitowoc Public Library Historical Register Jerome P. Daniels Hall of Fame 2009 Exhibits Portage Public Library Suring Area Public Library Dorothea M. Krause National Library Week WAAL 20 Lutie Stearns Wisconsin Library Trustees and Friends Academic Libraries Academic Librarians books-by-mail Anniversaries Wisconsin Historical Society WWI Library War Service World War I Publications Uncategorized Middleton Public Library Richard E. Krug Library Artifacts Wisconsin Free Library Commission WHCLIS Hall Library celebrations UW-Madison school of library and information studies Council on Library and Network Development 28 library memorabilia School libraries Hall of Fame 2012 Pewaukee Public Library caly film Campaing for Wisconsin Libraries Cam Wisconsin Association of Academic Librarians Events & Meetings Wisconsin Rapids Brown Deer Public Library Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries People Brown County Library Matthew S. Dudgeon Louise S. Robbins Charles Bunge Increase A. Lapham UW-Milwaukee Libraries WLA 125 Carl Spitzweg State Law Library bookworm Wisconsin Free Library Commission Carnegie libraries Association of Library Trustees Advocates and Friends 27 Cooperative Children's Book Center Tower Hill Wisconsin Governor's Conference on Library and Information Services Wisconsin Literary Travel Guide Library Buildings James Duane Doty Wisconsin Library Bulletin Black River Falls Hartford Public Library 14 Zona Gale McMillan Memorial Library WLA 125 National Bookmobile Day Woman's Congress Wilbur Lyle Eberhart Parcel post Events Pinback buttons library exhibit Ripon Public Library Lutie Eugenia Stearns Gerald A. Somers Gertrude Thurow Capitol Fire 1904 Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries Library Trustees Wayne A. Wiegand Lowell W. Wilson WLA 125 Hall of Fame 2015 S. Janice Kee Beloit Public Library campaign Larry T. Nix DeForest Area Public Library Special libraries traveling libraries Library Systems trav Orrilla Blackshear Public library systems Library people Postcards American Library Association Library War Service caly film I Love Libraries Buttons bed and breakfast Frank Avery Hutchins Events & Meetings Oshkosh Public Library Clinton Public Library ca Library e Hall of Fame 2008 Hall of Fame 2015 Hall of Fame 2012 J. D. Witter campa Library Buidlings Klaus Linderfelt buil UW-Milwaukee School of Information Studies WLA 125 James Huff Stout Dianne McAfee Hopkins campaign White House Conference on Library and Information Services Sandra Friedman Dolnick

Wisconsin Library Association Foundation Logo