Wisconsin Library Heritage Center

The Wisconsin Library Heritage Center is a program of the Wisconsin Library Association Foundation promoting understanding and appreciation of the history of libraries and librarianship in Wisconsin.

Library Charging Systems

Posted by Larry T. Nix
Larry T. Nix
Larry T. Nix has not set their biography yet
User is currently offline
on Tuesday, April 07, 2009 in Library artifacts


In 1881 under the direction of Librarian Klas Linderfelt, the Milwaukee Public Library implemented a new charging system. Linderfelt made a presentation on library charging systems at the 1882 American Library Association conference in Cincinnati, Ohio.  In that presentation he identified twenty questions that should be answered in evaluating a library charging system. The first four were: 1) Is a given book out?; 2) If out, who has it?; 3) When did he [she] take it?; and 4) When is it to be sen for, as overdue?  Another Milwaukee Public Library innovation was the pencil dater. Library charging or circulation systems have been evolving for many decades.  I was recently interviewed by John Kelly of the Washington Post about the stamping of library books with the date due.  Kelly wrote an article in his blog today about the move to printed receipts in public libraries. As a result of the Kelly interview I scanned my library card collection to the Library History Buff website which included this well used Milwaukee Public Library card from the 1920s.


No comments made yet. Be the first to submit a comment

Leave your comment

Guest Tuesday, February 18, 2020


Popular Tags

Hartford Public Library Tower Hill Wisconsin archives National Library Week Hall of Fame 2010 campaign Wisconsin State Law Library Ruby Roeder Carl Spitzweg WLA 125 Richard E. Krug Campaing for Wisconsin Libraries 21 Inform Wisconsin Eratus Swift Wilcox Klaus Linderfelt Pinback buttons Hall of Fame 2014 Library e buil Milwaukee Art Museum Milwaukee Public Library Irene W. Newman Dorothea M. Krause Wisconsin Association of Academic Librarians Exhibits 23 Bookmobiles Events caly film Madison Public Library Soughton Public Library Wisconsin Free Library Commission Library Systems Wilbur Lyle Eberhart I Love Libraries School of Library and Information Studies cam Council on Library and Network Development campaign Cam Middleton Public Library McMillan Memorial Library World War I Hall of Fame 2018 Oshkosh Public Library Gertrude Thurow Jerome P. Daniels 27 Public library systems Hall of Fame 2017 background Wisconsin Literary Travel Guide Ice Storm Robert Bocher Ripon Public Library Postcards Academic Libraries Hall of Fame 2008 Centennial DeForest Area Public Library books-by-mail Larry T. Nix Library Trustees Hall fo Fame 2012 Wisconsin Rapids 10 Suring Area Public Library Academic Librarians Publications Clarence Brown Lester Library People Gilbert H. Doane WLA 125 trav Campaign Postcards Campaign Wisconsin State Normal School-Milwaukee Milwaukee Public Library Bob Bochfer Hall of Fame 2015 Richard J. Sorensen Digital Collections Wisconsin Library Association Sandra Friedman Dolnick library exhibit Edward Asahel Birge Anniversaries Cornelia Marving Pierce 24 Lutie Stearns Campaign Hall of Fame 2015 Brown Deer Public Library Gerald A. Somers James Huff Stout 14 Events & Meetings ca Wisconsin Library Trustees and Friends Hall of Fame 2015 bookworm Portage Public Library Beaver Dam Public Library Elroy Public Library Library people caly film Peter G. Hamon Woman's Congress Hall of Fame 2015 School libraries COLAND Pewaukee Public Library library memorabilia Hall of Fame 2015 Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries library education Hall of Fame 2009 11 Special libraries Capitol Fire 1904 Association of Library Trustees Advocates and Friends Public libraries Library History Wisconsin Library Bulletin Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries Jane K. Billings S. Janice Kee Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries T. B. Scott Free Public Library Hall of Fame 2013 22 WLA 125 Wisconsin Free Library Commission Manitowoc Public Library Public libraries J. D. Witter State Law Library Events & Meetings library legislation Matthew S. Dudgeon Increase A. Lapham Dick Sorensen John J. Jax American Library Association Library War Service Superior Carnegie Libraries Amer Parcel post Zona Gale Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries Library Artifacts Postcards membership libraries Hall of Fame 2012 Katharine MacDonald Jones Bernard Schwab Cooperative Children's Book Center Lucy E. Smith Morris Hall of Fame 2011 American Library Association Hall of Fame 2018 Marketing-Publicity UW-Milwaukee School of Information Studies Sarah Janice Kee Historical Register Delia Ovitz Dick Sorensen Nancy Marshall Beloit Public Library People WAAL Uncategorized UW-Milwaukee Libraries Clinton Public Library Orrilla Blackshear Dianne McAfee Hopkins Lowell W. Wilson John Miller Chancellor Brown Deer Public Library 20 Charles Bunge Wisconsin Federation of Women's Clubs James Duane Doty Anniversaries traveling libraries Wisconsin Library Heritage Center Black River Falls Public Library Appleton Public Library campaign Library Buildings WLA 125 Kimberly-Little Chute Public Library campa Meter mail slogans caly film UW-Madison school of library and information studies Frank Avery Hutchins Hall of Fame 2019 Hall of Fame 2016 Louise S. Robbins Library Buidlings White House Conference on Library and Information Services Carnegie libraries Lutie Eugenia Stearns presentations Brown County Library Black River Falls WWI Library War Service state historical society hall of Wisconsin Historical Society Library celebrations CCBC Evansville Wisconsin William J. Wilson Eager Free Public Library 28 Governor's Conference on Library and Information Services Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries National Bookmobile Day Hall Helen Adams bed and breakfast Ruth Ann Montgomery Rusk County Community Library Nolan I. Neds Hall of Fame 2012 Buttons anniversaries Library people Postcards Wayne A. Wiegand WHCLIS Hall of Fame 2012 Marjorie Sornson Malmberg

Wisconsin Library Association Foundation Logo