Wisconsin Library Heritage Center

The Wisconsin Library Heritage Center is a program of the Wisconsin Library Association Foundation promoting understanding and appreciation of the history of libraries and librarianship in Wisconsin.

Some Libraries Sharing Municipal Facilities

Posted by Larry Nix
Larry Nix
Larry Nix has not set their biography yet
User is currently offline
on Wednesday, March 25, 2015 in Library buildings
Appleton Public Library
In the previous blog post I discussed some newly completed “stand alone” library buildings in Wisconsin in 1904.  Libraries, however, often shared a facility with another part of municipal government. This often preceded a separate library building. For smaller communities this was more common.  One example of a larger community where this occurred is the public library in Appleton, WI (see postcard above). Appleton dedicated a new municipal building in 1900. The public library occupied the first floor of the building and the City Hall was located on the second floor. This arrangement continued until 1939 when the City Hall moved out of the building, and the library occupied the entire building. 
Clinton Public Library
The Clinton Public Library (above)shared a building with the city hall and the fire department. The library was located on the left side of the building and the fire department on the right side with the City Hall in the middle. Note the fire lookout tower behind the fire station.
Portage Public Library
The Portage Public Library (above) shared a building with the armory (for Company F) and the city hall. The library was on the left, the armory in the middle, and the city hall on the right.
Stoughton Public LibraryThe Stoughton Public Library shared a building with the city hall and an opera house. 
These are only a few examples of public libraries that shared a municipal facility.


No comments made yet. Be the first to submit a comment

Leave your comment

Guest Monday, September 25, 2017


Popular Tags

Exhibits presentations Historical Register Rusk County Community Library Elroy Public Library Brown County Library Wisconsin Association of Academic Librarians Amer campa Middleton Public Library Events & Meetings Appleton Public Library Milwaukee Public Library Anniversaries Irene W. Newman Kimberly-Little Chute Public Library Library Systems Milwaukee Art Museum Wisconsin Literary Travel Guide 11 Dorothea M. Krause Gertrude Thurow COLAND Frank Avery Hutchins Postcards Edward Asahel Birge Pinback buttons Special libraries Wilbur Lyle Eberhart library education Brown Deer Public Library Brown Deer Public Library Milwaukee Public Library Publications Hall of Fame 2015 trav Richard E. Krug traveling libraries Wisconsin Library Trustees and Friends books-by-mail Library Artifacts Bernard Schwab Carl Spitzweg Eratus Swift Wilcox UW-Madison school of library and information studies Sarah Janice Kee Hall of Fame 2012 Marjorie Sornson Malmberg library exhibit Increase A. Lapham James Duane Doty Hall of Fame 2016 22 Meter mail slogans Tower Hill Wisconsin CCBC Nolan I. Neds Hall of Fame 2012 14 DeForest Area Public Library Manitowoc Public Library campaign Klaus Linderfelt background T. B. Scott Free Public Library Beaver Dam Public Library caly film 10 National Bookmobile Day campaign William J. Wilson State Law Library Campaign UW-Milwaukee Libraries James Huff Stout Orrilla Blackshear Clinton Public Library Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries Public libraries Hall of Fame 2010 Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries Hall Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries Black River Falls Public Library Bookmobiles White House Conference on Library and Information Services Wisconsin Rapids 24 Soughton Public Library Wisconsin Free Library Commission WLA 125 Gilbert H. Doane Campaing for Wisconsin Libraries 27 School libraries 21 caly film Council on Library and Network Development Jane K. Billings American Library Association Hall of Fame 2014 Uncategorized Ice Storm Katharine MacDonald Jones Hall of Fame 2012 Lutie Eugenia Stearns Library celebrations Peter G. Hamon Carnegie libraries Digital Collections Library Trustees National Library Week Ruth Ann Montgomery Hall of Fame 2015 World War I Suring Area Public Library Academic Librarians Hall of Fame 2013 Wisconsin Library Association Evansville Wisconsin Events & Meetings Hall of Fame 2015 People cam caly film Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries Charles Bunge WLA 125 Library people WLA 125 Clarence Brown Lester American Library Association Library War Service Wisconsin State Law Library Cornelia Marving Pierce bookworm Postcards S. Janice Kee Wayne A. Wiegand Wisconsin Free Library Commission Ripon Public Library WHCLIS Superior Carnegie Libraries Dianne McAfee Hopkins School of Library and Information Studies campaign archives bed and breakfast buil Anniversaries Public library systems Larry T. Nix Academic Libraries Hartford Public Library Cooperative Children's Book Center Postcards Library History Lutie Stearns Hall of Fame 2015 20 Jerome P. Daniels hall of Library people Postcards Matthew S. Dudgeon Hall of Fame 2009 WWI Library War Service Public libraries J. D. Witter Hall of Fame 2015 Centennial Woman's Congress Wisconsin Historical Society Gerald A. Somers Campaign Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries ca Wisconsin Library Bulletin Pewaukee Public Library Association of Library Trustees Advocates and Friends Capitol Fire 1904 Delia Ovitz Parcel post Madison Public Library anniversaries I Love Libraries Wisconsin State Normal School-Milwaukee 28 Library People Governor's Conference on Library and Information Services Hall fo Fame 2012 Marketing-Publicity Hall of Fame 2008 Inform Wisconsin John Miller Chancellor Black River Falls Oshkosh Public Library Campaign UW-Milwaukee School of Information Studies state historical society membership libraries Library e Library Buildings Beloit Public Library Eager Free Public Library Cam Events library memorabilia Library Buidlings WLA 125 Buttons Hall of Fame 2011 Portage Public Library McMillan Memorial Library WAAL library legislation 23 Wisconsin Library Heritage Center Zona Gale

Wisconsin Library Association Foundation Logo