Wisconsin Library Heritage Center

The Wisconsin Library Heritage Center is a program of the Wisconsin Library Association Foundation promoting understanding and appreciation of the history of libraries and librarianship in Wisconsin.

Library Heritage 2009

Posted by Larry Nix
Larry Nix
Larry Nix has not set their biography yet
User is currently offline
on Thursday, December 31, 2009 in Marketing-Publicity
The celebration of Wisconsin's library heritage in 2009 has been rewarding. It was the first full year of operation for the WLHC which was officially established in March, 2008 by the Wisconsin Library Association Foundation. The website continues to be the most visible aspect of the WLHC. The website contains both static pages and blog posts. There were 82 blog posts in 2009. A new page featuring Wisconsin bookmobiles was added to the website in 2009. Between 1,300 and 1,400 unique visitors access the website each month.

The second group of individuals was inducted into the Wisconsin Library Hall of Fame in October at the WLA Conference in Appleton. This included Charles Bunge, our first living inductee.

The Wisconsin Library Memorabilia exhibit was displayed at the South Milwaukee Public Library, the Milwaukee Public Library, and the Door County Public Library. The exhibit at the Milwaukee Public Library was the most extensive exhibit that we have undertaken. An exhibit was also prepared to help celebrate the 30th anniversary of the Eastern Shores Library System. The WLHC also had an exhibit table at the WLA Conference in Appleton.

The Wisconsin Historical Society created a new gallery in its Wisconsin Historical  Images collection featuring photographs of public libraries from the Wisconsin Free Library Commission with the assistance of Richard Wambold.

Annual volumes of the Wisconsin Library Bulletin have started appearing in Google Books. These include the volumes for 19051907, 1908, 1909, 1910, 19171922

We look forward to another rewarding year of celebrating Wisconsin's library heritage in 2010.


No comments made yet. Be the first to submit a comment

Leave your comment

Guest Sunday, February 17, 2019


Popular Tags

McMillan Memorial Library Bob Bochfer Cooperative Children's Book Center Wisconsin Association of Academic Librarians Public library systems Lutie Eugenia Stearns UW-Milwaukee Libraries Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries presentations Campaign library exhibit Buttons Sarah Janice Kee J. D. Witter Madison Public Library Peter G. Hamon Campaing for Wisconsin Libraries Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries Black River Falls 20 Middleton Public Library 23 World War I Academic Librarians S. Janice Kee Appleton Public Library James Huff Stout WHCLIS Bookmobiles hall of Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries WAAL Bernard Schwab Eratus Swift Wilcox Brown County Library Dianne McAfee Hopkins WLA 125 Meter mail slogans Library e 28 Library Trustees 22 Wisconsin Historical Society Hall of Fame 2015 Events Richard E. Krug books-by-mail Anniversaries campaign Nolan I. Neds Gerald A. Somers Milwaukee Public Library Campaign Hall of Fame 2009 library education Ripon Public Library Gilbert H. Doane Council on Library and Network Development bed and breakfast membership libraries Hall of Fame 2016 Hall of Fame 2014 10 Amer Lowell W. Wilson Anniversaries Library People Orrilla Blackshear Beaver Dam Public Library Events & Meetings Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries Hall of Fame 2011 Carnegie libraries Wisconsin Rapids John J. Jax Soughton Public Library Larry T. Nix Ruby Roeder Marketing-Publicity Library Artifacts Irene W. Newman Zona Gale UW-Madison school of library and information studies Gertrude Thurow WWI Library War Service Hall of Fame 2015 Superior Carnegie Libraries Library Systems Lutie Stearns Lucy E. Smith Morris Wayne A. Wiegand American Library Association 11 27 Public libraries Oshkosh Public Library Hall of Fame 2012 background Hall fo Fame 2012 Wisconsin Library Trustees and Friends ca National Bookmobile Day Elroy Public Library anniversaries Hall of Fame 2015 Clinton Public Library Digital Collections traveling libraries Pewaukee Public Library Special libraries Hartford Public Library John Miller Chancellor caly film American Library Association Library War Service Portage Public Library Hall of Fame 2013 Hall of Fame 2017 UW-Milwaukee School of Information Studies Wisconsin Literary Travel Guide Parcel post Hall of Fame 2008 Delia Ovitz Hall of Fame 2015 Pinback buttons Exhibits Dorothea M. Krause state historical society Carl Spitzweg CCBC buil Library people Clarence Brown Lester Increase A. Lapham Wisconsin State Law Library library memorabilia COLAND campa Wisconsin Library Association cam WLA 125 Evansville Wisconsin Cornelia Marving Pierce Postcards Events & Meetings Hall of Fame 2010 Jerome P. Daniels Tower Hill Wisconsin Library celebrations DeForest Area Public Library library legislation Manitowoc Public Library Kimberly-Little Chute Public Library trav Cam WLA 125 State Law Library 14 Wisconsin Federation of Women's Clubs Robert Bocher School of Library and Information Studies bookworm Association of Library Trustees Advocates and Friends Wilbur Lyle Eberhart Wisconsin State Normal School-Milwaukee Brown Deer Public Library 21 Capitol Fire 1904 Edward Asahel Birge White House Conference on Library and Information Services Matthew S. Dudgeon Publications Charles Bunge caly film Wisconsin Library Bulletin Postcards Academic Libraries James Duane Doty Brown Deer Public Library Uncategorized Wisconsin Library Heritage Center 24 T. B. Scott Free Public Library Public libraries Campaign Hall of Fame 2012 Milwaukee Public Library Hall of Fame 2018 Eager Free Public Library Library Buildings Wisconsin Free Library Commission Marjorie Sornson Malmberg William J. Wilson Postcards Wisconsin Free Library Commission Governor's Conference on Library and Information Services Inform Wisconsin Library people Postcards Louise S. Robbins archives Klaus Linderfelt School libraries Helen Adams Frank Avery Hutchins Ruth Ann Montgomery Historical Register Ice Storm WLA 125 Beloit Public Library Rusk County Community Library Sandra Friedman Dolnick Hall of Fame 2012 I Love Libraries Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries campaign Library Buidlings National Library Week Centennial Library History campaign Hall of Fame 2018 Hall of Fame 2015 Jane K. Billings Milwaukee Art Museum People Woman's Congress Hall Katharine MacDonald Jones Black River Falls Public Library Suring Area Public Library caly film

Wisconsin Library Association Foundation Logo