Wisconsin Library Heritage Center

The Wisconsin Library Heritage Center is a program of the Wisconsin Library Association Foundation promoting understanding and appreciation of the history of libraries and librarianship in Wisconsin.

Library Buttons

Posted by Larry Nix
Larry Nix
Larry Nix has not set their biography yet
User is currently offline
on Friday, April 24, 2009 in Library artifacts


Library buttons are fun and they are an interesting collectible, but they can also be artifacts that link us to our past.  In the image above are four buttons that each have a Wisconsin library story to tell. The crossed out AB 720 button was created to oppose a piece of library legislation that was supported by the majority of the Wisconsin library community and was passed into law.  The "Bark In The Dark" and the "It won't fit in the box" buttons were created for the particpants of two different groups that were charged with revising Wisconsin's public library standards.  The phrases reflect frustrations at critical points in the process of developing the standards.  The Jim Danky button recognizes the retirement of one of Wisconsin's stellar librarians. To see more library buttons including others from Wisconsin click here.


No comments made yet. Be the first to submit a comment

Leave your comment

Guest Monday, March 19, 2018


Popular Tags

Wisconsin Library Bulletin Hall of Fame 2015 James Duane Doty Lutie Stearns Hall of Fame 2015 Hall of Fame 2015 24 Bookmobiles Matthew S. Dudgeon Clarence Brown Lester Uncategorized library memorabilia campaign T. B. Scott Free Public Library Wisconsin State Law Library Cam Parcel post library legislation Anniversaries I Love Libraries John Miller Chancellor Wayne A. Wiegand Cornelia Marving Pierce books-by-mail library education Brown County Library UW-Milwaukee School of Information Studies Ruby Roeder DeForest Area Public Library Milwaukee Public Library 23 Digital Collections World War I American Library Association Library War Service Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries J. D. Witter Pinback buttons WAAL Marketing-Publicity Wilbur Lyle Eberhart Anniversaries Carl Spitzweg Cooperative Children's Book Center Centennial Gerald A. Somers 14 archives Suring Area Public Library Kimberly-Little Chute Public Library Increase A. Lapham Marjorie Sornson Malmberg 21 Wisconsin Library Trustees and Friends Library Buidlings Klaus Linderfelt bed and breakfast Richard E. Krug Governor's Conference on Library and Information Services buil WLA 125 Middleton Public Library campa Events WLA 125 Hall of Fame 2017 WLA 125 ca Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries trav Dorothea M. Krause anniversaries Hall of Fame 2015 11 Edward Asahel Birge Wisconsin Free Library Commission bookworm Capitol Fire 1904 Black River Falls CCBC Larry T. Nix Evansville Wisconsin Nolan I. Neds Publications Lutie Eugenia Stearns Frank Avery Hutchins Beloit Public Library Charles Bunge Library e Gilbert H. Doane Rusk County Community Library S. Janice Kee Hall of Fame 2012 Amer Association of Library Trustees Advocates and Friends Eratus Swift Wilcox UW-Madison school of library and information studies caly film School of Library and Information Studies Academic Librarians Wisconsin Literary Travel Guide Carnegie libraries Louise S. Robbins Library People Tower Hill Wisconsin Postcards Ice Storm Library Buildings library exhibit Madison Public Library Pewaukee Public Library Hartford Public Library Library people Katharine MacDonald Jones COLAND UW-Milwaukee Libraries People Bernard Schwab Postcards Postcards Manitowoc Public Library Wisconsin Free Library Commission Brown Deer Public Library Library Trustees hall of Wisconsin Rapids Public libraries Superior Carnegie Libraries Hall of Fame 2010 American Library Association Events & Meetings Hall John J. Jax Hall of Fame 2012 10 Lowell W. Wilson presentations Ruth Ann Montgomery Soughton Public Library Beaver Dam Public Library Gertrude Thurow Portage Public Library Jerome P. Daniels Ripon Public Library traveling libraries Hall of Fame 2015 caly film Appleton Public Library Wisconsin Library Association School libraries McMillan Memorial Library WHCLIS membership libraries National Bookmobile Day Dianne McAfee Hopkins Hall of Fame 2012 Wisconsin Library Heritage Center Zona Gale Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries 27 20 Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries Peter G. Hamon Clinton Public Library Public library systems Campaign Wisconsin State Normal School-Milwaukee Public libraries Library celebrations Hall of Fame 2016 28 Brown Deer Public Library Academic Libraries Sarah Janice Kee William J. Wilson White House Conference on Library and Information Services Irene W. Newman Library people Postcards Woman's Congress Library History Jane K. Billings campaign caly film WWI Library War Service Black River Falls Public Library Campaing for Wisconsin Libraries Hall of Fame 2011 State Law Library Wisconsin Association of Academic Librarians Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries Milwaukee Art Museum Elroy Public Library Hall of Fame 2014 Exhibits campaign Delia Ovitz Orrilla Blackshear James Huff Stout Oshkosh Public Library Council on Library and Network Development Hall of Fame 2009 Events & Meetings WLA 125 Buttons Campaign 22 background Inform Wisconsin Sandra Friedman Dolnick Milwaukee Public Library Historical Register Hall of Fame 2008 Wisconsin Historical Society Library Systems National Library Week Hall fo Fame 2012 Special libraries Library Artifacts Eager Free Public Library cam Campaign state historical society Hall of Fame 2013 Meter mail slogans

Wisconsin Library Association Foundation Logo