Wisconsin Library Heritage Center

The Wisconsin Library Heritage Center is a program of the Wisconsin Library Association Foundation promoting understanding and appreciation of the history of libraries and librarianship in Wisconsin.

Leonard B. Archer (1913-2003)

Posted by Larry Nix
Larry Nix
Larry Nix has not set their biography yet
User is currently offline
on Monday, October 07, 2013 in Hall of Fame

Leonard ArcherLeonard B. Archer was inducted into the Wisconsin Library Hall of Fame on October 23, 2013 at the annual conference of the Wisconsin Library Association in Green Bay, WI. Archer served as Director of the Oshkosh Public Library (1958 to 1978) and held as joint appointment as Director of the Winnefox Library System. He initiated bookmobile service for Winnebago County and was instrumental in establishing the Winnefox Library System. He was an advocate for intellectual freedom and served as chair of the Wisconsin Library Association’s (WLA) Intellectual Freedom Committee (1963-65). He was named Librarian of the Year by WLA in 1975. He was awarded the Chancellor’s Medal for work with the University of Wisconsin-Oshkosh in developing a “people’s university” in the public library. After retirement he moved to Middleton, WI in 1978 where he became active with the Middleton Public Library as a member of the library board and the Friends of the Library. He also served on the board of the South Central Library System. Archer was born in Petersburg, VA. He received a BA degree from the University of Richmond and a library degree from Emory University. Prior to coming to Wisconsin he worked in libraries in the District of Columbia, Detroit, MI, Plainfield, VT, and Rutland, VT. Archer was married to Marion Fuller Archer, who was a children's librarian, author, and faculty member at the University of Wisconsin - Oshkosh. Meeting rooms at the Middleton Public Library are named for Leonard Archer and Marion Archer.

The Wisconsin Library Hall of Fame is a project of the Wisconsin Library Heritage Center which is a program of the Wisconsin Library Association Foundation.



No comments made yet. Be the first to submit a comment

Leave your comment

Guest Monday, December 11, 2017


Popular Tags

Campaing for Wisconsin Libraries Klaus Linderfelt Pewaukee Public Library American Library Association Library War Service Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries Oshkosh Public Library Eager Free Public Library Brown Deer Public Library WLA 125 Uncategorized Frank Avery Hutchins Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries ca Dianne McAfee Hopkins Library e UW-Madison school of library and information studies James Duane Doty 28 Wisconsin Free Library Commission Marketing-Publicity Milwaukee Public Library Anniversaries Lutie Stearns Jerome P. Daniels 23 caly film Events & Meetings library memorabilia Wisconsin Literary Travel Guide Hall of Fame 2016 Brown County Library 11 Postcards Exhibits books-by-mail cam T. B. Scott Free Public Library Richard E. Krug William J. Wilson 10 School libraries Hall of Fame 2014 Hall of Fame 2012 Hall Wayne A. Wiegand Rusk County Community Library UW-Milwaukee Libraries campaign Governor's Conference on Library and Information Services Hall of Fame 2012 Kimberly-Little Chute Public Library Association of Library Trustees Advocates and Friends buil Library people Postcards Wisconsin Library Association Edward Asahel Birge Larry T. Nix Events & Meetings Black River Falls Public Library library education state historical society Charles Bunge Tower Hill Wisconsin Library Artifacts presentations National Bookmobile Day CCBC Nolan I. Neds Irene W. Newman library exhibit Wisconsin Historical Society Library Systems caly film Hall of Fame 2013 Inform Wisconsin membership libraries Public libraries Louise S. Robbins Elroy Public Library Library History Lutie Eugenia Stearns Gerald A. Somers Beaver Dam Public Library Library Buidlings Wisconsin Library Bulletin library legislation Milwaukee Art Museum Bernard Schwab WAAL Wisconsin Rapids Gertrude Thurow Library Trustees caly film White House Conference on Library and Information Services Increase A. Lapham Zona Gale State Law Library Campaign American Library Association Dorothea M. Krause Matthew S. Dudgeon Sarah Janice Kee Events Library celebrations WLA 125 I Love Libraries Jane K. Billings Hall of Fame 2009 Public libraries Cam Sandra Friedman Dolnick Pinback buttons Evansville Wisconsin World War I anniversaries Lowell W. Wilson Academic Librarians Wisconsin Free Library Commission trav Hartford Public Library Wisconsin Library Trustees and Friends campa Soughton Public Library Beloit Public Library Campaign Council on Library and Network Development Hall of Fame 2017 WWI Library War Service Delia Ovitz Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries Wilbur Lyle Eberhart John Miller Chancellor Hall of Fame 2015 UW-Milwaukee School of Information Studies Woman's Congress Gilbert H. Doane John J. Jax Meter mail slogans 27 Hall of Fame 2015 Wisconsin State Law Library Academic Libraries Eratus Swift Wilcox WHCLIS McMillan Memorial Library bed and breakfast Hall fo Fame 2012 Hall of Fame 2015 Historical Register Postcards background Library people Milwaukee Public Library 20 Hall of Fame 2015 Hall of Fame 2012 Wisconsin State Normal School-Milwaukee Digital Collections Hall of Fame 2010 National Library Week Katharine MacDonald Jones Hall of Fame 2015 Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries 24 Orrilla Blackshear hall of Clinton Public Library Suring Area Public Library J. D. Witter Bookmobiles Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries Superior Carnegie Libraries Publications bookworm Public library systems Hall of Fame 2008 Capitol Fire 1904 Library Buildings Carnegie libraries Marjorie Sornson Malmberg Ice Storm Anniversaries Carl Spitzweg Ruby Roeder Wisconsin Association of Academic Librarians S. Janice Kee Ripon Public Library archives DeForest Area Public Library Manitowoc Public Library Cooperative Children's Book Center Brown Deer Public Library campaign Centennial Middleton Public Library traveling libraries Ruth Ann Montgomery Black River Falls Hall of Fame 2011 Amer campaign 22 Clarence Brown Lester School of Library and Information Studies Peter G. Hamon Wisconsin Library Heritage Center People Library People WLA 125 Campaign James Huff Stout Appleton Public Library Portage Public Library Cornelia Marving Pierce COLAND Madison Public Library 14 Postcards Parcel post WLA 125 Buttons Special libraries 21

Wisconsin Library Association Foundation Logo