Wisconsin Library Heritage Center

The Wisconsin Library Heritage Center is a program of the Wisconsin Library Association Foundation promoting understanding and appreciation of the history of libraries and librarianship in Wisconsin.

Library Liquor Fee

Posted by Larry Nix
Larry Nix
Larry Nix has not set their biography yet
User is currently offline
on Wednesday, July 01, 2009 in Public libraries


The Janesville Young Men's Association Library (a membership library) was founded in 1865. An amendment to the City of Janesville charter was enacted which provided one half of the liquor license fee for the purchase of books for the library. The Board of Supervisors for Rock County lobbied its state legislators to repeal that amendment. In the letter above written on January 8, 1872, W. S. Bowen of the Janesville Gazette asks state legislator D. S. Cheever not to support legislation that would repeal the amendment. He makes the case that the amendment "is not so great a hardship as the board of supervisors imagine". Bowen indicates his considerable interest in the library and notes that : "We have a fair start toward something which in time will be a benefit not only the city but to the county. Money is scarce and it has for a year or two past been almost impossible to maintain our library without outside aid." Bowen's effort to prevent the repeal of the library liquor license fee amendment was unsuccessful and it was repealed in 1873.  In July 1881 the Janesville Young Men's Association went bankrupt. The Janesville Public Library under the Public Library Law of 1872 was established in 1884. Another blog entry on Wisconsin's membership libraries can be found here.


No comments made yet. Be the first to submit a comment

Leave your comment

Guest Saturday, October 20, 2018


Popular Tags

Katharine MacDonald Jones Marketing-Publicity Wilbur Lyle Eberhart Library Buildings National Library Week Wisconsin Library Trustees and Friends School of Library and Information Studies WLA 125 Carnegie libraries John Miller Chancellor campaign Bob Bochfer Hall of Fame 2015 McMillan Memorial Library Milwaukee Public Library Kimberly-Little Chute Public Library CCBC Lutie Eugenia Stearns bookworm Charles Bunge Increase A. Lapham Louise S. Robbins Zona Gale Nolan I. Neds Orrilla Blackshear DeForest Area Public Library Wisconsin State Normal School-Milwaukee Portage Public Library membership libraries Black River Falls Public Library UW-Madison school of library and information studies Postcards Events & Meetings Hall of Fame 2015 Anniversaries Academic Libraries 14 campaign Superior Carnegie Libraries Gerald A. Somers Peter G. Hamon Hall of Fame 2012 Brown Deer Public Library American Library Association Library War Service Hall of Fame 2013 Ice Storm Wisconsin Literary Travel Guide caly film Buttons Lucy E. Smith Morris Exhibits WWI Library War Service Special libraries Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries Frank Avery Hutchins archives Madison Public Library ca Lowell W. Wilson 23 Events & Meetings Bernard Schwab 11 Uncategorized anniversaries Marjorie Sornson Malmberg Brown County Library Gilbert H. Doane Hall of Fame 2015 White House Conference on Library and Information Services S. Janice Kee state historical society background Library People Helen Adams Hartford Public Library Meter mail slogans Gertrude Thurow library education traveling libraries Oshkosh Public Library Milwaukee Public Library Library Buidlings James Huff Stout Carl Spitzweg Hall of Fame 2018 Ruby Roeder Amer Bookmobiles Historical Register Library e caly film Library History Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries Robert Bocher Events bed and breakfast Hall of Fame 2009 24 books-by-mail WLA 125 Association of Library Trustees Advocates and Friends Rusk County Community Library Middleton Public Library Postcards COLAND Centennial Lutie Stearns Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries Inform Wisconsin James Duane Doty Wisconsin Rapids Campaign Wisconsin Free Library Commission Jane K. Billings Ruth Ann Montgomery Publications presentations Library Artifacts Wisconsin Library Bulletin Clarence Brown Lester Library people campaign Beaver Dam Public Library Eager Free Public Library T. B. Scott Free Public Library Tower Hill Wisconsin Hall fo Fame 2012 Library Systems Campaign Postcards cam Hall of Fame 2018 Eratus Swift Wilcox Hall of Fame 2016 Hall of Fame 2012 Wisconsin Library Heritage Center Digital Collections Edward Asahel Birge UW-Milwaukee Libraries 22 Anniversaries Wisconsin Historical Society Dianne McAfee Hopkins Clinton Public Library Richard E. Krug 27 Capitol Fire 1904 Suring Area Public Library WLA 125 20 Soughton Public Library Cam School libraries Library celebrations Pewaukee Public Library Sandra Friedman Dolnick I Love Libraries Evansville Wisconsin Larry T. Nix Appleton Public Library Council on Library and Network Development library legislation Cornelia Marving Pierce Library people Postcards Hall State Law Library Library Trustees Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries library memorabilia campa Hall of Fame 2008 Parcel post Wayne A. Wiegand Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries Elroy Public Library Ripon Public Library Matthew S. Dudgeon trav Wisconsin State Law Library Governor's Conference on Library and Information Services Campaing for Wisconsin Libraries Beloit Public Library Wisconsin Federation of Women's Clubs Campaign Manitowoc Public Library Public libraries Pinback buttons buil Delia Ovitz WHCLIS J. D. Witter caly film Hall of Fame 2015 Hall of Fame 2015 Black River Falls 21 Milwaukee Art Museum Academic Librarians Dorothea M. Krause American Library Association Brown Deer Public Library 28 hall of Hall of Fame 2017 People Wisconsin Library Association Klaus Linderfelt library exhibit World War I Sarah Janice Kee Public library systems Public libraries John J. Jax Hall of Fame 2010 10 William J. Wilson WAAL Cooperative Children's Book Center Hall of Fame 2011 Hall of Fame 2014 Jerome P. Daniels WLA 125 Wisconsin Free Library Commission National Bookmobile Day Wisconsin Association of Academic Librarians Hall of Fame 2012 UW-Milwaukee School of Information Studies Woman's Congress Irene W. Newman

Wisconsin Library Association Foundation Logo