Wisconsin Library Heritage Center

The Wisconsin Library Heritage Center is a program of the Wisconsin Library Association Foundation promoting understanding and appreciation of the history of libraries and librarianship in Wisconsin.

H. Vail Deale (1915-2004)

Posted by Larry Nix
Larry Nix
Larry Nix has not set their biography yet
User is currently offline
on Friday, September 24, 2010 in Hall of Fame

H. Vail DealeH. Vail Deale was inducted into the Wisconsin Library Hall of Fame on November 4, 2010 at the Wisconsin Library Association Conference in Wisconsin Dells.  Deale served as Director of Libraries and Chair, Department of Library Science at Beloit College from to 1953 to 1980. A highlight of his career at Beloit was the planning and completion of the Colonel Robert H. Morse Library in 1962 which resulted in the library being designated as WLA’s 1962 Library of the Year, the first academic library to receive this honor.  Deale was a member of the 1954-55 Steering Committee that helped establish the Wisconsin Association of Academic Libraries in the Wisconsin Library Association and served as its first chair in 1955-56.  Deale served as President of the Wisconsin Library Association in 1960-61.  He served a six year term on the Governor's Council on Library Development.  He was a life member of the American Library Association and served as chair of the ALA International Relations Committee (1957-77); chair of the ACRL College Section (1961-62); chair of the ACRL Grants Committee (1967-70); and a member of the ACRL Standards Committee.



No comments made yet. Be the first to submit a comment

Leave your comment

Guest Sunday, December 16, 2018


Popular Tags

DeForest Area Public Library Robert Bocher Klaus Linderfelt John Miller Chancellor Academic Librarians Rusk County Community Library Gerald A. Somers Council on Library and Network Development White House Conference on Library and Information Services Pewaukee Public Library 27 Milwaukee Art Museum Library History Carl Spitzweg presentations caly film Zona Gale caly film William J. Wilson Hall of Fame 2015 Library Systems Postcards bed and breakfast Public libraries COLAND 10 Gilbert H. Doane campa Jerome P. Daniels Woman's Congress Louise S. Robbins Marjorie Sornson Malmberg Hall fo Fame 2012 Dianne McAfee Hopkins I Love Libraries Helen Adams National Bookmobile Day J. D. Witter Edward Asahel Birge Parcel post Governor's Conference on Library and Information Services Hall of Fame 2010 Hall of Fame 2015 membership libraries Centennial Association of Library Trustees Advocates and Friends Wisconsin Historical Society 28 Delia Ovitz Wisconsin Free Library Commission Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries Wisconsin State Normal School-Milwaukee Special libraries Wisconsin State Law Library Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries library education Portage Public Library Library e WAAL ca Ice Storm Academic Libraries archives Hall of Fame 2014 Hall of Fame 2008 24 Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries Ripon Public Library Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries library memorabilia School of Library and Information Studies traveling libraries People Ruby Roeder Hall of Fame 2015 Lowell W. Wilson campaign Pinback buttons Hall of Fame 2011 James Huff Stout Postcards Wisconsin Federation of Women's Clubs Wisconsin Literary Travel Guide background Appleton Public Library Wisconsin Rapids trav Hall of Fame 2012 cam Black River Falls Public Library Bob Bochfer Hall of Fame 2016 11 Buttons Meter mail slogans 22 Library Buidlings Wisconsin Library Trustees and Friends Wisconsin Association of Academic Librarians School libraries National Library Week Lucy E. Smith Morris WLA 125 Irene W. Newman 21 T. B. Scott Free Public Library Wisconsin Library Heritage Center Oshkosh Public Library Eratus Swift Wilcox World War I Amer Dorothea M. Krause campaign 14 UW-Madison school of library and information studies Eager Free Public Library Anniversaries Hartford Public Library Larry T. Nix Campaign Library Artifacts 23 Carnegie libraries caly film Lutie Eugenia Stearns McMillan Memorial Library Library People WLA 125 James Duane Doty state historical society Hall of Fame 2012 hall of Wisconsin Library Association Hall of Fame 2015 Madison Public Library Cam Hall of Fame 2018 Beaver Dam Public Library Tower Hill Wisconsin CCBC Events & Meetings Capitol Fire 1904 Inform Wisconsin Matthew S. Dudgeon Hall of Fame 2017 Black River Falls Cornelia Marving Pierce Exhibits Milwaukee Public Library Sarah Janice Kee Postcards WLA 125 Public library systems books-by-mail Historical Register Campaign Elroy Public Library American Library Association Wayne A. Wiegand Milwaukee Public Library bookworm Beloit Public Library Library people Manitowoc Public Library WLA 125 Superior Carnegie Libraries Lutie Stearns Uncategorized Campaing for Wisconsin Libraries Public libraries Campaign Clinton Public Library American Library Association Library War Service Hall of Fame 2009 Charles Bunge Digital Collections library exhibit Wisconsin Free Library Commission Orrilla Blackshear Katharine MacDonald Jones campaign Bernard Schwab library legislation UW-Milwaukee Libraries WWI Library War Service Brown Deer Public Library Wisconsin Library Bulletin Gertrude Thurow WHCLIS Hall of Fame 2012 Library celebrations Increase A. Lapham Library Buildings Soughton Public Library 20 Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries Sandra Friedman Dolnick Middleton Public Library Jane K. Billings Peter G. Hamon Hall Hall of Fame 2015 Library Trustees Anniversaries Clarence Brown Lester Wilbur Lyle Eberhart Kimberly-Little Chute Public Library S. Janice Kee Events Suring Area Public Library Brown County Library Richard E. Krug Publications Cooperative Children's Book Center Frank Avery Hutchins buil Nolan I. Neds Bookmobiles Evansville Wisconsin Library people Postcards Ruth Ann Montgomery Brown Deer Public Library anniversaries Marketing-Publicity UW-Milwaukee School of Information Studies Events & Meetings John J. Jax Hall of Fame 2018 State Law Library Hall of Fame 2013

Wisconsin Library Association Foundation Logo