Wisconsin Library Heritage Center

The Wisconsin Library Heritage Center is a program of the Wisconsin Library Association Foundation promoting understanding and appreciation of the history of libraries and librarianship in Wisconsin.

  • JUser: :_load: Unable to load user with id: 52

Leah D. Gruber (1906-1996)

Posted by
has not set their biography yet
User is currently offline
on Thursday, October 14, 2010 in Hall of Fame

Leah GruberLeah D. Gruber was inducted into the Wisconsin Library Hall of Fame on November 4, 2010 at the Wisconsin Library Association Conference in Wisconsin Dells. Gruber made a significant contribution to public library service in Wisconsin as a library trustee. She served on the Prairie du Sac Public Library Board from 1940 to 1988 during which she served several terms as President of the Board. She also served on the Sauk County Library Board from 1975 until 1983. As President of the Sauk County Library Board, she was instrumental in organizing the South Central Library System  and was a member of the SCLS Board from its founding in 1975 until 1983. Gruber served as President of the Wisconsin Library Trustee Association in 1973 and 1974. She was honored as WLA’s trustee of the year in 1968 and was again selected for this honor in 1976. Gruber was on the Board of the Wisconsin Library Trustee Association when it became a division of the Wisconsin Library Association. Gruber was born in 1906 in Fort Monroe, Virginia.  She graduated from the University of Wisconsin in 1927 with a bachelor's degree in English and Library Science.  She worked at the Fond du Lac Public Library and at the Legislative Reference Library in Madison. After marriage and a move to Prairie du Sac in 1939 she served as a volunteer cataloging books at several libraries in the area. Gruber received a special commendation from the University of Wisconsin System in 1974.



No comments made yet. Be the first to submit a comment

Leave your comment

Guest Wednesday, June 19, 2019


Popular Tags

Association of Library Trustees Advocates and Friends Klaus Linderfelt campaign 27 Ruth Ann Montgomery ca Marketing-Publicity Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries 20 Inform Wisconsin books-by-mail Evansville Wisconsin Hall of Fame 2018 Anniversaries Hall of Fame 2011 Carnegie libraries Postcards Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries Postcards Matthew S. Dudgeon Peter G. Hamon Jerome P. Daniels Madison Public Library Wayne A. Wiegand Gilbert H. Doane 21 Lucy E. Smith Morris Increase A. Lapham Cornelia Marving Pierce Woman's Congress Library History Bob Bochfer Exhibits Library Buidlings 22 Council on Library and Network Development Black River Falls Wisconsin Library Trustees and Friends Library people Postcards Library Trustees Wisconsin Rapids UW-Milwaukee Libraries Hall of Fame 2017 Cooperative Children's Book Center Appleton Public Library Hall of Fame 2012 Wisconsin Library Bulletin Bernard Schwab Portage Public Library Middleton Public Library Uncategorized Kimberly-Little Chute Public Library Cam Academic Librarians National Bookmobile Day John Miller Chancellor Sarah Janice Kee Lutie Stearns Events & Meetings Oshkosh Public Library Events Clinton Public Library COLAND Centennial Dorothea M. Krause Eratus Swift Wilcox Milwaukee Public Library Larry T. Nix Hartford Public Library Hall of Fame 2015 Bookmobiles Campaign Special libraries WLA 125 Wisconsin Library Association Buttons Hall of Fame 2012 Hall fo Fame 2012 Hall Eager Free Public Library caly film UW-Milwaukee School of Information Studies Campaign Anniversaries Brown Deer Public Library Historical Register John J. Jax 14 bookworm Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries Meter mail slogans caly film American Library Association Hall of Fame 2016 Black River Falls Public Library Hall of Fame 2018 Frank Avery Hutchins Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries National Library Week Events & Meetings membership libraries Ripon Public Library Public libraries anniversaries Lutie Eugenia Stearns Wilbur Lyle Eberhart Beaver Dam Public Library Digital Collections WLA 125 Publications cam hall of Wisconsin Literary Travel Guide Milwaukee Art Museum Campaign School libraries Hall of Fame 2015 background School of Library and Information Studies DeForest Area Public Library Library Artifacts Suring Area Public Library Orrilla Blackshear Brown Deer Public Library Richard E. Krug 28 campa WLA 125 McMillan Memorial Library Parcel post presentations Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries 10 Charles Bunge Wisconsin State Law Library 23 Gerald A. Somers Lowell W. Wilson Gertrude Thurow Jane K. Billings Sandra Friedman Dolnick Delia Ovitz James Duane Doty library exhibit Tower Hill Wisconsin People Manitowoc Public Library Soughton Public Library library legislation trav Library Buildings Academic Libraries Hall of Fame 2015 Hall of Fame 2009 WAAL Pinback buttons James Huff Stout Wisconsin Library Heritage Center T. B. Scott Free Public Library Governor's Conference on Library and Information Services 24 Nolan I. Neds Zona Gale Wisconsin Free Library Commission Elroy Public Library state historical society Postcards archives Hall of Fame 2010 J. D. Witter Hall of Fame 2015 Pewaukee Public Library Hall of Fame 2012 S. Janice Kee Clarence Brown Lester Wisconsin Association of Academic Librarians Katharine MacDonald Jones Library celebrations Edward Asahel Birge Wisconsin Free Library Commission Library e library education Robert Bocher I Love Libraries Ruby Roeder Public library systems Ice Storm Public libraries WHCLIS Library People campaign American Library Association Library War Service Carl Spitzweg Marjorie Sornson Malmberg World War I caly film Wisconsin Federation of Women's Clubs buil State Law Library Campaing for Wisconsin Libraries White House Conference on Library and Information Services Amer Rusk County Community Library UW-Madison school of library and information studies Helen Adams Brown County Library Wisconsin Historical Society William J. Wilson WWI Library War Service Library people Hall of Fame 2013 campaign Dianne McAfee Hopkins Beloit Public Library Superior Carnegie Libraries WLA 125 Library Systems Wisconsin State Normal School-Milwaukee Irene W. Newman Capitol Fire 1904 traveling libraries Hall of Fame 2015 Hall of Fame 2008 11 Louise S. Robbins CCBC Hall of Fame 2014 Milwaukee Public Library bed and breakfast library memorabilia

Wisconsin Library Association Foundation Logo