Wisconsin Library Heritage Center

The Wisconsin Library Heritage Center is a program of the Wisconsin Library Association Foundation promoting understanding and appreciation of the history of libraries and librarianship in Wisconsin.

GERTRUDE THUROW (1906-1993), 2014 WI Library Hall of Fame Inductee

Posted by Larry Nix
Larry Nix
Larry Nix has not set their biography yet
User is currently offline
on Tuesday, October 07, 2014 in Hall of Fame
Gertrude ThurowGertrude Thurow was inducted into the WI Library Hall of Fame on November 6, 2014 at the Wisconsin Library Association Conference in Wisconsin Dells. Thurow served as Director of the La Crosse Public Library (1953-1975) and was instrumental in establishing the predecessors of the Winding Rivers Library System (1965-1975). She served as President of the Wisconsin Library (1955-56). Thurow was honored as WLA Librarian of the Year in 1959, and received WLA’s Special Service Award in1975. At the La Crosse Public Library she helped to  establish an active Friends of the Library organization, and oversaw the construction of a new library building.
Thurow was born in La Crosse, WI in 1906 but moved frequently during her childhood. She received a Bachelors of Library Science degree from the University of Wisconsin at Madison. Before becoming a librarian she was a teacher. She worked as a reference librarian in Sheboygan before joining the La Crosse Public Library in November 1943. In June 1953 she became library director of the La Crosse Public Library. The new library building was dedicated on November 5, 1967. She retired on September 30, 1975.
Source: A Gift to La Crosse: A History of the La Crosse Public Library by Anita Taylor Doering and Bill Petersen (La Crosse Public Library, 1997). The photograph of Thurow is courtesy of the La Crosse Public Library.


No comments made yet. Be the first to submit a comment

Leave your comment

Guest Sunday, December 16, 2018


Popular Tags

People Wisconsin State Normal School-Milwaukee Hall of Fame 2016 library education Postcards Library Systems Gertrude Thurow Suring Area Public Library WWI Library War Service Clarence Brown Lester Larry T. Nix Milwaukee Public Library membership libraries Marketing-Publicity Hall of Fame 2008 27 Wisconsin Library Trustees and Friends Academic Libraries Cooperative Children's Book Center Exhibits 14 Wisconsin Rapids Hall of Fame 2014 WHCLIS J. D. Witter Library Artifacts Matthew S. Dudgeon Hall Parcel post Sandra Friedman Dolnick Increase A. Lapham Hall of Fame 2015 library legislation Wisconsin Historical Society campa Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries Kimberly-Little Chute Public Library Lutie Stearns Hall of Fame 2012 Wisconsin State Law Library Milwaukee Art Museum 11 books-by-mail Hall of Fame 2015 presentations buil traveling libraries Campaign Lutie Eugenia Stearns S. Janice Kee Academic Librarians School of Library and Information Studies McMillan Memorial Library Wisconsin Library Association Library e Governor's Conference on Library and Information Services Postcards Evansville Wisconsin background Pinback buttons ca Hall fo Fame 2012 White House Conference on Library and Information Services campaign Beloit Public Library WAAL Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries Campaing for Wisconsin Libraries state historical society Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries caly film Madison Public Library Lucy E. Smith Morris Charles Bunge Robert Bocher Library History WLA 125 28 Events Carl Spitzweg Black River Falls Public Library Hall of Fame 2018 Events & Meetings Dorothea M. Krause Hall of Fame 2015 Louise S. Robbins archives Katharine MacDonald Jones Amer Events & Meetings Helen Adams Beaver Dam Public Library Wisconsin Association of Academic Librarians Library Buildings Bernard Schwab library exhibit Wisconsin Federation of Women's Clubs Historical Register National Bookmobile Day COLAND Ruth Ann Montgomery WLA 125 Soughton Public Library Hall of Fame 2010 Association of Library Trustees Advocates and Friends 23 Sarah Janice Kee Wayne A. Wiegand Middleton Public Library Publications UW-Madison school of library and information studies Library people Library Buidlings 10 Jane K. Billings Nolan I. Neds Wisconsin Literary Travel Guide Postcards Hall of Fame 2009 Buttons William J. Wilson Hall of Fame 2015 Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries Hall of Fame 2017 Edward Asahel Birge American Library Association State Law Library School libraries Public library systems Rusk County Community Library WLA 125 Campaign anniversaries caly film Tower Hill Wisconsin Oshkosh Public Library Manitowoc Public Library Brown Deer Public Library Inform Wisconsin Hall of Fame 2013 20 Brown Deer Public Library American Library Association Library War Service Ripon Public Library Marjorie Sornson Malmberg Campaign I Love Libraries Library celebrations Hall of Fame 2011 James Huff Stout caly film DeForest Area Public Library Wilbur Lyle Eberhart Library Trustees Portage Public Library Public libraries bookworm Jerome P. Daniels Digital Collections UW-Milwaukee Libraries campaign Eratus Swift Wilcox Gerald A. Somers Hall of Fame 2012 Library people Postcards Public libraries John J. Jax Hartford Public Library campaign Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries Milwaukee Public Library Black River Falls Anniversaries 21 trav Capitol Fire 1904 Frank Avery Hutchins Irene W. Newman Eager Free Public Library Appleton Public Library Richard E. Krug James Duane Doty hall of Gilbert H. Doane Lowell W. Wilson Orrilla Blackshear Wisconsin Library Heritage Center World War I CCBC library memorabilia Pewaukee Public Library Clinton Public Library Klaus Linderfelt Wisconsin Free Library Commission National Library Week Bookmobiles Centennial Hall of Fame 2015 24 Bob Bochfer Anniversaries Carnegie libraries UW-Milwaukee School of Information Studies Hall of Fame 2012 Elroy Public Library Uncategorized Special libraries Cam Hall of Fame 2018 22 Library People Council on Library and Network Development Cornelia Marving Pierce Ice Storm Meter mail slogans Superior Carnegie Libraries Dianne McAfee Hopkins John Miller Chancellor WLA 125 bed and breakfast Wisconsin Library Bulletin Zona Gale Delia Ovitz Woman's Congress Ruby Roeder T. B. Scott Free Public Library cam Peter G. Hamon Brown County Library Wisconsin Free Library Commission

Wisconsin Library Association Foundation Logo