Wisconsin Library Heritage Center

The Wisconsin Library Heritage Center is a program of the Wisconsin Library Association Foundation promoting understanding and appreciation of the history of libraries and librarianship in Wisconsin.

Gilson G. Glasier (1873-1972)

Posted by Larry Nix
Larry Nix
Larry Nix has not set their biography yet
User is currently offline
on Monday, October 10, 2011 in Hall of Fame

glasier.jpgGilson G. Glasier is one of seven individuals who will be inducted into the Wisconsin Library Hall of Fame on November 3, 2011 at the Awards and Honors Banquet during the Wisconsin Library Association Conference in Milwaukee. The information about Glasier which is given below is from an article by Amy Crowder in the "WSLL @ Your Service" newsletter of the Wisconsin State Law Library. It is reprinted with permission.

Gilson Glasier: Fifty Years of Faithful Public Service

With 50 years of service to his name, Gilson Glasier is the longest serving State (Law) Librarian to date in Wisconsin history. Glasier came to Madison in 1896 to study law at the University of Wisconsin. While still in school he was appointed as private secretary to Wisconsin Supreme Court Justice R.D. Marshall and would eventually serve in that position for eight years. Following two years of private practice in Milwaukee, Glasier returned to Madison in 1906 when the Supreme Court offered him the State Librarian position.

During his tenure, Glasier actively served the legal and law library communities at both state and national levels. It was stated that he "was a quiet, soft-spoken person, meticulous in his work and completely dedicated to serving the bar in addition to his full-time position as librarian." Glasier was secretary-treasurer of the State Bar of Wisconsin from 1920 to 1949 and editor of the bar association's Bulletin, which he founded, for 22 years. He also edited Callaghan's Wisconsin Digest from 1909 to 1920.

Glasier was a charter member of the American Association of Law Libraries (AALL), and held the office of president in 1921-1922. He also served on the executive board and held numerous chairmanships over several decades. In addition, he served as managing editor of the Index to Legal Periodicals and the Law Library Journal. A 1952 Law Library Journal article called Glasier "one of the most active and useful members" of AALL. In 2010 Glasier was posthumously inducted into the AALL Hall of Fame as a Pioneer member, for his dedication and service to the association.

Upon his retirement in 1956, Glasier was honored by the Legislature with a joint resolution commemorating his 50 years of faithful public service to the State of Wisconsin. In it, the Legislature opined, "His leaving will be repined in all corners of the state."


No comments made yet. Be the first to submit a comment

Leave your comment

Guest Friday, August 18, 2017


Popular Tags

James Huff Stout Jerome P. Daniels Library Buildings Milwaukee Public Library Matthew S. Dudgeon library education White House Conference on Library and Information Services Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries Dorothea M. Krause Bookmobiles Hall of Fame 2008 Eager Free Public Library American Library Association WLA 125 Campaing for Wisconsin Libraries Hall of Fame 2015 Wisconsin State Normal School-Milwaukee Elroy Public Library anniversaries Special libraries I Love Libraries buil Hall of Fame 2010 Increase A. Lapham Klaus Linderfelt Tower Hill Wisconsin Hall of Fame 2015 Academic Libraries Delia Ovitz Oshkosh Public Library Manitowoc Public Library bed and breakfast J. D. Witter Peter G. Hamon Middleton Public Library Kimberly-Little Chute Public Library Madison Public Library People Milwaukee Public Library Academic Librarians Soughton Public Library Hall of Fame 2012 UW-Milwaukee Libraries Council on Library and Network Development Wayne A. Wiegand caly film DeForest Area Public Library Campaign Hall of Fame 2015 Parcel post Centennial Library e William J. Wilson Cam Clinton Public Library books-by-mail WLA 125 Milwaukee Art Museum Campaign National Library Week James Duane Doty 11 WLA 125 Gilbert H. Doane Public libraries Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries COLAND Library Artifacts S. Janice Kee Wisconsin State Law Library Evansville Wisconsin Hall of Fame 2009 WWI Library War Service Wisconsin Historical Society Frank Avery Hutchins Publications state historical society Lutie Stearns membership libraries Katharine MacDonald Jones 22 Buttons 24 Wisconsin Association of Academic Librarians 14 Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries Wisconsin Library Heritage Center Wisconsin Rapids John Miller Chancellor T. B. Scott Free Public Library Cooperative Children's Book Center library memorabilia campaign Anniversaries Events & Meetings Jane K. Billings Woman's Congress Suring Area Public Library Brown County Library Library Buidlings UW-Milwaukee School of Information Studies Anniversaries World War I library legislation Portage Public Library campaign caly film Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries Uncategorized caly film Hartford Public Library Library People Lutie Eugenia Stearns CCBC Capitol Fire 1904 McMillan Memorial Library Ripon Public Library Governor's Conference on Library and Information Services campa Brown Deer Public Library trav Hall of Fame 2016 Cornelia Marving Pierce 10 Wisconsin Library Trustees and Friends 28 Ruth Ann Montgomery Hall of Fame 2012 Brown Deer Public Library Black River Falls Postcards 27 Meter mail slogans Clarence Brown Lester ca Appleton Public Library Library Systems State Law Library 23 bookworm Black River Falls Public Library Gertrude Thurow WAAL library exhibit WLA 125 Rusk County Community Library Bernard Schwab Beloit Public Library Inform Wisconsin Public libraries American Library Association Library War Service Hall of Fame 2011 Superior Carnegie Libraries Sarah Janice Kee Hall of Fame 2013 Pewaukee Public Library Zona Gale Public library systems Library Trustees Hall of Fame 2012 presentations 20 21 WHCLIS Ice Storm Hall of Fame 2015 Charles Bunge Wisconsin Library Association Library celebrations Amer Marjorie Sornson Malmberg hall of traveling libraries Exhibits UW-Madison school of library and information studies Hall of Fame 2014 Wilbur Lyle Eberhart cam Orrilla Blackshear Nolan I. Neds archives Historical Register Wisconsin Library Bulletin Richard E. Krug Wisconsin Free Library Commission Library people Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries Dianne McAfee Hopkins School of Library and Information Studies Digital Collections Hall fo Fame 2012 Pinback buttons School libraries Association of Library Trustees Advocates and Friends Eratus Swift Wilcox Edward Asahel Birge Irene W. Newman Wisconsin Free Library Commission Events & Meetings Hall Carnegie libraries Beaver Dam Public Library background Events Carl Spitzweg National Bookmobile Day Gerald A. Somers Campaign Hall of Fame 2015 Marketing-Publicity Postcards Library History Library people Postcards Wisconsin Literary Travel Guide campaign Larry T. Nix Postcards

Wisconsin Library Association Foundation Logo