Wisconsin Library Heritage Center

The Wisconsin Library Heritage Center is a program of the Wisconsin Library Association Foundation promoting understanding and appreciation of the history of libraries and librarianship in Wisconsin.

James Huff Stout (1848-1910)

Posted by Larry Nix
Larry Nix
Larry Nix has not set their biography yet
User is currently offline
on Thursday, February 05, 2009 in Hall of Fame


James Huff Stout was inducted into the Wisconsin Library Hall of Fame in 2008. Stout in his capacity as a state senator was the first legislative champion for Wisconsin’s libraries.  He also used his personal wealth accumulated in the lumber industry to advance the cause of libraries and education. At the behest of Frank Hutchins, he personallyf funded the first “Summer School in Library Economy” in Wisconsin which became the Wisconsin Library School in 1906.  Working with Frank Hutchins and Lutie Stearns, he introduced legislation which created the Wisconsin Free Library Commission (WFLC) in 1895.  In 1897 he became Chair of the WFLC and continued in this capacity until 1905.  Stout also personally funded the first traveling libraries in Wisconsin in Dunn County. He founded the Stout Manual Training School in 1891 which was the forerunner of the University of Wisconsin – Stout. He is listed in the Dictionary of Wisconsin History . Click here for more information. The image of Stout is from the Wisconsin Historical Society’s Historical Image Collection  Image ID: 29376 .


No comments made yet. Be the first to submit a comment

Leave your comment

Guest Sunday, May 27, 2018


Popular Tags

National Bookmobile Day library education Campaing for Wisconsin Libraries Wisconsin Association of Academic Librarians WLA 125 bed and breakfast Public libraries Superior Carnegie Libraries 21 10 Katharine MacDonald Jones Library celebrations Hall of Fame 2015 People Wisconsin Library Heritage Center Campaign Elroy Public Library Anniversaries Portage Public Library Milwaukee Public Library Brown Deer Public Library Rusk County Community Library campaign John J. Jax Postcards Sarah Janice Kee S. Janice Kee background Brown County Library McMillan Memorial Library Ice Storm Jane K. Billings Woman's Congress World War I Hall of Fame 2015 Hall of Fame 2016 Wisconsin Library Trustees and Friends campaign Clinton Public Library Eager Free Public Library WLA 125 Larry T. Nix presentations Peter G. Hamon Edward Asahel Birge Public library systems Hall of Fame 2011 Library e library legislation School libraries Gertrude Thurow WLA 125 Capitol Fire 1904 Oshkosh Public Library Association of Library Trustees Advocates and Friends state historical society Beaver Dam Public Library Historical Register WLA 125 Middleton Public Library Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries Wisconsin State Law Library caly film Madison Public Library J. D. Witter Dianne McAfee Hopkins 28 Hall of Fame 2009 library memorabilia Increase A. Lapham 20 14 Suring Area Public Library Ripon Public Library Bernard Schwab anniversaries Academic Librarians ca Postcards Irene W. Newman Hall of Fame 2012 Public libraries campa Hall Hartford Public Library Gerald A. Somers Academic Libraries Wisconsin Free Library Commission Hall fo Fame 2012 Delia Ovitz Appleton Public Library Tower Hill Wisconsin Sandra Friedman Dolnick Events & Meetings I Love Libraries Ruth Ann Montgomery Evansville Wisconsin Uncategorized Digital Collections Clarence Brown Lester Publications library exhibit Wilbur Lyle Eberhart Cooperative Children's Book Center Marjorie Sornson Malmberg 22 Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries Frank Avery Hutchins CCBC Wisconsin State Normal School-Milwaukee Library People cam campaign Nolan I. Neds Governor's Conference on Library and Information Services caly film Orrilla Blackshear Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries Milwaukee Public Library Lutie Stearns Richard E. Krug Cam James Duane Doty Library Trustees Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries Hall of Fame 2014 Jerome P. Daniels Klaus Linderfelt traveling libraries Library History School of Library and Information Studies Carl Spitzweg Hall of Fame 2010 UW-Madison school of library and information studies Events & Meetings Matthew S. Dudgeon Hall of Fame 2008 Kimberly-Little Chute Public Library archives Hall of Fame 2013 Events membership libraries Pewaukee Public Library Library Buildings 11 Meter mail slogans COLAND Inform Wisconsin Dorothea M. Krause Soughton Public Library Special libraries American Library Association 23 Wayne A. Wiegand T. B. Scott Free Public Library Council on Library and Network Development 27 Campaign Hall of Fame 2015 UW-Milwaukee School of Information Studies Brown Deer Public Library Exhibits Hall of Fame 2012 bookworm Library people Postcards Zona Gale Library people Ruby Roeder Centennial Hall of Fame 2017 trav American Library Association Library War Service Black River Falls Public Library Library Buidlings James Huff Stout Campaign National Library Week Library Artifacts Lutie Eugenia Stearns Wisconsin Historical Society John Miller Chancellor Hall of Fame 2015 Cornelia Marving Pierce Amer Eratus Swift Wilcox Beloit Public Library Gilbert H. Doane Wisconsin Rapids Wisconsin Literary Travel Guide Pinback buttons White House Conference on Library and Information Services WWI Library War Service Postcards Wisconsin Library Bulletin DeForest Area Public Library Lowell W. Wilson Charles Bunge Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries Library Systems WHCLIS State Law Library Wisconsin Library Association William J. Wilson buil Anniversaries Manitowoc Public Library 24 hall of WAAL Louise S. Robbins caly film Wisconsin Free Library Commission books-by-mail Marketing-Publicity Black River Falls Parcel post Buttons Carnegie libraries Hall of Fame 2012 UW-Milwaukee Libraries Milwaukee Art Museum Bookmobiles Hall of Fame 2015

Wisconsin Library Association Foundation Logo