Wisconsin Library Heritage Center

The Wisconsin Library Heritage Center is a program of the Wisconsin Library Association Foundation promoting understanding and appreciation of the history of libraries and librarianship in Wisconsin.

Frank Avery Hutchins (1851-1914)

Posted by Larry Nix
Larry Nix
Larry Nix has not set their biography yet
User is currently offline
on Thursday, December 04, 2008 in Hall of Fame

hutchins-72.jpgFrank Avery Hutchins was inducted into the Wisconsin Library Hall of Fame on November 6, 2008. Hutchins was one of the founders of the Wisconsin Library Association in 1891.  He served as President of WLA from 1894 to 1897.  As President of WLA he was instrumental in starting the Summer School for Library Economy in 1895 which became the Wisconsin Library School in 1906.  He helped establish the Wisconsin Free Library Commission (WFLC) in 1895 and was its initial Chair until 1897.  In 1897 with the reorganization and increased funding of the WFLC he became its first paid Secretary, a post he held until 1904.  He originated the idea of the Wisconsin Legislative Reference Library which became a unit of the WFLC and served as a national model.  He was a national leader in public library development and extension.  Helen Lyman in the Dictionary of American Library Biography entry for Hutchins said, “He belongs to that small group of men and women who formed and developed the modern library movement and made the library profession what it has become.” Hutchins became interested in libraries while serving as editor of the weekly newspaper, the Beaver Dam Argus.  He helped organize the Beaver Dam Free Library Association which was established in 1884. He was featured in the "As it Was in The Beginning" series of the Public Libraries magazine (1925, volume 30, pages186-190).   He is listed in the Dictionary of American Library Biography and the Dictionary of Wisconsin History . The image of Hutchins is from the Wisconsin Historical Society’s Historical Image Collection  Image ID: 29375.



No comments made yet. Be the first to submit a comment

Leave your comment

Guest Saturday, July 22, 2017


Popular Tags

campaign Library people Superior Carnegie Libraries White House Conference on Library and Information Services Cooperative Children's Book Center Buttons 22 Nolan I. Neds Hall of Fame 2015 Inform Wisconsin books-by-mail Library people Postcards Marketing-Publicity Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries Kimberly-Little Chute Public Library Postcards Hall of Fame 2013 S. Janice Kee 14 state historical society Milwaukee Public Library Lutie Stearns National Bookmobile Day School libraries Exhibits archives Meter mail slogans Orrilla Blackshear Bernard Schwab Jerome P. Daniels Cornelia Marving Pierce Hall Hall of Fame 2015 Hartford Public Library Events & Meetings J. D. Witter Historical Register Oshkosh Public Library 20 Wayne A. Wiegand Katharine MacDonald Jones Parcel post William J. Wilson Public library systems Soughton Public Library Wisconsin State Normal School-Milwaukee WAAL anniversaries Academic Librarians bookworm Library celebrations Postcards Portage Public Library James Duane Doty WLA 125 Suring Area Public Library Clarence Brown Lester 10 Peter G. Hamon World War I UW-Madison school of library and information studies Council on Library and Network Development library legislation Eager Free Public Library WHCLIS Gerald A. Somers Hall of Fame 2012 Special libraries Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries Wisconsin Library Heritage Center Academic Libraries Campaign Hall of Fame 2012 Campaing for Wisconsin Libraries Hall of Fame 2015 Public libraries American Library Association Library War Service Governor's Conference on Library and Information Services Brown County Library Marjorie Sornson Malmberg Association of Library Trustees Advocates and Friends COLAND Bookmobiles CCBC Wisconsin Library Trustees and Friends Carnegie libraries I Love Libraries WLA 125 Black River Falls Public Library campaign 11 library memorabilia UW-Milwaukee School of Information Studies DeForest Area Public Library buil library education Library Buidlings Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries Library People Richard E. Krug 28 Ruth Ann Montgomery School of Library and Information Studies People Middleton Public Library Tower Hill Wisconsin Library Buildings ca Hall of Fame 2010 23 State Law Library Larry T. Nix bed and breakfast Hall of Fame 2011 campa membership libraries WLA 125 caly film 24 Ice Storm Pewaukee Public Library Hall of Fame 2008 Wisconsin Library Association Digital Collections Klaus Linderfelt caly film hall of Campaign Beaver Dam Public Library Madison Public Library Amer presentations James Huff Stout Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries Sarah Janice Kee campaign Wisconsin Historical Society Woman's Congress Gertrude Thurow Frank Avery Hutchins Wisconsin Rapids 21 American Library Association trav John Miller Chancellor Campaign Edward Asahel Birge Milwaukee Art Museum Library History Evansville Wisconsin Library e Matthew S. Dudgeon Pinback buttons Dorothea M. Krause Carl Spitzweg UW-Milwaukee Libraries Wisconsin State Law Library Events Publications Rusk County Community Library Wisconsin Free Library Commission National Library Week Public libraries Increase A. Lapham Wisconsin Free Library Commission WWI Library War Service Wisconsin Library Bulletin McMillan Memorial Library Wilbur Lyle Eberhart Anniversaries Brown Deer Public Library Cam Wisconsin Association of Academic Librarians Capitol Fire 1904 Clinton Public Library Hall of Fame 2009 Library Artifacts library exhibit Eratus Swift Wilcox cam Hall of Fame 2012 background Milwaukee Public Library Hall of Fame 2016 caly film Irene W. Newman Brown Deer Public Library Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries Gilbert H. Doane Hall of Fame 2015 Delia Ovitz Ripon Public Library Hall of Fame 2014 Wisconsin Literary Travel Guide Elroy Public Library traveling libraries Centennial Beloit Public Library WLA 125 Jane K. Billings Hall of Fame 2015 27 T. B. Scott Free Public Library Manitowoc Public Library Hall fo Fame 2012 Zona Gale Charles Bunge Uncategorized Black River Falls Anniversaries Appleton Public Library Dianne McAfee Hopkins Lutie Eugenia Stearns Library Systems Events & Meetings Postcards Library Trustees

Wisconsin Library Association Foundation Logo