Wisconsin Library Heritage Center

The Wisconsin Library Heritage Center is a program of the Wisconsin Library Association Foundation promoting understanding and appreciation of the history of libraries and librarianship in Wisconsin.

Happy 125th Birthday WLA!

Posted by Larry Nix
Larry Nix
Larry Nix has not set their biography yet
User is currently offline
on Thursday, February 11, 2016 in WLA 125
On this date 125 years ago a group of individuals gathered in the office of the State Superintendent of Public Instruction (located in Wisconsin's second Capitol, shown above) for the purpose of establishing a state library association.  At that meeting, a constitution was adopted and officers were elected.  The officers included K. A. Linderfelt, president; R. G. Thwaites, vice-president; and F. A. Hutchins, secretary-treasurer. By this action the Wisconsin Library Association became the sixth state library association created in the nation.  The 125 years of library leadership and support by the association has had a positive impact on all types of Wisconsin libraries and on the library service delivered by those libraries to the people of Wisconsin. As Wisconsin libraries look to the future, it is also a time to acknowledge the tremendous library growth and development that has occurred in the last 125 years. Through good times and hard times Wisconsin libraries have persevered in meeting the information and knowledge needs of the state's residents, and they will continue to do so long into the future.  That's something to celebrate, and WLA along with Wisconsin libraries will be doing this throughout 2016.


No comments made yet. Be the first to submit a comment

Leave your comment

Guest Wednesday, March 29, 2017


Popular Tags

Milwaukee Public Library buil Hall of Fame 2016 Katharine MacDonald Jones Wisconsin Literary Travel Guide Wisconsin State Law Library Clarence Brown Lester School of Library and Information Studies Pewaukee Public Library Library Systems Gertrude Thurow Capitol Fire 1904 Anniversaries Cam Marjorie Sornson Malmberg Wisconsin Library Bulletin Publications Wisconsin Rapids 20 School libraries WLA 125 Zona Gale Hall of Fame 2015 Library Buidlings Library History Amer Library people Postcards membership libraries Black River Falls Public Library John Miller Chancellor state historical society Rusk County Community Library Carl Spitzweg Wisconsin Historical Society State Law Library Events Charles Bunge Carnegie libraries Council on Library and Network Development Parcel post Ruth Ann Montgomery Suring Area Public Library Nolan I. Neds Events & Meetings Hall of Fame 2008 Library People UW-Milwaukee School of Information Studies campaign caly film anniversaries WLA 125 Library celebrations caly film Historical Register 27 Wisconsin Free Library Commission People T. B. Scott Free Public Library Edward Asahel Birge Appleton Public Library J. D. Witter Hall of Fame 2015 Madison Public Library Cooperative Children's Book Center Academic Libraries Delia Ovitz Hall fo Fame 2012 Eratus Swift Wilcox Campaign Manitowoc Public Library Marketing-Publicity campaign 14 hall of Hall of Fame 2012 Hartford Public Library Association of Library Trustees Advocates and Friends library memorabilia I Love Libraries Clinton Public Library Eager Free Public Library bed and breakfast Soughton Public Library traveling libraries American Library Association Library War Service Hall of Fame 2012 Wisconsin Library Trustees and Friends Portage Public Library Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries bookworm Library people Public libraries WAAL Digital Collections Orrilla Blackshear trav Bernard Schwab campaign Hall of Fame 2009 cam books-by-mail Middleton Public Library library exhibit Uncategorized Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries 24 Beloit Public Library WHCLIS Brown Deer Public Library Elroy Public Library Ice Storm Hall of Fame 2015 Brown Deer Public Library Tower Hill Wisconsin Bookmobiles DeForest Area Public Library Wisconsin Free Library Commission Wisconsin Association of Academic Librarians Woman's Congress Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries Special libraries library education ca Campaign 21 Buttons Pinback buttons Oshkosh Public Library Library Trustees Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries Milwaukee Art Museum Public libraries Postcards 22 Dorothea M. Krause Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries Kimberly-Little Chute Public Library Campaign Dianne McAfee Hopkins Governor's Conference on Library and Information Services Jane K. Billings Evansville Wisconsin Academic Librarians CCBC Increase A. Lapham Black River Falls Anniversaries Hall of Fame 2011 Wisconsin State Normal School-Milwaukee Lutie Stearns Postcards background Richard E. Krug James Duane Doty S. Janice Kee Larry T. Nix Cornelia Marving Pierce Meter mail slogans Events & Meetings McMillan Memorial Library Milwaukee Public Library Wayne A. Wiegand Library Buildings Matthew S. Dudgeon COLAND WLA 125 World War I Klaus Linderfelt Wisconsin Library Association Lutie Eugenia Stearns WWI Library War Service library legislation 28 Hall of Fame 2015 Hall Gilbert H. Doane presentations Wisconsin Library Heritage Center Hall of Fame 2014 National Library Week Hall of Fame 2015 Public library systems Hall of Fame 2012 Peter G. Hamon caly film 23 UW-Madison school of library and information studies Ripon Public Library Campaing for Wisconsin Libraries Centennial Frank Avery Hutchins Inform Wisconsin Brown County Library 11 Postcards Library Artifacts campa Irene W. Newman Sarah Janice Kee 10 UW-Milwaukee Libraries Gerald A. Somers Jerome P. Daniels archives Beaver Dam Public Library White House Conference on Library and Information Services William J. Wilson Exhibits Hall of Fame 2013 Wilbur Lyle Eberhart James Huff Stout American Library Association Hall of Fame 2010 WLA 125 National Bookmobile Day Superior Carnegie Libraries

Wisconsin Library Association Foundation Logo