Wisconsin Library Heritage Center

The Wisconsin Library Heritage Center is a program of the Wisconsin Library Association Foundation promoting understanding and appreciation of the history of libraries and librarianship in Wisconsin.

Happy 160th Birthday Frank Hutchins

Posted by Larry Nix
Larry Nix
Larry Nix has not set their biography yet
User is currently offline
on Tuesday, March 08, 2011 in Events

hutchins-72.jpgToday is the 160th anniversary of the birth of Wisconsin Library Hall of Fame member
Frank Avery Hutchins (1851-1914). Hutchins was a leader in the free public library movement in Wisconsin and the United States. Hutchins' entry in the Dictionary of American Library Biography (Libraries Unlimited, 1978) written by Helen Huguenor Lyman has this to say about him: "Frank Hutchins, a brilliant man of rare vision and modesty, a pioneer librarian and active leader in the library world of Wisconsin, was born on March 8, 1851, in Norfolk, Ohio.  During his lifetime he was teacher, bookseller, newspaper man, library trustee, and librarian.  Again and again his friends described him as a humanitarian, public servant, scholar, and practical idealist.  he helped to gain legislative, financial, and professional support for both the educational work of school and public libraries and the extension of library services throughout the state of Wisconsin.  An initiator who would take no credit for the events he helped to set in motion, he recognized the abilities of others and encouraged them to carry out new ideas." Hutchins was a founder of the Wisconsin Library Association in 1891and the first paid secretary of the Wisconsin Free Library Commission. Hutchins close partner in the development of public library service in Wisconsin was fellow Hall of Fame member Lutie Stearns.
Comment disabled by author.


Popular Tags

Association of Library Trustees Advocates and Friends Lutie Eugenia Stearns Wayne A. Wiegand Campaign Black River Falls National Bookmobile Day Hall Gilbert H. Doane Centennial Hall of Fame 2008 Dorothea M. Krause 10 WLA 125 Sandra Friedman Dolnick anniversaries Clarence Brown Lester Wilbur Lyle Eberhart Publications Bob Bochfer Cornelia Marving Pierce Rusk County Community Library Cooperative Children's Book Center Wisconsin Library Association Wisconsin Rapids Pewaukee Public Library UW-Milwaukee Libraries Library people Lutie Stearns state historical society Jerome P. Daniels trav Wisconsin Library Trustees and Friends Events & Meetings Library people Postcards Uncategorized UW-Madison school of library and information studies Gertrude Thurow WWI Library War Service Nolan I. Neds COLAND Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries Academic Libraries Katharine MacDonald Jones Special libraries Events & Meetings Dianne McAfee Hopkins Increase A. Lapham Hall of Fame 2014 campaign Amer Brown Deer Public Library Hall of Fame 2015 Wisconsin Historical Society Hall of Fame 2011 WLA 125 Marjorie Sornson Malmberg McMillan Memorial Library Milwaukee Art Museum Hall of Fame 2017 Hall of Fame 2012 Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries Hall fo Fame 2012 traveling libraries Library Buidlings Brown Deer Public Library James Duane Doty Woman's Congress campa 21 Hall of Fame 2015 Anniversaries Jane K. Billings Hall of Fame 2009 Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries Buttons Matthew S. Dudgeon campaign presentations Historical Register 11 bookworm Milwaukee Public Library John J. Jax James Huff Stout Hartford Public Library Carnegie libraries UW-Milwaukee School of Information Studies DeForest Area Public Library Ruth Ann Montgomery Oshkosh Public Library Wisconsin Library Heritage Center Madison Public Library WHCLIS Klaus Linderfelt Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries Campaign caly film S. Janice Kee Black River Falls Public Library School of Library and Information Studies Hall of Fame 2015 Hall of Fame 2013 background library memorabilia Campaing for Wisconsin Libraries Charles Bunge Ice Storm Cam Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries William J. Wilson Elroy Public Library Frank Avery Hutchins White House Conference on Library and Information Services Pinback buttons Superior Carnegie Libraries John Miller Chancellor Library celebrations Hall of Fame 2015 Governor's Conference on Library and Information Services Parcel post Digital Collections WLA 125 Louise S. Robbins Suring Area Public Library Wisconsin Free Library Commission Capitol Fire 1904 Beloit Public Library Orrilla Blackshear I Love Libraries Inform Wisconsin Events Appleton Public Library Clinton Public Library Wisconsin State Normal School-Milwaukee Tower Hill Wisconsin National Library Week Wisconsin Federation of Women's Clubs CCBC Richard E. Krug WAAL Bernard Schwab Postcards bed and breakfast library education Zona Gale Library Systems 14 Postcards Irene W. Newman books-by-mail Academic Librarians Peter G. Hamon caly film Public library systems Portage Public Library 22 Exhibits library exhibit T. B. Scott Free Public Library World War I 27 Kimberly-Little Chute Public Library Library People Eager Free Public Library Hall of Fame 2018 Campaign 24 Hall of Fame 2012 Public libraries Hall of Fame 2010 Public libraries Soughton Public Library Library Artifacts Library Buildings Library e Manitowoc Public Library School libraries membership libraries archives Evansville Wisconsin Carl Spitzweg Marketing-Publicity J. D. Witter State Law Library Sarah Janice Kee Wisconsin Free Library Commission 28 Anniversaries Beaver Dam Public Library Hall of Fame 2018 buil 23 library legislation Hall of Fame 2016 Meter mail slogans People Wisconsin Association of Academic Librarians Ripon Public Library Hall of Fame 2012 Middleton Public Library Bookmobiles Postcards Ruby Roeder Lowell W. Wilson Gerald A. Somers Eratus Swift Wilcox cam Library Trustees Delia Ovitz Council on Library and Network Development Larry T. Nix Wisconsin Library Bulletin American Library Association WLA 125 Library History Wisconsin Literary Travel Guide Robert Bocher Edward Asahel Birge American Library Association Library War Service campaign caly film Brown County Library 20 Milwaukee Public Library Hall of Fame 2015 Wisconsin State Law Library Lucy E. Smith Morris hall of Helen Adams ca

Wisconsin Library Association Foundation Logo