Wisconsin Library Heritage Center

The Wisconsin Library Heritage Center is a program of the Wisconsin Library Association Foundation promoting understanding and appreciation of the history of libraries and librarianship in Wisconsin.

Katharine MacDonald Jones (1866-?)

Posted by Larry Nix
Larry Nix
Larry Nix has not set their biography yet
User is currently offline
on Tuesday, October 08, 2013 in Hall of Fame

Katharine MacDonald Jones was inducted into the Wisconsin Library Hall of Fame on October 23, 2013 at the annual conference of the Wisconsin Library Association in Green Bay, WI. Jones was a national authority on the selection of materials for small public libraries. She joined the staff of the Wisconsin Free Library Commission (WFLC) in 1899, and served as Assistant Secretary of the Commission from 1901 to 1907. She became head of the Traveling Libraries Department of the WFLC when it was established in 1903. From 1906 until 1908 she was editor of the Booklist of the American Library Association. She was identified in 1936 by Wisconsin Library Hall of Fame member Matthew S. Dudgeon as one of ten individuals on “Wisconsin’s long library Roll of Honor.” Dudgeon said this about Jones: “the talented appraiser of books who for years, with little enough support, carried on here in Wisconsin the splendid beginnings of the American Library Association Booklist.” Jones graduated from the University of Wisconsin in 1886. She was author of the publication Magazines for Small Libraries (WI Free Library Commission, 1908).

The Wisconsin Library Hall of Fame is a project of the Wisconsin Library Heritage Center which is a program of the Wisconsin Library Association Foundation.


No comments made yet. Be the first to submit a comment

Leave your comment

Guest Wednesday, October 18, 2017


Popular Tags

Hall of Fame 2015 Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries Wisconsin Free Library Commission archives WLA 125 Wilbur Lyle Eberhart Lowell W. Wilson trav Portage Public Library Wisconsin Rapids Hall of Fame 2014 state historical society Library Systems State Law Library 20 Superior Carnegie Libraries 22 bed and breakfast 24 Hall of Fame 2012 Hartford Public Library Hall fo Fame 2012 Capitol Fire 1904 Milwaukee Art Museum Academic Librarians Library History campa campaign Oshkosh Public Library Hall of Fame 2017 School of Library and Information Studies Campaing for Wisconsin Libraries Wisconsin State Law Library Ice Storm caly film Sandra Friedman Dolnick Milwaukee Public Library Delia Ovitz Sarah Janice Kee Wisconsin Free Library Commission World War I Jane K. Billings Wisconsin Library Bulletin Evansville Wisconsin Rusk County Community Library Gertrude Thurow Library Artifacts Soughton Public Library anniversaries COLAND Beaver Dam Public Library Hall Milwaukee Public Library ca Lutie Eugenia Stearns Brown Deer Public Library Woman's Congress Bookmobiles Inform Wisconsin Cooperative Children's Book Center Campaign WHCLIS Eratus Swift Wilcox Cornelia Marving Pierce Orrilla Blackshear S. Janice Kee School libraries buil Dorothea M. Krause James Huff Stout 14 Library people WWI Library War Service National Library Week Tower Hill Wisconsin Events Postcards Kimberly-Little Chute Public Library Hall of Fame 2012 campaign Historical Register Pewaukee Public Library traveling libraries Hall of Fame 2015 Irene W. Newman Brown Deer Public Library UW-Milwaukee School of Information Studies Clinton Public Library Suring Area Public Library Wisconsin Library Association Buttons Clarence Brown Lester UW-Madison school of library and information studies Edward Asahel Birge Hall of Fame 2009 library education Dianne McAfee Hopkins Wisconsin Library Trustees and Friends Frank Avery Hutchins Klaus Linderfelt Academic Libraries campaign cam Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries WLA 125 bookworm Hall of Fame 2015 McMillan Memorial Library Exhibits John J. Jax Wisconsin Literary Travel Guide Black River Falls Marjorie Sornson Malmberg Wayne A. Wiegand Library Buildings James Duane Doty William J. Wilson Ruth Ann Montgomery Middleton Public Library Special libraries 23 Increase A. Lapham Hall of Fame 2011 Postcards Hall of Fame 2016 library exhibit Ripon Public Library Library People Events & Meetings Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries 10 Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries Carnegie libraries membership libraries Carl Spitzweg Zona Gale Public library systems Marketing-Publicity Madison Public Library Library Trustees Hall of Fame 2008 Library people Postcards Campaign T. B. Scott Free Public Library Hall of Fame 2015 Public libraries WLA 125 Anniversaries National Bookmobile Day Hall of Fame 2010 Pinback buttons UW-Milwaukee Libraries 27 Louise S. Robbins DeForest Area Public Library American Library Association I Love Libraries caly film 28 Wisconsin Association of Academic Librarians library legislation Campaign Library Buidlings Parcel post Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries Wisconsin State Normal School-Milwaukee Postcards Manitowoc Public Library Association of Library Trustees Advocates and Friends Jerome P. Daniels People Richard E. Krug Wisconsin Historical Society Cam Matthew S. Dudgeon 21 Library celebrations books-by-mail Charles Bunge Elroy Public Library Hall of Fame 2013 background American Library Association Library War Service Ruby Roeder Nolan I. Neds Uncategorized Library e J. D. Witter Larry T. Nix Peter G. Hamon White House Conference on Library and Information Services CCBC Appleton Public Library WLA 125 Gerald A. Somers Bernard Schwab Anniversaries Lutie Stearns Amer hall of Digital Collections Gilbert H. Doane Brown County Library Katharine MacDonald Jones Council on Library and Network Development Hall of Fame 2012 Black River Falls Public Library WAAL presentations Public libraries Events & Meetings Governor's Conference on Library and Information Services caly film Centennial Wisconsin Library Heritage Center Meter mail slogans Hall of Fame 2015 Eager Free Public Library Beloit Public Library Publications John Miller Chancellor 11 library memorabilia

Wisconsin Library Association Foundation Logo