Wisconsin Library Heritage Center

The Wisconsin Library Heritage Center is a program of the Wisconsin Library Association Foundation promoting understanding and appreciation of the history of libraries and librarianship in Wisconsin.

Lutie Eugenia Stearns (1866-1943)

Posted by Larry Nix
Larry Nix
Larry Nix has not set their biography yet
User is currently offline
on Wednesday, January 28, 2009 in Hall of Fame

stearns-72.jpg Lutie Eugenia Stearns was inducted into the Wisconsin Library Hall of Fame in 2008. Stearns, along with Frank Hutchins and James Stout, was instrumental in establishing the Wisconsin Free Library Commission (WFLC) in 1895. From 1895 to 1897 she served as the unpaid Secretary of the Commission. When the WFLC was reorganized with increased funding in 1897, she resigned from the commission and became its first paid staff member.   In this capacity she traveled the state establishing traveling libraries and free public libraries. In 1951 she was one of 40 of America’s most significant library leaders selected by the Library Journal for inclusion in a “ Library Hall of Fame". She is listed in the Dictionary of American Library Biography and the Dictionary of Wisconsin History . Other entries on this site related to Stearns are here and here. The image of Stearns is from the Wisconsin Historical Society’s Historical Image Collection  Image ID: 42955.



Wisconsin Magazine of History articles about Stearns:

The Library Career of Lutie Eugenia Stearns by Earl Tannenbaum

My Seventy-five years: Part I (Stearns autobiography) 

My Seventy-five years: Part II (Stearns autobiography)

My Seventy-five years: Part III (Stearns autobiography)

A Thousand Little Libraries by Stuart Stotts

Stuart Stotts has also written a fictional account of Lutie Stearns life entitled Books in a Box. Although the book was written for children, it is well worth reading by adults.


No comments made yet. Be the first to submit a comment

Leave your comment

Guest Sunday, April 22, 2018


Popular Tags

Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries Sandra Friedman Dolnick Appleton Public Library Clarence Brown Lester Wisconsin State Normal School-Milwaukee Carnegie libraries Kimberly-Little Chute Public Library Rusk County Community Library Madison Public Library Cornelia Marving Pierce National Library Week 28 Parcel post Academic Librarians Elroy Public Library Wisconsin Free Library Commission Library History WWI Library War Service Louise S. Robbins Library celebrations Clinton Public Library Charles Bunge Hall of Fame 2012 Postcards School of Library and Information Studies WLA 125 11 Gilbert H. Doane Library Trustees Ruby Roeder Eratus Swift Wilcox Matthew S. Dudgeon Wisconsin Library Bulletin Bernard Schwab background Governor's Conference on Library and Information Services anniversaries hall of Library people Postcards caly film Woman's Congress Wisconsin Library Trustees and Friends James Huff Stout Cooperative Children's Book Center Katharine MacDonald Jones Brown County Library Sarah Janice Kee Bookmobiles S. Janice Kee Cam campaign Hartford Public Library Lutie Eugenia Stearns Jerome P. Daniels caly film American Library Association Library War Service Wisconsin Literary Travel Guide 10 Black River Falls Ruth Ann Montgomery ca Frank Avery Hutchins library legislation Exhibits 20 Marketing-Publicity Ice Storm Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries Digital Collections People 14 WLA 125 Library People Public libraries 27 James Duane Doty Library people UW-Milwaukee Libraries Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries Wayne A. Wiegand Library Artifacts Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries Library e Irene W. Newman Events & Meetings 23 Publications Postcards Wisconsin Library Heritage Center UW-Milwaukee School of Information Studies caly film Campaign Academic Libraries Anniversaries I Love Libraries Pewaukee Public Library Delia Ovitz Eager Free Public Library Meter mail slogans School libraries Edward Asahel Birge Capitol Fire 1904 cam American Library Association library exhibit John J. Jax trav Hall of Fame 2008 DeForest Area Public Library Wilbur Lyle Eberhart Evansville Wisconsin Public library systems World War I Milwaukee Public Library Hall of Fame 2012 Larry T. Nix Wisconsin Historical Society Pinback buttons UW-Madison school of library and information studies Hall of Fame 2010 Wisconsin Association of Academic Librarians Wisconsin Free Library Commission WAAL traveling libraries library education state historical society Library Buildings 22 Historical Register Campaign Hall of Fame 2015 Portage Public Library bookworm Hall Buttons Zona Gale Amer Marjorie Sornson Malmberg McMillan Memorial Library Nolan I. Neds Library Buidlings Association of Library Trustees Advocates and Friends campa Wisconsin Library Association Soughton Public Library presentations Black River Falls Public Library Superior Carnegie Libraries White House Conference on Library and Information Services Hall of Fame 2015 Wisconsin State Law Library Hall of Fame 2014 Jane K. Billings Gertrude Thurow Ripon Public Library Special libraries Hall of Fame 2009 Peter G. Hamon Events & Meetings Hall fo Fame 2012 Tower Hill Wisconsin Postcards books-by-mail National Bookmobile Day Inform Wisconsin T. B. Scott Free Public Library Carl Spitzweg Hall of Fame 2015 J. D. Witter Dorothea M. Krause Wisconsin Rapids Hall of Fame 2015 State Law Library Richard E. Krug Library Systems 21 bed and breakfast Middleton Public Library Increase A. Lapham Hall of Fame 2015 membership libraries COLAND Klaus Linderfelt Centennial Dianne McAfee Hopkins Milwaukee Art Museum archives Brown Deer Public Library Beaver Dam Public Library CCBC library memorabilia 24 Suring Area Public Library Lowell W. Wilson Orrilla Blackshear buil Oshkosh Public Library Anniversaries Manitowoc Public Library Campaing for Wisconsin Libraries Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries Hall of Fame 2016 Public libraries campaign Council on Library and Network Development WLA 125 Lutie Stearns John Miller Chancellor Beloit Public Library WHCLIS Gerald A. Somers Hall of Fame 2011 WLA 125 Uncategorized campaign William J. Wilson Hall of Fame 2013 Hall of Fame 2012 Milwaukee Public Library Events Brown Deer Public Library Campaign Hall of Fame 2017

Wisconsin Library Association Foundation Logo